We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing service and beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strete Barton House
Ranked #1 of 3 Strete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing service and beautiful property”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the beautiful Cottage suite attached to the main house. The cottage is split across two levels and has a wood-burning stove. The whole property is very tastefully decorated and the common room is very spacious and cosy. The location is absolutely great to explore the area - there are so many beautiful walks around and quite a selection of very nice restaurants and pubs within 10-15 minutes drive. Breakfast is beautifully served and the choice is quite impressive.

The owners are exemplary hosts: friendly, helpful and attentive. We did not even have to think what to do each day - they have provided us with spot-on tips and suggestions both for activities and meals.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_and_Olga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
283
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A beautiful B&B in an outstanding location with views of the sea. The rooms are restful and clean and the whole building has a very calm atmosphere. Perfect hosts and delicious breakfast. Will warmly recommend to friends. DW & CRW. Farnham.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, but rooms with the sea view must be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We recently took a short break at this wonderful house. Having previously stayed here we were (again) not disappointed. Stuart is an excellent host and nothing is too much trouble. There was coffee and cake on arrival was lovely. The rooms are clean and well appointed and the linen is spotlessly clean. Breakfast is lovely. The house is ideally situated for exploring Dartmouth and the coastline. There are some great places to eat locally including The Laughing Monk which is just a short walk away. I would definitely recommend Strete Barton House and would certainly stay here again...and again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank OrlaBoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have just had a very brief stay with a friend at this gorgeous B and B.
On arrival we were welcomed with coffee and cake in the amazingly decorated lounge. The whole house is very artistic and it is clear that a lot of careful thought has been spent planning the design, with great attention to detail. One small example that stood out to me was the toiletry holder; not only was it beautiful but it fitted the depth of the shelf perfectly.
My friend and I spent a night in the Monks View room. The mattresses were comfortable and the pillows and duvets were luxurious (Very important to a good nights sleep!)
I was originally planning on spending the night in Dartmouth but came across this delight and would definitely recommend staying here. It is well worth the drive and what a beautiful drive along the coastal road it is.The Laughing Monk is a wonderful restaurant next door which is where we ate in the evening. (See separate review.)
I shall definitely be back, but for longer than one night next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Strete Barton House for 3 nights at the start of March and it really was beautiful. We were the only guests so Stuart upgraded us to their top room which was amazing and such a lovely gesture. We were welcomed with a pot of tea and a rather large slice of locally made cake which was to die for, especially after a long 5hour journey. We were allowed to come and go as we pleased and Stuart and Kevin were not intrusive at all but they were on hand to offer advice on where to go and great places to eat. The breakfasts were perfect, so much choice (cereal, fresh fruit, bread, yogurt, full English) and you could eat as much as you liked which really set us up for the day. I would thoroughly recommend having the cooked breakfast - all products locally sourced so extra tasty. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated and cleaned daily - what more could you ask for?

All in all this is a great 5star B&B in a beautiful part of the world - we would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1234_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Kevin and Stuart made us amazingly welcome for our 2 day stay at Strete Barton without being intrusive or overwhelming. A beautiful property, it has been fitted out and decorated in a modern but calm fashion, with lots of artwork etc - v nicely done. The rooms are spacious, well fitted and comfortable, whilst the sitting room is huge and inviting - especially when the log fire was lit! There was no pressure to be out of the house during the day and we spent a very happy wet afternoon chilling in front of the fire that Stuart thoughtfully lit for us. The breakfast was locally sourced and extremely tasty, but it was the small touches that really made the stay - the most diverse beverage tray ever, the fresh milk and bottled water to help yourself from in a fridge on the landing, the help with the bags on the way in and the homemade cake and fresh coffee on arrival. We loved our stay and really hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

i wanted to get my husband a break in the middle of February as he hates the month and it would be something to look forward to. Look up lots of spa hotels but they all seemed to have down sides. Found this B & B and decided to give it a go. We booked the cottage suite. It was simply wonderful. From the crisp white sheets to the lovely breakfast. If you want to niggle, not having WiFi in the actual rooms was a tiny inconvenience but if you're away to relax maybe not too much. We could always cross the hallway to the comfy shared sitting room to have a digital moment. The suite was warm, clean and bathroom freebies were luxury. The chaps took very good care of us and gave some great recommendations. Will be going back to enjoy the garden and some walks out. Great place to escape the world for a weekend.

Room Tip: The cottage suite does have a lovely sitting room as well as the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strete
3.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
984 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
187 reviews
3.5 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
8.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 53 in Dartmouth
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strete Barton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strete Barton House

Property: Strete Barton House
Address: Strete Barton House Totnes Road | nr Dartmouth, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Strete
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Strete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Strete Barton House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strete Barton House - South Hams Luxury Coastal 5 Star Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Strete Barton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strete Barton House Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing