We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, stylish and above all welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strete Barton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strete Barton House
Ranked #1 of 3 Strete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cool, stylish and above all welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I loved staying here - beautiful room, fantastic bed, lovely bathroom and toiletries. Stuart is a great host and I'm sorry it was such a brief visit, but I'll definitely be back! So much to enjoy in the house, like all those great books and the garden (shame it was foggy!) It's definitely the nicest b & b I've stayed in for ages. Thanks Stuart (and Kevin for sorting wifi code long distance!)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jspring51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
271
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I would wholeheartedly recommend Strete Barton House to anyone. The quality of accommodation and facilities is excellent - we stayed in the Kings View four poster room which was extremely comfortable and well appointed, with lovely sea views. Stuart was charming and helpful - he booked us a table at the Laughing Monk restaurant which is practically next door (great food by the way). We really couldn't fault anything about our weekend stay and hope to return.

Room Tip: The Kings View four poster room is very spacious, with two armchairs by the window to enjoy the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Strete Barton House is a perfect setting for getting away from it all. Stuart and Kevin have created a 'little piece of heaven'! Every detail has been thought of to make your stay as restful as possible - nothing seems too much trouble. Everything they do seems to be effortless.The welcome is genuine and continues throughout your stay. All the rooms are extremely comfortable, stylish and attractive - I would particularly recommend the sea view. It is stunning and relaxing. We really enjoyed sitting in the visitors lounge - another relaxing experience. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: If you can get the sea view it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margate77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

A beautiful house, appointed with taste and style. Kevin and Stuart are fabulous hosts, knowing just what we needed almost before we did! The room was very comfortable, with wonderful sea views, and the breakfast was perfect. The visitors lounge was the first one we have ever wanted to sit in, so relaxing and with the Christmas tree it was magical. We will return to Strete Barton House next year, this may become habit forming!

Room Tip: All the rooms were equally lovely, we were shown them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gill160610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

If you want a beautiful location, a restful, peaceful, delightful weekend or longer trip in Devon then look no further than Stuart and Kevin's splendid B&B. They could not do enough for their guests and have everything perfect. They even arranged home made chocolates and champers for us on request....what more could you ask!

Thank you for a wondeful welcome and use of your home....if only other B&B's could take note!

Room Tip: Sea view and en suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

What a splendid find Strete Barton House was. From start to finish Stuart was the most helpful, friendly and hard-working of hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The house has a most calming and restful atmosphere enhanced by the wonderful view from our bedroom and the music playing unobtrusively in the background in the 'public' rooms. Could not fault anything: from the deliciously-scented toiletries in the bathroom to the tasty breakfasts fit for a king and the thoughtfully provided ice and fresh milk in the guests' 'fridge - everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Campanologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kings lynn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

What a wonderful 3 nights we had at Strete Barton house. From the moment we walked through the door to the moment we left. We stayed in Mewstone and had a wonderful view of the sea. The room was beautiful- infact the whole house is stunning. Every attention to detail is taken care off. Stuart was very helpful and pointed us in the right direction with places to go. I loved the tea and cake on arrival and the breakfasts really are too good. We will definatly be back and hopefully for a bit longer next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanineKingsLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strete
4.0 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
3.5 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
1.7 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.2 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strete Barton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strete Barton House

Property: Strete Barton House
Address: Strete Barton House Totnes Road | nr Dartmouth, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Strete
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Strete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Strete Barton House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strete Barton House - South Hams Luxury Coastal 5 Star Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Strete Barton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strete Barton House Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing