We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a tremendous find”

Sunswept Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strete
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunswept Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Strete B&B and Inns
Solihull
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a tremendous find”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were recommended by some friends to stay for a few days at this Bed and Breakfast in the coastal village of Strete in Devon and we can honestly say this was a wonderful experience and one which we will undoubtably try again .
As you can see from the photo this is no ordinary house but a beautiful home recently built by the owners Bob and Lin and the welcome they give you far surpasses that which one would expect for the very competitive rate they charged.
The house and rooms were exceptionally clean and beautifully decorated , and the choice and quality of breakfast was tremendous. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were very helpful in recommending interesting places to visit and restaurants to try
We don' t need to carry on ----simply try it . We are sure you will agree with us and write your own glowing report

Room Tip: We are sure any room offered will be of a similar high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Sunswept is an absolute find and surely one of the nicest B&B's in the UK - certainly by our standards. Lin and Bob are really welcoming and friendly and made us feel entirely at home, without ever being overbearing. Their home is stunning (they designed it themselves) and full of lovely furniture and they have taken full advantage of the breathtaking sea views by building a terrace where they serve welcome drinks and breakfast in the summer. Lin's breakfast is such a treat, from the locally sourced, award-winning muesli and jams to the delicious smoked salmon and poached eggs, local sausages, roasted tomatoes...I could go on! Our room felt luxurious and stylish and the finishing touches (chocolates on our pillow, mineral water, fluffy bath robes, Neal's Yard products in the bathroom) were the icing on the cake. We really hope to return one day and will certainly recommend Lin and Bob's beautiful home to our friends. Don't hesitate. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMooney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

What a stunning place to stay, Lin and Bob are great hosts an we were made very welcome. The accommodation is first class as is the attention to detail. You could not ask for a better B&B. We will definitely recommend it to all our friends.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here for one night for a getaway and to go to Laughing Monk.
Everything about the place is high quality - the welcome, the rooms, the details, the fittings, the views, the personal touches and of course the endless breakfast. Strongly recommended. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavapentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

An amazing b&b in an amazing location with the most accommodating owners imaginable. Despite competing in a local event, Lin was more than happy to cook us breakfast after I had competed on the Sunday rather than having to rush first thing. On top of that, the day before Bob had dashed into Dartmouth to collect the best fresh bread and croissants so I could then get to my competition on time. The setting and views are simply stunning and on the days we were there, it lived up to its name...sunswept. So don't forget your sunglasses for when you sit out and tuck into breakfast! I am going to return, just so I can relax and enjoy it all even more!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just returned from a motorcyling trip around Devon and stayed in Bob and Lin's lovely Sun Swept accomodation. Fantastic luxury B&B with lovely sea views. Bob and Lin are great hosts and welcomed three motorcyclists, allowing us to use their garage overnight to store the bikes. Very comfortable modern colonial type house we stopped to look at from the outside as so impressed with the house, then realised it was our overnight accommodation. Great stay with lovely hosts will be back again, thanks you. James Ian and Mac

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Thanks to Bob and Lin for a warm welcome. The family loved the views, breakfast and the amazing decor. You made us feel one of the family, now our little boy wants to live there forever. Will definitely be returning.

Nick Emma and Sam

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strete
1.9 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
184 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.7 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strete Barton House
Strete Barton House
#1 of 3 in Strete
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Frogwell
Frogwell
#1 of 2 in Strete
73 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunswept Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunswept Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunswept Bed and Breakfast
Address: Sunswept Hynetown Road, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Strete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Strete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast in a new colonial style house with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunswept Bed And Breakfast Strete, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing