We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, glorious food”
Review of Chalet L'Etable

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Biot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet L'Etable
Southwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food, glorious food”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I recently stayed at the chalet for a snow shoeing holiday with friends. Everything about the chalet was excellent but the food was outstanding. The presentation and quality of the food was amazing, in fact, there were clean plates every night! Tom and Nicky certainly know how to cook!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms and all of them were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Lovely chalet, wonderful hosts, great food and brilliant location. Easy and efficient transfers from Geneva Airport all sorted by the hosts, Nicky and Tom. Well placed for access to the huge Portes Du Soleil ski area. Easy to ski for a morning at the nearby St. Jean area before catching a flight home from Geneva. Highly recommended for a great skiing holiday. Excellent for short breaks too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rogerwoods22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited Chalet l'Etable last weekend and had a wonderful stay. The chalet has been done up to a very high standard with a lovely rustic alpine feel. Nothing is too much trouble for Tom and Nicky, they are more than happy to drive you to the slopes and back each day, the food they cook is exquisite and they have made the chalet very cosy and welcoming... The perfect place to relax after a day on the slopes. Tom and Nicky are very accommodating, offering short stays at short notice. The bedrooms are cosy and nicely decorated and the beds are very comfy! We can't wait to come back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmilyRWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I booked a short trip over half term with my 6 year old daughter.The hosts Nicky and Tom were very welcoming and the food was fantastic!The chalet is in a secluded quiet location and is newly refurbished to a high standard.
The beds are comfortable,showers hot.Tom transferred us right to the gondola every day and collected us so there were no issues trudging up the road or getting buses. We would not hesitate in coming back here!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCorbett031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay over New Year at Chalet l'etable. It is the perfect place to completely relax and enjoy the fabulous surroundings with two amazing hosts who have created a very special home in the mountains. We were the first guests for the new season and we were totally bowled over. Fantastic food, comfortable big bedrooms, lovely cosy dining room/lounge. Nicky & Tom are such perfect hosts where nothing was too much trouble during our stay. In fact, we loved the place so much that we have booked to come back again at Easter so cannot wait!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7SimonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed with my teenage son for 4 nights in January 2014 and we had a great time - the food was lovely, the room was spacious, comfortable and clean and Tom and Nicky were excellent hosts.

It's only a short 1 hour and 15 minute transfer door to door from Geneva airport (arranged for us by Tom) We flew with Easyjet from Luton and took our own equipment with us but Tom can arrange for the hire shop to come to the chalet if you need skis. We were able to fit in an afternoon on the slopes on the day we arrived and also again in the morning on the day we left as it's so close.

As Le Biot village does not have access to the ski area itself Tom will take you to any of a number of nearby ski lifts such as Morzine and then pick you up at the end of the day which turned out to be a good arrangement as we then didn't need to walk around much in our ski boots.

The ski area at Portes du Soleil is truly vast, covering both France and Switzerland and it offers a great variety of slopes from beginner through to expert - you'd find it difficult to get bored here for sure. There is also a lot of places to stop for a bite to eat, although it's a bit pricey on the slopes of course, and considering the quantity and quality of the food you are treated to back at the Chalet you don't need to eat a lot whilst out for the day!

Overall I'd definitely recommend Chalet L'Etable for a ski trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Myself and three friends have just spent a short weekend break at Chalet L'Etable and had a great couple of days. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Tom and Nicky, the food was delicious and the post skiing afternoon cakes and pastries were scrummy! Our beds were so comfy that we didn't want to get up in the morning, although the lure of Nicky's pancakes soon made us move! The farmhouse has been lovingly and very tastefully converted into a comfortable Chalet and I'd have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyBCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chalet L'Etable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet L'Etable

Property: Chalet L'Etable
Address: L Arbettaz, 74430 Le Biot, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Le Biot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Le Biot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated, characterful chalet based in the traditional Savoyard village of Le Biot, just minutes away from Morzine, a popular centre of the Portes du Soleil ski area.Both B&B or fully catered options are available ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing