We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A week in paradise”
Reviewed 28 April 2009

This hotel was better than we expected even after reading good reviews on this site before booking. We had Gold membership and this was excellent value for money. The room was spacious with a very private balcony overlooking the pool and sea. A bathroom had a step in bath, and a shower which was powerful and very controllable, and two loos, one in the bathroom and the other in a separate cloakroom with basin, very handy. Good flat screen TV that could be swivelled to face the bed or sofa, a well stocked free mini bar, and a wonderful free laundry service that was lightening fast. Just fill up the laundry bag daily, dial 1 in the morning and ask for a collection, and by mid-afternoon, you return to your room with everything clean and beautifully pressed and hanging up in the wardrobe. The only downside was the air conditioning, it was simply not good enough. This needs to be upgraded to a modern system that lowers the temperature down to ice cool levels, which is why the room only gets four hits.

Every meal we had over the week was great and no complaints, and the service friendly and efficient. The "Amarta" restaurant was one of the coolest areas in the hotel, (apart from the games and karioke rooms and theatre, good retreats on those hot humid evenings. We were drinking the same brands of red wines by the bottle that we would drink in the UK., i.e. good Chilean merlots and Cab Savs from Australia.

The pool was superb and ideal for cooling off and socialising around the bar. No shivering when entering, the temperature was perfect. The garden was stunningly beautiful and lovingly attended thoughout the day.

Let me say something about the beach. You approached the beach by walking from the pool area through a perfectly trimmed lawned area dotted with impressive coconut palms, and is a wide gently curving bay fringed by walkway breakwaters terminating in charming pagodas used for massage. On the horizon, on a clear day, one of island's fantastic and imposing volcanos can be seen in all its awsome glory. The sand is is fairly fine and of good light sandy colour (but not white) and is clean and inviting. The issue with the tide was not a problem for us, and unless you are avid snorkellors, you will not be disapppointed. The sea was warm and safe to swim, and the jet skis not too distracting.

A good walking path ran between the beach and hotel in both directions and made a pleasant evening stroll where you can view the other hotels along this stretch of coast. If you get too hot, the odd bar appears and you can stop for refreshment. Great also for people watching.

There was entertainment laid on every night. This took the form of a small trio band in the bar, and very competent they were too. On three nights there was a dance troup of stunningly beautiful Balinese girls and boys wearing skimpy costumes with plenty of bling thrown in. Some of the dance was in traditional costume, and some in modern garb. All in all, very entertaining and professionally presented. There were some traditional plays laid on, with hoards of men providing the vocal backing for the show and again breathtaking costumery and make up for the principle girl actors in glittering colourful costumery.

We had two problems during on arrival and departure. We booked direct with Sol Melia and didn't have to pay until we arrived. We wanted to pay all the cost on check-in, but the hotel machine would not accept our VISA cards for some reason. Fortunately, one card did eventually work and we managed to pay half of the bill. The other half was paid in cash that we had to draw out daily up to a limit from a local ATM across a busy road. However, after much hassle, we just covered it by the time we were leaving.

The second problem was with our entry visa to Bali. On going through immigration on leaving we were told that our visa period had been exceeded by one day, even though it was a seven day visa that we were told we needed on entry a week before by the official in the booth. We were marched into an office where we were interviwed by a senior immigration officer, and pleaded our case. In the end we had to pay a surchage of £35 for just that one extra day, which in my view we didn't need. So my advice is to make sure that your visa period is long enough to exceed your stay in Bali by more than one day to avoid argument and embarassment..

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    597
    183
    49
    29
See reviews for
355
1,017
68
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brightlingsea
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

after leaving singapore we travelled here for 10 nights, we had booked the gold all inclusive package, which mean't basically you could have everything the hotel was offering.so we had an orangey gold band round our wrists, while some other holidaymakers had blue ones.
hotel, itself was lovely, food, drinks, you must try a banana cream pie cocktail, pina coladas were good also.the al la carte restaurant which was included in our package, was the place to eat ! but the buffet which we had several times was great too. entertainment of some sort was on most nights, and the shows were very well done.
wildlife in the hotel grounds, were geckos, lots of tiny little toads out some nights, water monitors round the water gardens, lots of koi carp and other fish, egrets, herons, fish eagles - high in the sky.
swimming pool lovely, staff friendly, massages done well, but the ladies doing them are older than the ladies demonstrating them on the outside tables ! to my husbands dismay ! but he felt good afterwards !
now, the beach, we like snorkelling - can't be done here,the tide goes out a long long way, leaving sandflats, where everyone is walking and trampelling over lots of little creatures, if your not looking carefully. there are urchins, starfish of lots of different species, brittlenose starfish.when the tide is in, you get jet skis everywhere, nightmare basically !
a trip to lembongan island, wasn't any better, lots of people being seasick, seas rough, snorkelling nigh on impossible.

we went for our silver wedding anniversary, we were well looked after, a welcome gift in our room, a lovely arrangement of flowers, sparkling wine, candlelit dinner on the beach, but the beach was a disappointment.

while we were there, we went to the grand bali hyatt, for the tennis tournament, it was hot, no rain, and cheaper than wimbledon !

we also went to the bali bird park, and reptile park next door to it.great photo opportunities ! traffic is just mad ! believe me.

flight home was frantic, not a lot of time between landing at singapore and walking a long way to the connecting plane, i wanted to do some more shopping !

  • Liked — our room, the water gardens, the swimming pool, a la carte restaurant
  • Disliked — the beach i'm afraid
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aruba43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

My hubby and I went for a honeymoon getaway..
Was a superb stay.. Hotel is clean, staff was very helpful and well trained.. but for muslim guest, make sure u pay extra attention on the breakfast buffet as they prepared the ommelette on the same pan using pork.. so pls be extra careful ya.. Though this would be great idea if management considered on preparing them separately..
Overall, my stay in nusa dua was something that i'll cherish forever.. thanks for making my honeymoon a memorable one!

Congrats staff and management!

malaysia

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank butterflylurve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, East Lothian
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We stayed at the Melia Benoa in June 2008 for 5 nights. Having been to Bangkok and Hong Kong this was supposed to be a relaxing break!! Reception was efficient and the rooms are really spacious, overlooking the well kept gardens. The laundry service was cheap and fast, everything came back well pressed and smelling lovely! Food was excellent and the fruit sculptures were amazing!! We used our Thomas Cook travel rep 'Putu' for all trips and he was excellent. We visited temples,compounds, paddy fields, shops and the Elephant Safari which is a must!! We only managed one day on the beach!! The little shops just outside the hotel have some lovely carvings (could have brought back more) and it really pays to barter. Fantastic place, wish we had more time to explore more of the island, The only down side of Bali is the time it takes to get through immigration and the porters. Beware when you come through they grab your bags and take you direct to money exchange. We were flustered and got charged £12.00 for two suitcases!!!!!!!! as did many others. The porters were nowhere to be seen when we were going home!

  • Liked — the size of the rooms and the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing!!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denise_carlyle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks for our honeymoon, and it was great! We booked Gold label, so we had some more facilities, we had roomservice 24 hours a day, internetfacilities, international alcoholic drinks, free massage, a executive suite and had sunbeds at the swimmingpool where we wanted. We liked this for our honeymoon, but we think the Blue label is ok too.

It's not a really big hotel, but that was nice, because everybody know's you and the staff really do their best to give you all you want. The rooms are really big and comfortable. The food is good and always different. There's a buffetrestaurant where you can also eat a la carte. In the Italian a la carte restaurant you can have really good meals and with our Gold label we could eat there every day (I don't know what that's like when you have blue). They have a show with buffet 3 times a week, we joined the barbecuenight with the kecakdance, what was really nice to see. You can book once during your stay a 'Romantic dinner on the beach', they make a nice table on the beach with only candles and you can enjoy there your 4-course dinner, really nice! We had that after we made pictures on the beach with our weddingclothes, which we took with us.

There is not a lot animation and entertainment, but we liked the karaoke and during day you can play beachvolleybal, archery, airbugshooting and aquagym. On the beach you can do activities like jetskiing, snorkeling, etc. In the hotel they can help you with finding a diving school, etc.
We did some trips with Wayan Wena, you can find him on the beach. He brought us to the vulcano, waterfalls, some temples, Tanah Loth, Monkey Forest, rice fields, he knows all nice places.
It was € 50,00 per day.
The hotel is close to Kuta, where you can go out or have dinner or go shopping. You can go there by taxi. There is also a Shopping centre in Nusa Dua, there is a free shuttlebus which is going there every hour.

We really liked the island and especially this hotel, we will visit it again!!!

  • Liked — Everything! Service
  • Disliked — That we had to go home...we wanted to stay much longer!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanja81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

My husband and I stayed at Melia Benoa for 12 nights in September/October. The staff were really welcoming upon arrival, greeting us with a refreshing drink.

The room was spacious, spotless and had a nice balcony. We booked a sea view room but didn't get one as the majority of the rooms are inward facing over the gardens which are fantastic so we didn't mind too much.

The staff are fantastic and always happy to see you and take the time to learn your names. The evening entertainment was good, a live band most nights and balinese dancing 3 times a week when the evening meal was at the beach restaurant and was usually a bbq of some sort.

The hotel were great at organising a taxi that would stay with you for the day and take you where ever you wanted to go around the island. We also did a reef island tour which took in 3 different neighbouring islands, included lunch and stopped of to snorkel twice. The snorkelling is fantastic, and the crew were very helpful and made the day extremely enjoyable.

Back to the hotel, there is a lovely bar with waiter service and they remember your drink order. The pool bar is good and is a good excuse to get out of the sun, unless you're in the swim up part.

The beach is ok. When we were there the tide was out for most of the day so we couldn't swim. We sometimes struggled to get a sun bed as the usual reserving them with a towel or book goes on even out here.

Definitely recommend staying here and as people that like to try new places, this is one place that we will come back to.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — The wine
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MonkeyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2008

My wife and i stayed at the Melia Benoa for the final part of our Honeymoon. When we arrived we were greeted by the staff with neck flowers and drinks. We had previously emailed the hotel asking for a possible upgrade as we were on honeymoon. We never heard anything back from them but as we checked in the staff congratulated us and presented us with a gift and upgraded us to the Gold Package which included an upgrade to the executive suite. The staff were extremely polite,courteous and friendly no matter what time of day or night and they really couldnt do enough for us. The food in any of the 3 seperate restauraunts was outstanding with theme nights on the beach front every other night. As this is an all inclusive resort there is no need to worry about anything but if you wish to spend some money on small gifts there are a selection of small shops located within the Hotel Complex. Entertainment is provided throughout the day and a caberet show happens twice a week, there is also a house band that will walk around in the evening asking for your requests which they will then sing for you. The beach is not from the set of a Bounty Advert but it is still a beach!! One tip would be to get to the sunloungers on the beach early (when you go down for breakfast) because they most saught after loungers go very quickly. Overall this was a perfect place to finish off what was allready a perfect honeymoon for us. Would i recommend it Yes

  • Liked — Rooms and friendlieness of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
0.8 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,649 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Bali Indonesia
Melia Bali Indonesia
#15 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort and Thalasso Bali
0.7 mi away
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua
1.0 mi away
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
#5 of 29 in Tanjung Benoa
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International

Property: Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International
Address: Jalan Pratama | P.O. Box 52, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Melia Benoa)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#3 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#4 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL INCLUSIVE Premium All Inclusive Blue The All inclusive Blue package includes accommodation in Premium Room, all meals plan with buffet or a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment and more.We recommend you this package if you want to enjoy holidays worry-free, and search for an experience with great value and convenience in the Balinese paradise.Premium All Inclusive SilverThe All inclusive Silver package includes accommodation in Premium Room with view over the lush Tropical Garden or Pool, all meals plan with buffet or a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment, Free WiFi in the room, 1 time daily minibar refill, laundry with restrictions, discount on imported alcoholic beverages and more.Choose this package if you want to add some more value to your holidays at small extra cost. Enjoy the spectacular views from your balcony and the recently renovated new rooms with all the luxury, comfort and Melia amenities.Executive Jr. Suite All Inclusive Gold The All inclusive Gold package includes accommodation in Executive Suite, all meals plan with buffet and wider a la carte choice, snacks, unlimited alcoholic local beverages, soft drinks, daily activities, unlimited non-motorized sports, nightly entertainment, Free WiFi in the room, minibar, Room service, laundry with restrictions, 1 hour Spa massage for 2 adults, discount on imported alcoholic beverages and more.Experience a higher level of service in our Executive Suite with the ultimate luxurious accommodation, designed for couples, honeymooners or guests looking for a Romantic getaway, who appreciate the importance of attention to details combined with the highest personalized service and VIP treatment. If you want to be pampered this is your best option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Beach House Benoa Bali by Melia Hotels International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benoa Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Melia Hotel Benoa
Melia Hotel Tanjungbenoa
Melia Benoa Bali
Sol Beach House Benoa Bali By Melia Hotels International Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing