We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is everything is ok at MEdia Benoa after the earthquake ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Is everything is ok at MEdia Benoa after the earthquake ?”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

all my friends recommended me to stay at melia benoa and all the reviews I read about it are good so I will stay at the hotel in the 2nd of November this year2011 so I just wanted to know if everything is ok there after the earthquake also the places near the hotel.. That's all. and thanks to every one in advance.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teach007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Teach007,

Greetings from Melia Benoa! We are looking forward to welcome you on the 2nd of November in our property.

To answer your question Melia Benoa is a 100% fine after the earthquake from previous week the 13th of October. No guests were injured in any way and also the hotel building and facilities have suffered no damage, neither have the hotel surroundings, or in fact the whole island has no extreme damage. In case you have any further questions do not hesitate to contact me personally at gm@meliabenoa.com.

See you in November!

Kind regards,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    589
    180
    49
    29
See reviews for
349
999
68
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I travelled with anoter couple and stayed at the amazing melia benoa for 5 nights.we opted for the best rooms we could get which were reasonable in price and amazing in size.we didnt pre puchase all inclusive as we were suspicious that it couldnt be as good as advertised.we trialled it for 1 day with the blue package and it really was fabulous and we opted for all inclusive for the remainder.the staff were only too helpful.the pool was amazing....love the poolside bar!can't wait to head back to Bali and definately stay at melia benoa!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larneyb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Larneyb14,

Warmest greetings from Melia Benoa. Thank you for staying with us and for posting your comments in a review here on Tripadvisor. We are all happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the opportunity to make your stay even more special by upgrading to the all inclusive blue package.

We are looking forward to welcome both you and your friends again in our property soon!

Kind regards,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We spent 6 nights at the Melia Benoa and were a little sad to leave! Bali can be crazy at times but the Melia was a peaceful, relaxing base for our holiday. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean with an amazing shower and the grounds were beautiful. The all inclusive package was worth it and the food was surprisingly good (compared to other all-inclusives I have stayed at). The only thing I could complain about would be the rules for the pool bar as it really would be nice to have a cocktail by the pool in the late afternoon. All in all, a great hotel, which we will definitely return to on our next Bali trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Kerrie O,

Hope you had a save trip back home. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your time here in Melia Benoa.

Regarding our rules and regulations in the pool bar, I am sorry that this did not fulfilled your satisfaction entirely. I am glad that this does not hold you back to visit us in the future.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at the Melia Benoa for 8 nights and were very happy with our time there.
The Hotel itself is well presented with friendly staff who always say hello with a smile to help make your stay a pleasant one.

We did not get the all inclusive package, but were delighted with the breakfast service with a wide range of choices as you would expect at a quality hotel. There was also a chef ready to cook eggs, omelettes etc.. for you, most of the time without waiting in line, but the longest wait was not more than 2 minutes.

We ate at a buffet at the Hotel on the beachfront one night and had a very pleasant meal and entertainment.

The Room was pleasant and spacious. We had a standard room, which consisted of a King Size Bed, a 32cm flat screen TV (with 40+ channels), a lounge area, a private balcony with 2 chairs and table and a prestige and spacious bathroom. There was the Minibar and Fridge and desk area also. The rooms were first rate. We had a view of the lagoon (pond/garden area) which was pleasant.

The Hotel is well placed, with a 5 min Taksi (taxi) to Bali Collection Shopping Mall which costs about $1US to get there. There is also a small Bali market next door to the Hotel with about 50 shops. A Convenience store is located directly opposite the Hotel for anything you need at a cheap price.

The Day Spa was great, my partner and I enjoyed a 1 hour massage each which was relaxing in a very nice atmosphere on the Hotel premises.

The Hotel Pool and Pool Bar were also great. While some people chose to reserve a lounge by the pool without attending each day, there were always some spare to find for a relaxing time. All of the Pool lounges were naturally shaded by trees and there were all by the pool, not in rows behind it. The Pool Bar was a nice touch and there were always some bar stools free and no boisterous guests at anytime to destroy the atmosphere.

The Beach lounges and Bali Huts were also pleasant. You could watch the water sports from there which helped while away the hours. Parasailing, Jet skis, Flying Fish (Water/Air Tubes), Boats and even Balinese People fishing nearby. The noise was OK too, as they were rarely directly in front of the Hotel. Canoes were also available. The sea was tidal, so swimming only at high tide, but the Pool was more pleasant to dip into. The Beach boardwalk goes several kilometres in either direction and makes a pleasant walk or bike ride.

There are plenty of restaurants up the road ($1 to$2 taxi fare – including tip), recommended in particular are Bumbu Bali and Paon (located on beach thru TAMAR BAGHWAN GARDENS) very hard to find, but a great place to eat. All exceptionally cheap prices.

All in all, Melia Benoa is highly recommended. The Tanjung Benoa area is quieter than KUTA which is about $10 taxi fare and more up market without all the fuss.

By the way… we were transferred to the Melia Bali in Nusa Dua for the first night due to room availability, but thought that the Melia Bali was too big and impersonal, so much preferred the Melia Benoa.

The clientelle staying at the Hotel were mainly 30+ in age, so I wouldn’t recommend it as a singles place, but that is what Kuta is for. Otherwise it is highly recommended.

Room Tip: I always ask for first floor or above so you don't get the saltdamp smell many tropical building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Nick W,

Greetings from sunny Bali! Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your long, detailed review very much. It can help future guests tremendously in making a holiday decision.

I am happy that you had an unforgettable stay with us and we hope to welcome you again here in Melia Benoa in the near future, perhaps with the all inclusive package. Just for your information, the all inclusive package can also be booked per day upon arrival, so it is not compulsory to take it for your whole stay.

Once again, thank you for the review.

Kind regards,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The Melia Benoa is just lovely, great hotel, great rooms and a lovely setting and location. Staff are very friendly and make you feel at home straight away. The all inclusive package is very worthwhile, especially the laundry service on re silver package - picked up mid morning and back with you washed and pressed by 7pm!
Very chilled and warm atmosphere at the Melia Benoa which I fear some of the bigger, more clinical hotels might lack.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamapy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Dear Jamapy71,

Warmest greetings from Melia Benoa. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed all the benefits from our all inclusive silver package. Since we are a smaller hotel, we are indeed able to deliver a warm atmosphere and a more personal service, great you valued this.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My partner and I spent 9 nights at the Melia Benoa as part of our “honeymoon” after staying a couple of nights in Hong Kong. As a seasoned traveller all over the world I have stayed in every type of accommodation imaginable, good and very bad! We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday which lived up to all of our expectations. We only had one minor problem with our room which was dealt with immediately in a professional and courteous manner, which was the travel agent’s fault, not the hotels. As a male couple we were made to feel very welcome by the staff and we experienced no awkwardness or strange looks. Our room was a Jnr Suite which was spacious and tastefully decorated with a sofa and an arm chair. The TV was tuned in well and there was an excellent choice of channels with lots of movies old and new. The variety of food was excellent and the attention to detail and effort put in to dine on the beach in the evenings was amazing, it was like being at tasteful wedding but with flip flops and shorts. Make sure you go the the a la carte restaurant downstairs round the corner, really nice and included! The pool was large and the swim up bar was very welcome. Some people did get confused about what drinks were served at which times of the day, it’s not rocket science. Beer and soft drinks ALL day, other alcohol including cocktails up to 3pm. However you can go to the bar in the lobby at any point in the day to get whatever local booze (which was actually great) you want. I find it difficult to understand other guests comments on the attitude to some of the staff. They were so polite and always chatted and said hello. There are always the odd guests who are loud, obnoxious and rude and perhaps if they were a bit more pleasant they may have had a better response from the staff. The pool was large and clean and never too busy, the grounds were immaculately maintained. The pond area was really beautiful and the trees and plants were lovely. We always got a lounger by the pool or beach without difficulty. The entertainment was good, but if you’re looking for a loud late night loud party atmosphere this probably isn’t for you. It is nice and quiet and relaxing, there were only a couple of kids there. Mainly couples 30-60 yrs, honeymooners and returning guests. Mainly Europeans, some Aussies and a couple of Canadians. We were very lucky as the other guests were all very nice. Make the effort to go on a trip and see some temples, monkeys, elephants, markets, villages, plantations etc. It was a really interesting trip and our guide was very informative telling us all about Bali, its culture and heritage.

Back at the hotel WIFI is available in the lobby area and is sufficient enough to check emails and Facebook etc. We had blue wristbands which were perfectly adequate, i’m not sure I would pay the extra to upgrade to silver or gold to be honest but would be worth looking in to it. Although you do get a few extras such as laundry included with the other colours. We had several massages both in the hotel and on the beach (which is a bit cheaper) but both really nice. I would definitely recommend it and would like to return one day. If I could recommend one change it would be to make the pool area less shady, cut back the trees a bit. If you like to sunbathe without shade by the pool you'll struggle to find a spot, the beach which is a few steps away would be a better place to catch a tan. I think that sums it up, if that’s my only recommendation it can’t be a bad thing. It’s lovely, we loved it, we would definitely go back one day. Remember there’s a US$25 fee per person (pay in US$) to enter Bali to be paid at the airport, and 150, 000 Rupiah (pay in Rupiah) per person (approx. £12) to leave. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Check with your travel agent what type of room you get. If the agent gives you a "free upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Matt S,

Thank you so much for your extensive review. We really appreciate it, that you’ve taken the time to share your experience at Melia Benoa on Tripadvisor with our future customers.
I am happy that you had a great experience with us and that you will visit us again in the future. We are looking forward to it!

Kind regards,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This was our 11th trip to Bali and this Hotel was the worst we have visited purely down to the rudeness of the staff. The breakfast chef who was making the omlettes in the morning was disgustingly rude, barking at guests. Also when I made a complaint about at reception about this it seemed to be dismissed. We also bought the all inclusive package which entitled us to eat in all the restaurants however on arrival we were told the premium restaurant was closed for the two days we were there. Aso we were advised we were entitled to free pool snacks only to discover there is no food served around the pool.
The resort needs to invest in more staff and actually offer service!
Don't stay here, there is better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Persoglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbenbali, General Manager at Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear Persoglia,

Thank you for taking your valuable time, to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am a bit surprised reading your review. The politeness and friendliness of our staff is the main asset of our hotel and our recognition as Best Hotel in Guest satisfaction is basically due to these aspects. I will start an investigation to the breakfast cooks, who are making the omelettes etc., since at the moment we did not receive any other complaints from guests regarding this matter.

In the bottom of your review I see you stayed in October 2011, we did not close any of the restaurants in October, but also not in the previous months. I can only think there was some miscommunication upon your check in about our restaurants. My sincere apology for this.
At the pool area we serve snacks in the afternoon from 4pm until 6pm. I am sorry if this was not made clear to you upon check in, we also provide the Melia Benoa Journal to all guests upon their check in, with all the hotel information.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments.

Kind regards,

Juan Antonio Sanchez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
1.5 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#15 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
Holiday Inn Resort Bali Benoa
#2 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Bali Indonesia
Melia Bali Indonesia
#14 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort and Thalasso Bali
6.1 mi away
AYANA Resort and Spa
AYANA Resort and Spa
#13 of 57 in Jimbaran
3,489 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International

Property: Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
Address: Jalan Pratama | P.O. Box 52, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Melia Benoa)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#3 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL INCLUSIVE Premium All Inclusive Blue The All inclusive Blue package includes accommodation in Premium Room, all meals plan with buffet or a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment and more.We recommend you this package if you want to enjoy holidays worry-free, and search for an experience with great value and convenience in the Balinese paradise.Premium All Inclusive SilverThe All inclusive Silver package includes accommodation in Premium Room with view over the lush Tropical Garden or Pool, all meals plan with buffet or a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment, Free WiFi in the room, 1 time daily minibar refill, laundry with restrictions, discount on imported alcoholic beverages and more.Choose this package if you want to add some more value to your holidays at small extra cost. Enjoy the spectacular views from your balcony and the recently renovated new rooms with all the luxury, comfort and Melia amenities.Executive Jr. Suite All Inclusive Gold The All inclusive Gold package includes accommodation in Executive Suite, all meals plan with buffet and wider a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment, Free WiFi in the room, minibar, Room service, laundry with restrictions, 1 hour Spa massage for 2 adults, discount on imported alcoholic beverages and more.Experience a higher level of service in our Executive Suite with the ultimate luxurious accommodation, designed for couples, honeymooners or guests looking for a Romantic getaway, who appreciate the importance of attention to details combined with the highest personalized service and VIP treatment. If you want to be pampered this is your best option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benoa Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Melia Hotel Benoa
Melia Hotel Tanjungbenoa
Melia Benoa Bali
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali By Melia Hotels International Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing