We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. Loved every second!”
Review of Frogwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frogwell
Reviewed 23 May 2014

What can I say. Me, my husband and baby stayed in the studio apartment and it was perfect. The cleanest place I have ever stayed in. Very pretty decor. The views are amazing. The owners Linda and Derek are very welcoming and helpful, nothing is to much for them. The gardens are so pretty. I honestly couldn't fault our stay here. The bed was very comfy, great power shower. We enjoyed frogwell and the area so much we would love to go back. Perfect weekend away! Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gittinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely owners made us feel so welcome and gave us the biggest pot of tea and slice of cake.

Great room with complimentary chocolates and comfy bath robes is such a nice touch

You can walk the coastal path from the back garden.

Looking forward to breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonh102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the garden room which was stylish, very clean and well equipped. Plenty of storage, and great shower. Beautiful garden, with perfect breakfasts in the conservatory. Hosts very friendly and welcoming.
Location also very good with 2 options for food in the Kings Arms and the Laughing Monk a few minutes walk away in the village; the south west Coastal path right on the doorstep; and public transport if you fancy leaving the car behind altogether or once you get there.
Walked to Dartmouth along the coast, which was beautiful. A bit steep at first and a few edges and ups and downs but well maintained. I had on walking boots, which helped me, but many others in lighter footwear and mix of fields, cliff tops and quiet lanes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We spent a very happy few days in this beautiful part of South Devon. Frogwell was the perfect base, with the most helpful and welcoming, but not intrusive hosts. What nicer after a 200mile journey on a hot day to be welcomed with tea and cake on the lawn. The Studio is lovely and we made a special effort to get back early on our last night to enjoy a long time overlooking the beautiful views to the sea. The breakfasts were great, and the small details and thoughtfulness made our stay a very happy one. It was only a short walk away to the local pub for a good meal, and to the Laughing Monk for a special one. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suehod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

and our second visit which we were very much looking forward to it. We spend four nights in the Studio Room overlooking the meadows and the sea beyond. We loved this room. This b&b is a real treat and beautifully kept and run by the owners. A warm welcome and tea and cake on arrival is a lovely way to start the holiday. Frogwells is situated about mins walk from the nearest beach and there are other lovely coastal villages within easy reach and of course Dartmouth.

Breakfast is delicious with a good choice of fruit, yoghurt and cereal and of course cooked! Frogwells is a firm favourite of ours and we always look forward to going back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are situated off the garden, two form part of the main cottage but both have their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonySallyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Wonderful, comfortable room with nice, unexpected touches such as terrycloth robes, ferrer rocher chocolates. Lovely breakfast. Wonderful location with views to the sea and a 5-10 minute walk to secluded beaches and coves. Would definitely recommend and return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sallyl925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A beautiful area and a lovely property situated in pretty gardens with a good view. The room we had was beautifully appointed to a high standard. We found the owners to be very friendly and welcoming with a cup of tea a cake upon our arrival. Tasty breakfast with a wide choice of what to have. We only booked for one night but would definitely consider booking for longer on another occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Frogwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogwell

Address: Frogwell, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Strete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Strete
Price Range: £83 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Frogwell 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogwell self catering accommodationis situated approximately 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of Dartmouth, Devon and is one of the oldest houses in Strete dating back to the 16th century. It is within walking distance of the famous award winning Blackpool Sands beach . We are ideally placed to explore many of the fabulous local attractions The Self Catering Studio is a luxury and superbly appointed large private studio with panoramic views over the beautiful local Devon coastline. Situated separate to the main house with its own access and parking this is a spacious, light, airy, vaulted, centrally heated room with its own private en-suite facilities including balcony and patio. The kitchen contains a oven/grill, ceramic hobs and large fridge with freezer compartment This studio is very well suited to couples seeking some privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Frogwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frogwell Strete, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing