We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good!!!!!!!!!”
Review of The Laurels B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Laurels B & B
Ranked #1 of 5 Oakamoor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

very good! owner's service is very good! i am so happy i lived in here. i think i will order laurels next time, and i would like recommend it to my friends! and i lost my earring and headphone in bathroom careless

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kasharine X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for your kind words :-)
It was no problem for us to return your earring and headphones you left behind.
We'd love to see you again some time in the future.

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We enjoyed a lovely stay at The Laurels as part of a long weekend away. We were upgraded to a better room at no extra cost owing to it being a quiet time of year. The room had been recently decorated and was in excellent condition. Breakfast was really nice and plenty of choice, with lots of extra tea and toast. Enjoyed watching the wildlife out of the breakfast room window! :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yorky_Lanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for your review. As we were very quiet when you visited it was nice to be able to put you in our Superior Double room.
We've manage to attract a large number of birds outside our Breakfast Room, which was a suggestion made by one of our previous guests.
Great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast too :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great Bed and Breakfast. Clean, fresh rooms, warm, friendly, knowledgeable host and a plentiful English breakfast in the morning. Add a lovely location and for an overnight B and B it's good value and spot on!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DeeS13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay.
We've been very busy, over the Winter, giving most of our rooms a refresh, so it's great you liked what you found :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The laurels bed and breakfast is set in a lovely area , the owners phil and Helen are so warm and friendly , the room with the 4 poster bed is a delight , the place is clean and tidy , and would recommend anyone to come and stay here , can't wait to come again

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Great to see you again :-)
It's nice to hear you enjoyed the four poster room for your special stay!
It would be great to see you again some time in the future.

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Visited here with some friends as a place to stay before a trip to Alton
Towers. We had a family room as there was 3 of us and it was great. Both the room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. The beds and linen were very comfortable and clean also. The breakfast was great and catered for our fussy eaters. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Having stayed at many places like this, the Laurels is great value for money for the standard of accommodation and the location.
I would highly recommend The Laurels if you are staying in the area, and I will definitely use it again!
Money

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and letting us know you found The Laurels to be good value for money :-)
As our first guests of 2014, after our Winter break, it's great to know we've managed to pick up where we left off in 2013.
We'd love to welcome you back again, some time in the future.

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Myself and four friends stayed here early November for Scarefest at Alton Towers, the hotel is just 5 minutes drive away. Phil and Helen were really accommodating for our party after someone dropped out - we had a family room so we could all stay together and it was perfect, plenty of hot water for all 5 of us and the comfiest beds ever after a long cold day at the theme park.

Great breakfasts, plenty of juice, toast, cereal, tea and coffee and a nice big fry up set us up for the day, and Phil even gave us a map of the town and made recommendations of pubs to eat at in the evening.

We're definitely going back to Alton Towers next year (as the smiler was closed :-() and will hope to be staying here again.

Room Tip: I expect all rooms are of the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bloomfields_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Sorry it took so long to reply to your review, but we've been spending a lot of time refurbishing parts of The Laurels so we've been extra busy!
We don't normally accommodate parties of 5 in one room, but in your case we were able to move things around a bit to make sure you were all comfortable.
Hopefully we'll see you again next year and provide another great breakfast.

Regards
Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at the Laurels whilst on business and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Room was modern with excellent en suite facility and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was exceptional, cooked to perfection with coffee, fresh orange juice & toast. Staff couldn't have been more accommodating, regularly asking if everything was ok and if I needed anything.
Would definitely recommend and will happily stay when in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smashgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Manager at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

It's nice to know you appreciated Helen's breakfast and found your room so comfortable :-)
We look forward to putting you up again, if you're in our area in the future.

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakamoor
1.4 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.9 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
338 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Dimmingsdale
YHA Dimmingsdale
#2 of 2 in Oakamoor
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels B & B

Address: Star Bank, Oakamoor ST10 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Oakamoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oakamoor
Price Range: £66 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Laurels B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laurels B&B is ideally situated in the small village of Oakamoor. It is just one and a half miles from Alton Towers and close to The Peak District National Park and The Potteries. This is an ideal base for theme park fun, walking, cycling or rest and relaxation. There are 8 guest rooms at The Laurels consisting of double, twin and family rooms, all of which have private facilities and are equipped with colour televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. The Laurels is just a short walk away from a friendly local pub. There are also many restaurants and pubs catering to a wide range of tastes within a few miles of The Laurels. Alton Towers is only a 5 minute drive away, so with the new SW8 ride opening, this is a perfect base for enjoying this amazing theme park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Laurels B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laurels B & B Oakamoor, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing