We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
Another great canal holiday !

3rd family chill out holiday on board narrow boat Bramble on the Basingstoke Canal. Simply... read more

Reviewed 28 October 2023
Richard B
Its 5 stars from us!

We have taken several narrowboat holidays and this was the best! From the handover, Karen and... read more

Reviewed 13 September 2023
MandyStw67
,
surrey
Read all 92 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
79
11
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
79
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basingstoke canal cold drinks canal holiday hire arthur bramble karen narrowboat scenery canoe fridge handover heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2022

The Basingstoke Canal is such a beautiful part of Hampshire and Surrey, passed closely by many thousands of people in cars and trains every day, but experienced only by the fortunate few.

Our boat Bramble from Galleon Marine was a delight, well appointed and with many thoughtful touches.

A warm welcome and thorough handover.

We got all four seasons over the weekend we booked as it was the second last weekend in October, but each I think added to our appreciation of the wonderful environment, wildlife and changes of landscape we all experienced onboard.

Date of experience: October 2022
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2022

Karen was very hospitable & made us feel welcome. Scenery was amazing! Clean toilets on site, with cold drinks, hot drinks, snacks & hot food. Would recommend! Thank you.

Date of experience: May 2022
1  Thank Nadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2022

Our 2nd booking with Karen and Arthur, this time on Teasel. As before, everything was well organised and we were soon on our way seeing the wonderful scenery and wildlife including our first Kingfishers!! Our one and only problem was with the fridge but that was resolved in no time at all, with no inconvenience to us. We cannot wait until we can do it again.

Date of experience: April 2022
1  Thank DMIYeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2021

We had a fantastic few days on Teasel. The boat was very well equipped and was very clean. Karen and Arthur provide great customer service and the handover when we arrived was thorough and helpful. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank emmainpenryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2021

We had a fantastic week on board Bramble. Karen and Arthur were so welcoming and accommodating even though we were late and had missed our allotted slot. Instruction via the videos beforehand and in-person from Arthur made the driving and use of the boat so easy. Karen even went to the trouble of posting back some shoes we had left on board. A wonderful restful week on the canal!

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank DrGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews