We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strete Barton House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Strete Barton House
Ranked #1 of 3 Strete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockholm
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spotless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stuart and Kevin run this five star guesthouse in Devon. They are great hosts and focus on giving all guests their best. They willingly give information and advice on what to do in the neighborhood. Breakfast is served in a modern living room style area. The table for two at the window has the best view of the stunning landscape and sea. Usually, the early birds take these seats!
We stayed in the Cottage Suite which is a two storey studio with the bedroom on the first floor (with toilet) and downstairs you have the livingroom. It has a private entrance as well. Super – but if you are tall – beware of the sloping ceiling in the bathroom.
For breakfast they serve wonderful locally made jams by Ms Mel Hegenbarth's. Ask for where to by them – we did and still enjoy them at home. Literally across the street lies one of the best restaurants in the area – The Monk’s Head. Very handy!
We will be happy to return.

Mats & Mikael
Stockholm

Room Tip: The cottage suite is very private and a two storey studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MemsStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
271
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at Strete Barton House whilst visiting Devon and Cornwall this summer. Stuart and Kevin were fantastic hosts and we enjoyed our stay at their fabulous house in the lovely village of Strete. Our rooms were immaculate and beautifully furnished as was the rest of the house. The garden looked out over the sea and we enjoyed sitting out in the sunshine with our glass of wine. Breakfast was first class and Stuart was very helpful advising us on places to visit on our way home. Would recommend a stay here in lovely Devon!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My family stayed at Strete Barton House for two nights. We arrived after driving the narrow lanes of Dartmoor and were rather stressed, so the lovely house and attentive hosts were the perfect tonic. The rooms are splendid, breakfast just right, location beautiful, and the attention to detail is wonderful. Stuart and Kevin are warm and welcoming. If the Kings Arms pub just down the hill had not been closed everything would have been perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The best b&b we have been to this year.
We were impressed by everything - the interior design, the perfect hosting (Stuart was ubiquitous, the service was impeccable and his recommendations for trips and dinners extremely helpful), the cleanliness, the views and location (remote but at the same time close to various places we have enjoyed). It is difficult to find more appreciative words - we have to come back to ascertain it is real and it was not only a dream we shared.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marininlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed five nights at Strete Barton House, a luxurious, modern B+B/guest house with exquisite style and gorgeous furnishings. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choice and local produce. Kevin and Stuart are passionate hosts, very attentive and caring with a good sense of humour. They made us feel at home immediately. The welcome tea and the home - made cake were very much appreciated. We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 678Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

From the minute you step into Strete Barton Guest House, you are immediately struck by the style, cleanliness and peacefulness of this guest house/B&B. Set in a small village, a few miles from Dartmouth, this B&B boasts a fantastic position with views from the garden of the sea in the distance.

The whole place is spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated and throughout the house you catch glimpses of the ongoing oriental theme which runs throughout. This theme can be found in the communal areas (lounge/dining room) and bedrooms alike and all this theme has also been carried through into the garden where I found further oriental sculptures.

From the outset and your arrival Stuart and Kevin go out of their way to ensure that your stay is as comfortable and pleasant as possible.

The included breakfast was excellent and they go out of their way to serve up, wherever possible, local produce and home made preserves. You feel that both Stuart and Kevin are totally committed to supporting their local community and promoting the area to the full and why not, it I would imagine it was a fantastic community and an idyllic place to call home.

If I had one criticism (and it is by no way a criticism of the guest house) it would be the location. The house is set too far to walk anywhere apart from the local restaurant (the Laughing Monk, which I will review separately). There is only one pub in the village but unfortunately, this is currently closed and although this was mentioned on their website I did not fully take in the fact that the property was so isolated. When we go away we do not like to use the car unless absolutely necessary and the location/lack of public transport and no local hostelries does make car use a must and for us was the only down side. If I could pick up the whole place and plonk it down just a bit nearer to the town I would have been as happy as “Larry” and a regular visitor. Therefore, personally and unless the local reopens or the public transport improves, this would not be a return venue for us. Please be assured this is our personal preference and in no way reflects on the fantastic place, people and stay we had.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazz111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Extremely comfortable. Excellent decor. Most friendly and welcoming.

Hope to be back next year. Breakfast excellent.

Lovely garden and views.

The fridge and it's contents most welcome,after a long journey,as was the cake and cup of tea on arrival.

James and Rosemary fox

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strete
4.0 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
1.7 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 54 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strete Barton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strete Barton House

Property: Strete Barton House
Address: Strete Barton House Totnes Road | nr Dartmouth, Strete, Dartmouth TQ6 0RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Strete
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Strete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Strete Barton House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strete Barton House - South Hams Luxury Coastal 5 Star Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Strete Barton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strete Barton House Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing