We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“G and T from Perth WA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Spycat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Cote-d'Arbroz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Spycat
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“G and T from Perth WA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

An utterly fabulous experience. This chalet is special. Rooms are scupulously clean and very comfortable. The fire in the main living area is a dream after a long cold day out. The food is outstanding, three courses for dinner every night and vegetarians are well catered for. Wonderful sweet treats waiting for you on return every day (the "Tiffin" was especially amazing). Paul and Teresa (the hosts) and their staff Amy and Rob made us feel very welcome and were truly helpful. From serving us drinks while in the outdoor spa to driving us back and forth to the ski lift, this was the best ski experience we have had and well worth the long trip from Western Australia.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony for extra view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish22113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

This has been my third year on the trot staying at Chalet Spycat! That should give you a clear message as to how great this place is.
The four course meals are divine, the afternoon home made cakes truly scrummy!
The chalet is beautiful! Scrupulously clean and very comfortable rooms make this an amazing place to stay. Hot tub, sauna, log fire, abundance of DVDs and books.... Perfect for a long weekend or hopefully if I get my way, a 7 night break next time.
Nothing is too much trouble for Teresa and Paul, assisted in the chalet this season by Rob and Amy. The four of them will go out of their to make your stay perfect.
No lift pass ticket office queues - Paul had our ski passes ready and waiting
No trips to equipment hire shops - our prebooked skis were already at the chalet when we arrived, and the ski technician was on hand to adjust the bindings.
Skiing the Porte de Soleil area is something I'll never bore of.
I can guarantee I will be returning next year, if not for another sneaky weekender this year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Well what can I say. The chalet was immaculate, clean and tidy and the lounge area was really homely. Paul and Theresa along with Rob and Amy's help were fantastic hosts with nothing being too much for them. The variety of food was awesome and I can guarantee you will never leave the table feeling hungry. Wine was free flowing with the meal and the fridge was full of beer when we arrived. The homemade cakes were delicious. The chalet is only a 5 minute transfer to Morzine and they were willing to drop you off and pick you up at which time suited you. After a hard days skiing a good nights sleep is essential and the memory foam mattress provided great comfort and ensured you were fresh and ready for the following day. The hot tub and sauna provided great relaxation. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickyyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Just arrived back from a fantastic week at Chalet Spycat. the food was exceptional and nothing was any trouble. Our hosts were amazing and very entertaining. Robbie and Aimee, who help Paul and Tereesa, were always around making drinks, breakfast and keeping the Chalet clean and tidy. Can't speak highly enough of this wonderful Chalet and I really do hope to go back next year.

Gav-a-lar

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavlarEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We have just enjoyed another fabulous holiday in the French resort of Morzine which was made really special by staying at the Chalet Spycat. Paul and Theresa were excellent hosts and really knew how to make our stay a special one. With the help of some trusty steeds in Rob and Amy we were treated to some wonderful company, excellent cooking, friendly banter and above all tip top service.

It was great that they provide the transfers from Geneva as this meant a speedy exit from the airport and a nice quick (only 1hr 15mins from the airport) journey to their chalet. By taking up the ski rental with the company they endorse we didn't need to step away from the chalet to get our skis and poles. With only a 10 minute drive to the slopes you are in the town of Morzine in no time to either ascend the Pleney lift or Super morzine. They arranged times with us beforehand on pickups and were always on time to take us weary skiers to the warmth of the Chalet. In summary, no walking around with skis and poles to get to the lifts, we were dropped off to walk straight on :-)

Every evening there was cake provided, home baked of course, as we got back from our skiing and a top cup of tea. Note - great tea served here. Time for the hot tub, a beer, the sauna, oh dear all too much, the Spycat really does spoil you which is excalty what made it a special holiday. A wonderful meal served up for all to enjoy in the evening was always a highlight along with some super French wine. Then we could retire to the lounge, enjoy the wonderful log fire and talk about our skiing exploits with all the other people staying. The lounge is so comfortable that somehow is seemed to bring the best out in everyone as it felt like a little bit of home.

We have stayed in a few of the rooms before and again this time the room are very well presented, always nice and toasty, have ensuite and are super clean. There is a great touch of having dressing gowns for everyone which you can wear when going to the hot tub or sauna. We had our little girl with us and the room fitted us all prefectly with the 3 of us sleeping together.

Morzine offers great skiing for all levels and you get the option of a huge area including Switzerland or sticking to the Morzine / Le Gets side. Either way if you stay at the Chalet Spycat then the skiing is just one element of your holiday as your be just as happy chillin out here no matter how much skiing you did.

Fab.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed at Spycat in early January and had what I can only describe as our best ever ski holiday due to the amazing chalet and fantastic hospitality of Theresa and Paul. We were met promptly at Geneva, without the usual wait to fit in with other guests flight times, we arrived at the chalet and were immediately impressed with the quality of this catered chalet, the whole chalet is immaculate. The open plan lounge/dining area has a huge log burner and big comfy sofas, the rooms all ensuite were furnished well and the beds really comfortable. The thoughtful addition of dressing gowns (for the hot tub/sauna) bottled water, toiletries and downstairs free coffee, tea and even a fridge full of beer and canned drinks suggested we had arrived at somewhere special.
Breakfast was plentiful and the cakes in the afternoon hard to resist. Dinner was a four course affair, Theresa and Paul, obvious foodies and perfectionists wowed us every evening with the most amazing menu, the presentation beautiful and the food was gorgeous, accompanied by good quality wine and lots of laughs!
It was our first visit to Morzine and we were not disappointed with the skiing, the area is huge and offers something for everyone. All in all a fantastic ski holiday. 10/10 spycat, we can't wait to visit next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3-Butterflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Just returned from Chalet Spycat after a four day short break and must say it was a wonderful experience. Paul and Teresa are attentive hosts, nothing too much trouble. The Chalet is truly 5 star with personal touches that makes it feel 'home from home'. The four course meals at the end of a hard day's skiing were most welcome, each evening a truly wonderful dining experience, varied menus and presentation of a very expensive restaurant!! Overall the Chalet is spotlessly clean and you come away feeling you have been well and truly spoilt, not to mention the Molten Brown toiletries!! Can't wait to go back !!
Geoff & Mandy & Lee and Jane

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chalet Spycat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Spycat

Property: Chalet Spycat
Address: 1916 route de la Cote, 74110 La Cote-d'Arbroz, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Cote-d'Arbroz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in La Cote-d'Arbroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Spycat is our privately owned and run Alpine Chalet, offering Summer and Winter breaks. Small and cosy, with just 4 en-suite rooms, it's the perfect location for your Winter ski holiday, set in Morzine, in the heart of the massive Portes du Soleil ski area. Open throughout the year, with hot tub, log burner and in-house masseur, and too many activities locally to mention. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Spycat France/Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing