We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Lunch”

Eight Degrees South at Conrad Bali
Ranked #16 of 70 Restaurants in Tanjung Benoa
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Epicurean Latitudes Absolute beachfront al-fresco dining in elegant Balinese pavilions by the shore, offering a relaxed ambiance in a natural setting for a stylishly laid-back lunch or dinner. Eight Degrees South showcases healthy yet creative cuisine, highlighting some of the island's freshest organic, locally-sourced meats, seafood, vegetables and spices - a memorable experience for even the most discerning diner.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb Lunch”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed beautiful lunch sitting near the beach. 2 course menu excellent and value for money. Staff were friendly and hospitable. My husband had a steak and said best $20 steak ever.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KimiItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    74
    37
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible food, terrible service, terrible experience, way overpriced”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We dined at all of the restaurants on site at the Conrad, and the food really left a lot to be desired. Most notably, we arranged for a nice meal at "Eight Degrees South", the mediterranean restaurant by the beach. The whole evening started off poorly as every single wine by-the-glass option was sold out. Five different wines, all sold out! So we decided to order a bottle anyway. We ordered the first bottle, 5 minutes later our waitress told us it was sold out. So we ordered another bottle, 5 minutes later our waitress told us that it was sold out too. I asked her to tell me which wines they do have in stock, and which she would recommend. She knew nothing about wines -- would literally just arbitrarily point at the menu, "this might be good" -- yet it wasn't even the same varietal or region as the others we tried ordering. And, of course, the two bottles I had tried ordering were IDR 800-900k, but the one she recommended was double that amount.

Once the wine came, we moved to the food. Wow, it was terrible. I had the beef brisket, my wife had the mahi mahi. Both were way over cooked and tough. The sauce was bland. And the price was appalling. For comparison sake, we dined at two other high-end restaurants during our stay, both of which were half the price of Conrad's Eight Degrees South. Actually, one of our best meals was just up the road (5 mins walk from Conrad) at Bumbu Bali. The food was much better, and the service was too.

Lastly, as we were finishing our meal, ready to just get the bill, we were treated with a visit from a rat. That just confirmed our worst dining experience. We informed the waiter about the rat, which was still in the plants 5 feet from our table. The waiter simply said, yes, I know, we'll put out a trap. It took 20 minutes to get the bill, the whole while the rat ran back and forth in front of our table 3 times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ_Travels00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
201 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“High standard”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Beach side restaurant, excellent service and above average experience.
Good pizza! They should improve their wine list.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jardaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradBaliManager, Director of Food & Beverage and Culinary Operations at Eight Degrees South at Conrad Bali, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Jardaok,

Thank you for your kind review of Eight Degrees South, I am pleased to hear that you had a great experience while dining with us. We also appreciate your feedback as it allows us to make necessary improvement in the service we provide. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another culinary journey at Conrad Bali.

Regards,
David Laval
Director of Food & Beverage and Culinary Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Ate here twice, nice for special occasion but pricey. Right on the beach in a very quiet location. Expect to pay at least $70 per head.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradBaliManager, Director of Food & Beverage and Culinary Operations at Eight Degrees South at Conrad Bali, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Wolst,

Thank you for dining at Eight Degrees South at Conrad Bali. With respect to value, we provide a wide range of options at our restaurants but it can depend on one's selection or tastes. We are confident that there are plenty of options which are reasonably priced. Currently, our just launched promotion - “Chill and Dine” package offers five-course food items with unlimited all-you-can-drink cocktail, mocktail and wines at an affordable price. Feedback such as yours is however important and our team will keep on developing new dining options for which value will be an important focus. We hope to welcome you back to Conrad Bali for another dining experience at our restaurants.

Regards,
David Laval
Director of Food & Beverage and Culinary Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Beach Dinner”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This restaurant had great service, maybe take insect spray at this time of year though (we had Vanilla Mozzie which was great) the food was average, nice but average, nothing brilliant. Little bit of a disappointment with the lobster, quite chewy. Great place but maybe wrong choice of night.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eekay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradBaliManager, Director of Food & Beverage and Culinary Operations at Eight Degrees South at Conrad Bali, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Eekay2014,

Thank you for your comments about Eight Degrees South Restaurant at Conrad Bali. Please allow me to apology on behalf of the team for your disappointment. I have shared your comments with my Food and Beverage team, who will continue to work hard to improve the quality of the food. We would like to thank you for reporting your not so enjoyable dining experiences while you are still at the restaurant, so that we could make necessary actions and enable us to serve the best to all of our customers. Rest assured that your feedback and comment is important to us and my team will ensure that appropriate action is taken to uphold our usual high standards of services expected of our resort.

Regards,
David Laval
Director of Food & Beverage and Culinary Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eight Degrees South at Conrad Bali also viewed

Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Eight Degrees South at Conrad Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing