We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction Zone in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Tanjung Benoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

First of all, Bali is amazing and the people are the kindest I have ever come across.

The hotel while could be nice was a noisy, drilling, banging construction zone from 8 am until 6 pm every night. Unfortunately, this includes the spa, so wile trying to enjoy a peaceful massage one hears banging and noise.
I understand that at times hotels need to to some maintenance but this was a complete renovation. It was so noisy we were unable to sleep in or sit on out deck. Needless to say not very romantic for our anniversary and my birthday celebration. What was even more disappointing was the hotel seemed very uninterested in the problem. They shrugged and offered late checkout and said we could move if we paid extra. Beware if checking into this hotel and what room they dump you in. We are in room 335 for one last noisy night...uggg

Room Tip: Avoid any room near 335
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidaygirl5333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandAstonBali, General Manager at Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Holidaygirl5333,


Sorry you were troubled by any noise. We are now just completing work on two rooms, it’s not exactly a major project, but there may have been some intermittent noise from this. If this was troubling you in your room, and the instruction is for any work producing noise only to be done between 9am and 5pm, we could certainly have moved you to a room where this would not have been an issue.

None-the-less, as I say, very many apologies if this disturbed your holiday.

All the best.

Ian Cameron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Grand Aston for 2 weeks from 2nd August 2014.

It's a lovely resort with a huge reception area. When we arrived, the staff were very friendly and welcoming and after a refreshing welcome drink we we were checked into our rooms quickly.

Our room was spacious and had been cleaned well so we unpacked and headed down to the pool.

The pool area is also really lovely, large pool with a pool bar, lots of sun loungers and right on the beach. I read a review before going that the beach was quite a walk away from the hotel, this is definitely not correct. The beach is connected to the hotel you walk 5 steps from the hotel pool straight onto the beach!

We used the spa twice during the two weeks, service was great and treatments were very relaxing. There are much cheaper spas outside the hotel, as tempting as they are I was concerned about the cleanliness and standards of these places, so my advice would be to stick with the hotel spa, it's still cheaper than England prices and you know you're in good hands.

We opted for just breakfast as we had lots of day trips booked and wanted to explore Bali so it wouldn't have been worth going all inclusive. Breakfast buffet was good, lots of choice, did start to get a bit boring after a week and a half but that's my personal opinion towards buffets, not through any fault of there's. The choice ranges from cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, full English, pancakes, pastries and traditional Balinese breakfast.

4 days in to our holiday, we had noticed ants were starting to take over our room, we complained and they offered to move us into another room, as we were packing I noticed that the ants were actually all over the wardrobe and my clothes were literally covered in ants. I was very distressed by this and we complained again. We were then upgraded to a suite and it was absolutely beautiful. I had my clothes washed by housekeeping, and some of the clothes shrunk slightly. So just be aware before you unpack it would be wise to check there are no ants in the room!

The staff are what make this hotel so lovely, they really do care and are always available to help. One young lady in particular stood out to me. She remembered information I had told her about our day trips and would always ask how it went etc which was lovely.

Overall, a lovely hotel and I would definitely recommend to anyone. In a great location, right on the beach.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank RhiannonRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Grand Aston Tanjung Benoa, last time we stayed here it was prior to renovations. It looks amazing. The rooms are massive, we had a queen bed and a king single in our and there was still plenty of room to move around, we also had an oceanview.

The staff are very friendly, especially the greeting staff ( the young girl) our kids couldn't wait to arrive back to the hotel to be greeted by her and have a nice little chat with her.(when we left they all gave here a nice little gift). The breakfast was amazing and covered all tastes, if you had food issues they were happy to accommodate the best they could.

The pool was great and there are plenty of day beds in the sun or shaded areas, The only thing I would recommend is to fix the tiles up in the pool or even a pool renovation. There were tiles falling off, there was mould in some area(but not a lot), on out last day the other family we went with, son sliced his toe open and pierced it, it was bad and didn't stop bleeding. so this is quiet a safety issue. Kids club was great our kids made Woodfire pizza, did sand painting and egg paintings.

Water sports at your doorstep.

I would stay here again it was beautiful and clean.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank lyndamcauliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Hubby and I came to celebrate our birthdays at this resort. Had an amazing time. From the beginning itself everything was smooth, booking was easy and they even accommodated us by booking our return cab to the airport in the morning at the usual rate. Our flight was very early in the morning, and as per their website they don't have transport available at that time. But they got it done for us. So do ask if you have special requests, they are very good at trying to help you out the best that they can.

I'm hoping I've got the name right, Shinta from Guest Services was very sweet, always with a huge smile on her face.

I have one tiny recommendation for the hotel, we used our tub on the first night, and while everything else was spotless in the room, the tub wasn't cleaned out, so hubby had to wipe it down. Another suggestion is if you could keep some special bath bubbles and tea candles for the tub, it would be lovely. Bali in Aug, was surprisingly a little chilly for us (we are used to hot and humid climates in Kerala and Singapore) and the tub helped us warm up nicely before bed. Apart from this on our third day, the towels were not replaced and we had to call for towels, it took about 10-15 mins for it to come, so I suggest guests to call as soon as you see them missing, so you have them when you'd like to use them.
Another suggestion for the beach side, if you could keep shawls along with the pool towels would be great, so we can enjoy the beach view while still keeping a bit warm.

But the lack of the things I suggested, did not in any way diminish the hotel's service by even a single point in our book. Food was great, buffet breakfast was amazingly sumptuous. View from the resort was beautiful! A must visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 311, although it didn't have a view, it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quirkypink19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is our third stay at the aston in a 2 year period.
It has gotten worse for us instead of better.
If you expect a better deal as a returning customer forget it. Cheaper to book through an obscure website whom the hotel will charge only half the price you will pay the agent but it still works out cheaper than booking directly with the
hotel...go figure.
Pool needs maintenance and there was a lot of plastic rubbish around pool edges when we used it although gardeners do a good job around the perimeter gardens which makes it pleasant.
Food is still good. Head chef always can be seen checking that everyone is happy.
2 bad points- I cut my foot open on a raised nail on the wooden floor in the deluxe room. Maintenance were quick to rectify but no apologies. Seemed to be a language barrier with understanding I had sustained the injury this way.
Towels were not replaced when room was serviced on 3 occasions and when we asked for towels they had run out of hand towels. We had friends staying on the slightly swankier refurbished side of the hotel that did not have this problem...make your own conclusions on that one.
Lots of Asian tourists smoking in the breakfast area around small children and spitting in the pool. We found this to be concerning even for Bali.
Prices have increased everywhere and Aston is no exception. Cocktails are overpriced and not that great. Buy your beers at the mini mart up the road and your cocktails next door at the bar and grill.
As return customers that have spent alot of money here we are disappointed and would not stay here again.



  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barrowdise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our first trip to Bali........We arrived at this Hotel on the 8th August and Checked out on the 14th Aug 2014. We booked an ocean delux room on the 4th floor. The view was spectacular. However we had a problem with the toilet not flushing too well and luke warm water instead of hot water in the shower. We complained and we were promptly upgraded by Dewi and Seni to another room on the 4th floor with slightly better views. These two are really brilliant staff to Grand Aston, always smiling and helpful. There are different packages like onyx which is full board. However we chose to eat out as well so we had just the breakfast included in our package. If you read my other review theres a restaurant called cocos just outside the hotel please try them as the food is excellent and good value for your money also live music on certain days. Also close to this hotel are money changers so check who gives good rates and ask whether the rate includes commission or not. About 100 meters to the left of the hotel when exiting the hotel is a SUPERMARKET for all your goodies like snacks cooldrinks beers and the local sim card with 7 day data/internet access. Outside the hotel to the right is a really nice sports bar that offers live music on certain days and karaoke and you need to enquire when these happen. Outside this hotel there are many massage parlours. We tried the Sai Salon about 20 metres to the right on exiting the hotel. Very Good.

Taxis are always avail so ask for a taxi from the hotel concierge as it is always on meter and its cheaper than getting a taxi from the street.

The Hotel has three restaurants one of which is an Italian restaurant as well. Theres entertainment on certain days at the restaurants. It also has a buffet on the beach on certain days so enquire. For something more romantic enquire with staff for a sunset dinner for two on the beach.

Hotel has free Wifi in rooms and all over the hotel. Extremely fast so skyping and listening to your hoemtown radio stations...not a problem.

The Hotel has a huge pool with with a bar in it...totally awesome for sipping cocktails in the pool.

Theres also an excellent massage parlour at the hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed.

The watersports are excellent as well...Jetskis, boating, tubes etc

The hotel is about 20min from the airport which is very convenient and costs about 120 0000 rupiah when leaving Bali. check with concierge. The taxis at the airport will try to scam you 300 000 rupiah to go to your Hotel, bargain till about 150 000.

We had an excellent stay at the Grand Aston and we highly recommend it!!!!!!


Thank you...we will be back!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose the 4th floors with an ocean pool view and stay away from the rooms near the lift area Cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nevillenaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had four comfortable nights at the Grand Aston. It did seem that there wasn't many deck chairs in relation to the number of rooms, but we never had a problem finding a spot. The breakfasts had a good selection although I did notice one dish with a bug problem. I pointed this out and the staff immediately attended to the little critters. The fire alarm also went off very early one morning, and there was no explanation or announcement. We found the staff generally to be friendly, particularly at our romantic beachside dinner package. A dinner at the Italian restaurant was truly delicious. We took advantage of the package spends which entitled us to extra hotel credit. There were some works going on in the building adjacent, but this was not a distraction. Our room did not have a particularly nice view.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TaraDeeAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Benoa
3.8 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#22 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,979 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Mirage Resort & Thalasso Spa - Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Melia Bali
Melia Bali
#14 of 54 in Nusa Dua
5,692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Bali Benoa
Novotel Bali Benoa
#6 of 27 in Tanjung Benoa
3,059 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pratama no. 68x, Tanjung Benoa 80363, Indonesia (Formerly Aston Bali Beach Resort & Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Tanjung Benoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Spa Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
#5 Family Hotel in Tanjung Benoa
Price Range: £83 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort This beachfront spa resort is an ideal retreat to escape, unwind and enjoy peace of mind. The resort's spacious and luxurious, 187 rooms and suites are decorated in a Balinese contemporary style and fully-equipped with modern amenities for uncompromising comfort. The hotel located only 20 minutes away from the airport.The property has four versatile restaurants and three bars serving Western, Asian, Italian and Balinese cuisine to ensure epicurean enjoyment for everyone. The resort features an impressive lagoon pool with a swim-up bar. A large range of water sports activities are accessible right on the private beach. At the Biwana Spa, skilled therapists are poised to restore harmony to the body and soul with a tempting array of massages, rejuvenation treatments and yoga classes. Celebrate a memorable customized wedding ceremony, experience romantic private beach dinners and enjoy the ultimate in indulgence and heartfelt service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Bali Beach Hotel Tanjung Benoa
Aston Bali Beach Resort And Spa
Aston Nusa Dua
Aston Bali Hotel
Nusa Dua Aston
Bali Aston Resort
Grand Aston Bali Beach Resort Tanjung Benoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing