We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B near Dartmouth, Devon”
Review of Frogwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Frogwell
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B near Dartmouth, Devon”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Derek and Linda are the perfect host's. We stayed in the cottage suite and it was ideal for us.
Breakfast was first class, everything you would want for a pleasant, first class breakfast cooked to order.

We will be returning soon and would highly recommend this lovely cottage bed and breakfast.

Mike and June

Room Tip: The studio suite has a veranda with a lovely view over the countryside and on to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

A rather special stay. I am guessing that the other 26 five star reviews cover the B&B very well.
So, I'll mention the surrounding area.
Fair warning, it can be nice to descover the area for yourself. If you prefer to do things that way then this review is not for you. Spoilers ahead.

Start at the driveway for Frogwell and turn left for starters. First you will come to a little village with a newly opened pub that serves very good fish and chips. Suitable for families.
While you are there pop over to The Laughing Monk restaurant, book a table for the next evening. They are busy and professional just like Derek and Linda.
The next moring I suggest a walk and a car ride. The walk is down the B&B garden, out the gate and faulking left along the coast path. About 2 miles along you will find a beautiful little beach in an amazing and very steep valley.
By car turn right out the drive this time. You will arrive in a few minutes at Blackpool Sands. No sand there just tiny smooth pebbles make up the beach. My littl e7 month old boy was in tactile heaven. Swimming in September was no problem for me but not for everyone.
Back to the B&B now to wash the salt off. This time hop back in the car and head left out of the drive. Still following? You will be glad you did because you will travel about 3 miles to The Beach Hut. The young guy behing the bar is very professional and will cheerfully serve un-battered oven-baked cod. Here you can choose between sea views or a rather pretty fresh water lake.
And all this without making it to Dartmouth yet.
I've travelled all over the south coast and visited Salcomb, Brixham and Falmouth and found that Dartmouth was by far the best option. And by Dartmouth I mean Strete, Stoke Flemming, Torcross. Dartmouth is amazing too but enough spoilers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomgeekwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Frogwell for four nights during the Dartmouth regatta.There are just three luxury rooms and we stayed in the cottage suite which was immaculately clean as were all parts of the property.
When we arrived we were welcomed with tea and cakes. The garden area is superb with great views over the adjacent coutryside.
Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and was excellent. There is a good quality restaurant within walking distance and also a pub in the village.
I would certainly stay at the Frogwell again if we revisited this part of the UK. It far exceeds the ordinary B & B accommodation.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at Frogwell Bed and Breakfast for a long weekend over the bank holiday. Our accommodation was in the cottage which is a lovely en-suite garden room, very cosy, very comfortable and very peaceful. Linda and Derek are lovely hosts who make you feel very welcome and are very pleased to share their home and garden with their visitors.

There is tea and cake on arrival and every day we looked forward to our cooked breakfast. At the end of the day we looked forward to a long soak in the deep bath.

It was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonySallyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in august and we had a very friendly welcome with coffee and Victoria sponge with fresh fruit served in a stunning sunny cottage garden with great views over farm land and out to sea. The garden room is immaculate with everything you could need for your stay. Breakfast was served in the conservatory and as everyone has said before it is excellent it kept us going until tea time. Everything about Frogwell is spotless it’s a credit to Linda and Derek they made our stay truly awesome nothing was too much trouble for them. We shall return!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This B&B goes way beyond "B&B"! The rooms are delightful and beautifully fitted and decorated. Linda and Derek are just the nicest people you could wish to meet and the breakfasts are just excellent. Combine this with the lovely location at Strete and you could not wish for more. There are excellent restaurants nearby and Blackpool Sands is a little way down the road.

Room Tip: The prime room is undoubtedly the one with balcony overlooking the meadow and the sea beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardGannaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in the studio when we visited family nearby. We booked the B&B based on it's great reviews...and we was not disappointed.
I rate this B&B as the best we have ever stayed in..based on cleanliness, comfort, friendly host's & a breakfast worthy of a 5* hotel.
Nothing was too much trouble for Derek & Linda.
They have a lovely home in a gorgeous area, and we are so lucky, for them allowing us to share there views & relaxing atmosphere.
We will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAZ44_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strete
3.4 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Strete Barton House
Strete Barton House
#1 of 3 in Strete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogwell

Property: Frogwell
Address: Frogwell Frogwell, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Strete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Strete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Frogwell 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogwell self catering accommodationis situated approximately 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of Dartmouth, Devon and is one of the oldest houses in Strete dating back to the 16th century. It is within walking distance of the famous award winning Blackpool Sands beach . We are ideally placed to explore many of the fabulous local attractions The Self Catering Studio is a luxury and superbly appointed large private studio with panoramic views over the beautiful local Devon coastline. Situated separate to the main house with its own access and parking this is a spacious, light, airy, vaulted, centrally heated room with its own private en-suite facilities including balcony and patio. The kitchen contains a oven/grill, ceramic hobs and large fridge with freezer compartment This studio is very well suited to couples seeking some privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Frogwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frogwell Strete, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing