We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
307
43
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
307
43
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alton towers four poster large family room minute drive perfect location local pub serve food coffee machine stayed for nights halloween decorations nice breakfast fantastic stay peak district a lovely place to stay fresh milk visiting the area full english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We enjoyed a lovely stay at The Laurels as part of a long weekend away. We were upgraded to a better room at no extra cost owing to it being a quiet time of year. The room had been recently decorated and was in excellent condition. Breakfast was really nice and plenty of choice, with lots of extra tea and toast. Enjoyed watching the wildlife out of the breakfast room window! :-)

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yorky_Lanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for your review. As we were very quiet when you visited it was nice to be able to put you in our Superior Double room.
We've manage to attract a large number of birds outside our Breakfast Room, which was a suggestion made by one of our previous guests.
Great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast too :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great Bed and Breakfast. Clean, fresh rooms, warm, friendly, knowledgeable host and a plentiful English breakfast in the morning. Add a lovely location and for an overnight B and B it's good value and spot on!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DeeS13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay.
We've been very busy, over the Winter, giving most of our rooms a refresh, so it's great you liked what you found :-)

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The laurels bed and breakfast is set in a lovely area , the owners phil and Helen are so warm and friendly , the room with the 4 poster bed is a delight , the place is clean and tidy , and would recommend anyone to come and stay here , can't wait to come again

Date of stay: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Great to see you again :-)
It's nice to hear you enjoyed the four poster room for your special stay!
It would be great to see you again some time in the future.

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Visited here with some friends as a place to stay before a trip to Alton
Towers. We had a family room as there was 3 of us and it was great. Both the room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. The beds and linen were very comfortable and clean also. The breakfast was great and catered for our fussy eaters. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Having stayed at many places like this, the Laurels is great value for money for the standard of accommodation and the location.
I would highly recommend The Laurels if you are staying in the area, and I will definitely use it again!
Money

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank emmao888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and letting us know you found The Laurels to be good value for money :-)
As our first guests of 2014, after our Winter break, it's great to know we've managed to pick up where we left off in 2013.
We'd love to welcome you back again, some time in the future.

Regards
Phil & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Myself and four friends stayed here early November for Scarefest at Alton Towers, the hotel is just 5 minutes drive away. Phil and Helen were really accommodating for our party after someone dropped out - we had a family room so we could all stay together and it was perfect, plenty of hot water for all 5 of us and the comfiest beds ever after a long cold day at the theme park.

Great breakfasts, plenty of juice, toast, cereal, tea and coffee and a nice big fry up set us up for the day, and Phil even gave us a map of the town and made recommendations of pubs to eat at in the evening.

We're definitely going back to Alton Towers next year (as the smiler was closed :-() and will hope to be staying here again.

Room tip: I expect all rooms are of the same high standard
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bloomfields_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilTester, Owner at The Laurels B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Sorry it took so long to reply to your review, but we've been spending a lot of time refurbishing parts of The Laurels so we've been extra busy!
We don't normally accommodate parties of 5 in one room, but in your case we were able to move things around a bit to make sure you were all comfortable.
Hopefully we'll see you again next year and provide another great breakfast.

Regards
Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews