We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE, GREAT HOSPITALITY !!!”
Review of Novotel Bali Benoa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Bali Benoa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,320
    1,116
    317
    96
    57
See reviews for
1,189
1,160
86
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had been looking forward to this trip to Bali for sometime and it was really exciting when we finally reached. But to our dismay no sooner did we check in did we find out that our air conditioner wasnt working in the room. We called engineering only to have someone come in , figgit around and then say they were going to check outside.Don't think it was really their fault because it seemed that everything in the hotel was falling apart.Our door latch didnot lock and we had to wrestle with it each time we wanted to close the door,Housekeeping was apallingly bad with nothing ever replaced so if you wanted face tissue you would just have to go looking for someone to tell them to place it in the room and maybe they would forget again.Even the toiletries even if empty were never replaced.I left a glass on the balcony one night while sitting out and was amazed to see that after 4 days of housekeeping it was still there in the exact same spot and hadnt been cleared.At breakfast if you asked for a cup of coffee dont think any of the wait staff had ever been trained to ask with milk or without because they would simply get your cup brimming to the top and then if you told them you wanted milk they would drain it to less than half and give you a half empty cup with you wondering what in the world could you do with that.Finally you would just get up and go get yourself a cup. The bathrooms stank when you went in for a shower.Maybe they were using recycled water but it isnt supposed to smell like a drain everytime you go in for a bath.And the flowers in the corridors were changed i thnk only once they had practically died on display. I mean don't place flowers if you cannot replenish them before they start to look truly depressing. It was just an overall lack of attention to detail which you could see in every area of the hotel. On a more positive note the restaurant food was nice and the staff really sweet. Specially the guards on duty who help you cross the road each time you want to go from the main lobby to your rooms. Front office staff were really pleasant to deal with as well. They had some fabolous spa masseuses but trying to get an appointment a bit tedious given that even with the entire spaces vacant the lady who took the appointments could not seem to figure out slot availability.But nonthless a great spa for sure.
Oddly another incident that sticks out during our stay is the night the fire alarm went off , apparently by accident but suprisingly none of us were informed.So we woke up with the alarm going off twice and then lay there wondering do we evacuate or should we go outside to find out whats happening because obviously it seemed to have quitened out and the hotel didnt inform us about any emergency

Anyway so as you can see not a hotel that i would reccomend to anyone looking for a five star experience in Bali .The upkeep was just not five star upkeep and mind you when i say this i have seen and stayed in a lot of old hotels which were fabolously maintained and just the housekeeping combined with extraordinary service levels would make you want to go back.On the contrary in this hotel the public spaces were pretty, they had some good staff but just the lack luster service levels and poor upkeep were enough to dampen that cheery holiday spirit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 666_Zara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel B, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear 666_Zara,
thank you for your review, your comments will help us to evaluate our service in all our departments. Please accept my apologies that obviously our service quality were not up to date in many areas. I am sorry you were disappointed with our services and we did not meet your high standards. We will work on the mentioned issues to provide better service and please be assured that we constantly maintain our property tof keep it on a good level.
Best regards, Alexander Poindl, General Manager, h1922-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We visited Bali once every 2 years and this time we picked Novotel at Benoa.

The hotel has a very nice reception area, a huge area with wooden structure interior and connected directly to the main dining area. We were welcomed by a friendly hotel staff.

The hotel itself is devided into 2 sections, separated by a busy main road. The main section (where the reception is) has a direct access to the beach and swimming pool. The other part, across the street, has its own swimming area. Our room was at this section, and I personally preferred to swim and to relax at this side of the pool because it's less crowded.

The bedroom is quite small in my opinion and it doesn't look new but the housekeeping has kept it very clean and tidy during our stay there. I was happy with the bathroom though, it's clean and has separate wc and shower cabin. I couldn't say much about the view of our room, it's limited view overlooking to the top of some trees and roof from other building/house.

Breakfast was great!! Was very satisfied with the choices they have there and with the service of friendly staffs.

Minus point: it's kinda annoying to keep constantly cross the road (with the kindly help from the hotel security) every time we need to go to the main building.

Plus point: friendly and helpful staffs. We returned to the hotel (the hotel had allocated another room for us) after travelling off coast, and apparently we had accidentally left behind a very valuable painting we bought in Ubud in our previous room. Luckily the housekeeping had kept it the whole time with them and we were able to have it back. We were very grateful and couldn't stop expressing our gratitude to the hotel housekeeping and to other staffs who had assist us in locating the missing item. Good job!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel B, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear edmjl,
thank you for your positive review and we are happy to read you had a good stay and enjoyed our hospitality.
Best regards, Alexander Poindl, General Manager, h1922-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in Bali for one week at the Novotel in Benoa. Our stay was amazing in all regards.

Even though the one little drawback, is maybe Benoa's location vis-à-vis the island which is something we knew in advance and didn't impede us from visiting a lot of the points of interests on the island.

Taxis are everywhere around the hotel for the 'shorter' trips and we rented the services of a local driver to take us more to the countryside. Their service was amazing, always helpful and caring about their customers like more or less all balinese people of which the friendliness and the constant smile never ceased to surprise me.

The hotel itself is very beautiful, friendly staff and reasonable prices.
Rooms are large and clean. Free safe, free internet access in the room (which is not the case everywhere in Bali and we specially looked for it). We enjoyed the traditional style of the hotel and the quietness of the pools (not at the beach side). The beach was maybe not that exceptional but we didn't fly 16 hours to remain lazy at the beach. We also did an amazing massage which even though it was more obviously more expensive at the hotel remained a great deal compared to prices in Europe. We enjoyed the breakfast everyday with its extended buffet. We stayed for dinner once and enjoyed the Balinese dances. The other evenings we preferred to enjoy proximity with locals in the street (which provides plenty of options and several small shops as well). We enjoyed one restaurant and continued going there starting to feel a bit like family.

Quality hotel, nice balinese style, amazing people. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB3789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel B, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear CB3789,
thank you so much for your positive review. It feels good you had an amazing stay in our resort. I will share your comments with all my team - it is always a great motivation when our services are appreciated and our guests can fully enjoy their holidays.
Thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you again one day.
Best regards, Alexander Poindl, General Manager, h1922@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We returned to the Novotel Bali Benoa, after 11 years having honeymooned there in 2002.
We were not disappointed, the hotel is still stunning, the surrounding area more lively yet still retaining a local flavour.
Many hotels do not look like their professional photos but this hotel does.........
The beach is immaculate and "raked daily" and the beach has a gental slope into the sea suitable for children, beach bar and watersports facilities are excellent.
Communal areas are spotless , staff helpful and happy, and the food was outstanding. A completely happy holiday, and my children's new favourite hotel...

The only issue we had was the size of the rooms, we booked though an internet company and were surprised the hotel listed the deluxe room as adequate for 2 adults and 2 children. With a sofa bed up and the fold away bed up as well there is no floor space in the room. I contacted reception and was told Guests children normally sleep in with the parents. So if travelling with children be prepared to upgrade $$$ or share the big bed!!
These rooms are not big enough for 2 adults and an infant. never mind a family.

Room Tip: The deluxe garden rooms are not suitable for a family, they are way too small....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddywah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel B, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear teddywah,
thank you returning to our resort and for your positive review, We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your holidays.
As a Novotel hotel we offer 2 adults and 2 children in the same room on existing bedding free of charge until the age of 16 including breakfast. Existing bedding would mean the king size or twin beds and the sofa bed. I agree, that with an additional extra bed the deluxe room has limited space. For more space we recommend one of our Family Rooms, Family Suites or our Family offer (2nd room for 50% off).
Looking forward to welcoming you again and
best regards, Alexander Poindl, General Manager, h1922-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Hotel is located in Benoa which is a good location in Bali, just some minor connectivity issues, but that is a smaller factor.
the Reception attention was good, no issues, smooth check in

The rooms were not the best. our first room had some weird smell and the a/c was not functioning. Had to ask for a change of room which was not the quickest.
The new room was fine, just some mosquitoes but have definitely stayed in better rooms.

The resort is actually very good. they have all the amenities, well maintained. The resort has a private beach which is the best part. You can book water sports from the beach. Thats where we spent most of our time.

The best part was the dinner by the beach with live music. We were dining 2 metres away from the ocean listening to music of our own choice. The food was good.

Overall, a good experience for a four star hotel. The rooms were a bit old and had some issues, else could have rated better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hankuna_Matata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel B, General Manager at Novotel Bali Benoa, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Hankuna_Matata,
thank you for your your fair review and we are happy to read you enjoyed many of our services.
Your comments on the rooms are noted and please be assured that we will follow up on it to provide an untroubled experience also in this area. Please accept my apologies that your first room had some issues and I will discuss with my housekeeping department that rooms for check in must be 100% ok.
My team and I are also glad you enjoyed our amenities, our beach and had a great dinner with your feet in the sand.
Best regards, Alexander Poindl, General Manager, h1922-gm@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
3.1 mi away
Novotel Bali Nusa Dua Hotel & Residences
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
564 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort and Thalasso Bali
2.5 mi away
Melia Bali Indonesia
Melia Bali Indonesia
#14 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bali Benoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bali Benoa

Property: Novotel Bali Benoa
Address: Jl. Pratama 70, Tanjung Benoa 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Bali Benoa 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Benoa Bali is located at the edge of Nusa Dua, overlooking the golden sands of Tanjung Benoa beach. The resort has been created using traditional Balinese architecture which provides a unique atmosphere set within luscious tropical gardens.The hotel has 179 rooms each with a coconut wood interior design and either a balcony or a garden. There are 8 villas designed in a magnificent tropical style, each with a private swimming pool, an open-air living room, a bathroom with a whirlpool and a rain shower, an espresso machine and a spacious dressing room. Moreover, the luxurious 2-bedroom beachfront villa has all of the above facilities as well as an amazing view overlooking the ocean.The resort offers a variety of dining options including a daily theme buffet dinner, a beach restaurant, a pool restaurant and 3 relaxing bars. A daily entertainment program is provided all day through until the evening. Activities are available everyday for children at the Kids Club. Sport facilities include 3 swimming pools with 2 whirlpools, a tennis court and a fitness center, beach activities including volleyball. Specially designed indoor and outdoor beachfront "bale" spa for rejuvenating. Water sports are available nearby. A free shuttle bus gives access to Bali Collection shopping center in Nusa Dua. Parking and Wifi in the lobby area are also complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Bali Benoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bali Benoa Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Novotel Hotel Bali Benoa
Novotel Hotel Tanjungbenoa
Novotel Nusa Dua
Novotel Benoa Bali
Nusa Dua Novotel
Novotel Bali Benoa Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing