We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food and Friendly Staff.”

The Laughing Monk Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Strete
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Family owned restaurant, relaxed atmosphere, serving the best local produce available. We are not a fine dinning restaurant but serving great food is our passion
Uppermill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Friendly Staff.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Just have to let everyone know, if you ever have the chance to visit this area then your really need to check out the Laughing Monk restaurant. It's menu offers such great local produce. On my first visit I had a starter of salt and pepper channel squid, followed by a main course of seafood mixed grill. It was so delicious that we booked to return the following evening. The second evening I had a main of monkfish tail and again it was just perfect, I followed this with the sample of seven cheeses all of which are locally produced. They also have a short drinks menu of local produced spirits, I tried the Black Cow pure milk vodka - very nice too

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bodyfit06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    74
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Smashing restaurant in quiet village”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed at Strete Barton House whilst visiting the Dartmouth Regatta and had already booked a table at the Laughing Monk in advance for our first night. This is a 1 minute walk away, the only restaurant in Strete. We had a pleasant meal in nice surroundings with great service. Suffice to say we asked for a table on our 2nd night and were pleased to be accommodated despite being apparently fully booked. As it happened, there were tables to spare probably because people get somewhat trapped in Dartmouth after the Red Arrows (we saw the queue for the Park & Ride!). Second time round we had an equally nice meal. Plenty of variety to keep us going to for 2 days, good quality and generally good all round. Well worth a trip even if you are not staying in Strete.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great value for money”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We ate here during our latest stay in the area and the experience was just as good as on previous visits about three years ago. Food was interesting and tasty. Atmosphere and service were great and pretty reasonable prices for such quality at just over a hundred quid for three courses +wine + cocktail. A great local restaurant and we'll definitely return when we're back in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justanothertourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second visit just as good”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We visited the Laughing Monk for the second time last week. Delicious food, we both had fish dishes and efficient friendly service. Well worth paying a little extra for an excellent meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babsoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A real gem....”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We dined here twice (two adults and three children) during a week's stay in Devon (9 - 16 August 2014). On both occasions the food, service, atmosphere and value were excellent (the latter when compared to London rather than local prices). Across our two evenings we tried a full range of dishes including the seafood tapas starter (excellent), the crab and prawn cocktail starter (unbelievably good), the duck main course (beautifully pink) ), the steak main course (melt in the mouth tender with a lovely peppercorn sauce), the belly of pork main course (beautiful crisp crackling and lovely sweet pork) and the seafood mixed grill (john dory, mackerel, plaice, gurnard and one other I can't remember - all cooked to perfection).

Our younger two children were wonderfully well accommodated with off menu requests warmly welcomed. The wines were first class too with the Bon Courage South African Chardonnay especially worthy of a mention.

If you find yourself in the area do not hesitate to try this place - make sure you book though because it does get busy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve4161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Laughing Monk Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Laughing Monk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing