We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gamekeeper's Hut - A little hut haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norfolk Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norfolk Courtyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Foulsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gamekeeper's Hut - A little hut haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Having been a fan of Canopy and Stars places for years, I had a feeling I would enjoy my stay with Catherine and Simon before I even got there. Great communication from Simon and Catherine meant that not only did I get the hut but due to a last minute Easter cancellation, other members of my family were able to book Stockman's Cottage as well.

Gamekeeper's Hut is just how the pictures portray it. It is a beautiful little hut with the ducks and chickens for neighbours. Yes there is another hut in the little field but the positioning of both is well done so you can have your own private area and only need see each other if you are cooking in the kitchen barn. Personally, it was a great mix of old style camping (the hut, the setting and the little woodburning fire) with all the creature comforts that you could live without but actually prefer not to (the kitchen barn, hot water showers, electricity and places to charge all our various media devices).

I would recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorfolkLover, Owner at Norfolk Courtyard, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for leaving feedback on Trip Advisor, we are so glad you and your sister enjoyed your stay in both the Gamekeeper's Hut and The Stockman's Cottage. We have hatched some new ducklings since your visit and the sheep are back in the meadow completing the view from the huts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    10
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
52
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Came across this whilst searching for glamping breaks. Looked nice and 3 nights for the price of 2 so decided to give it a go as a birthday treat.
What an absolutely fantastic place! The surrounding are beautiful and the location is great for exploring. The owners are lovely and provide free milk, tea, coffee etc in the cooking barn, which is shared with the guests in the shepherd's hut. The field is shared with a funny group of ducks and chickens who are very well behaved and don't actually wake up that early so we were able to sleep past sunrise.
The hut is very cosy with a very comfortable bed and a great little wood burner that kept us warm even when the temperature dropped low enough to leave frost on the ground. There is no electricity in the hut and no wifi so it really is an escape to nature. The hut has its own shower room just outside of the field, which is a bit of a trundle in the middle of the night, but lovely to have private facilities. My only gripe is a lack of plug sockets on the wash hut so the only place to dry your hair is in the cooking barn - I suppose it make it more of an adventure when you have no idea how close to your ear the straighteners are!
They also provide a great guide to the area with a list of walks, places to visit and eat etc.
Fab place would definitely stay there again and may go back when the grass is longer so we can actually see the barn owl that hooted every night in the dark!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wheels58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorfolkLover, Owner at Norfolk Courtyard, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay our The Gamekeeper's Hut. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay. The first sighting of our barn owl was by the guests immediately after your stay (timing !!!). No doubt soon the meadow will grow tall now it is getting warmer and then they will be out there every day.
Hope to see you soon.
Best
Simon & Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic stay in The Old Stables suite at Norfolk Courtyard. Beautiful grounds and lovely rooms. So many extra touches make you feel relaxed and welcome.

This was our second stay but this time with baby in tow! The owners Simon and Catherine are really welcoming and make sure you have everything you need for your stay. They even had baby bath, travel cot and children's books in the room waiting.

Norfolk Courtyard is brilliantly located being really easy to find and get anywhere. Loads of lovely eateries and good pub on foot (great steak). B&B breakfast was great too with lots of options and such a beautiful room! Will try and attach pic . . .

We had only been to North Norfolk once before and were blown away by how beautiful it was. All in all one of the nicest places we could have wished to come to for half terms so thanks again for everything. We would very much like to plan a return visit soon and maybe next time will book The lovely Stockman's Cottage!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Old Stables and The Dairy room. Both equally lovely. One had bath, the other h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrettyPlease123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorfolkLover, Owner at Norfolk Courtyard, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your nice comments and so glad to see you again this time with baby in tow! You kindly added a pic of our breakfast barn so I have added some pics of our breakfasts including the Dutch pancakes.
Best wishes
Simon & Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We won our stay in The Shepherds Rest through Canopy and Stars and had really high hopes for our stay. Now I did read the booking email incorrectly in that I thought check in was between 4-6 when we were supposed to state an arrival time between 4-6. We got stuck in 2 really bad patches of traffic and didn't get there until after 7 when we were greated very brusquely by the owner who informed us that his daughter had missed her driving test due to our lateness. This was a genuine oversight on my part and we did of course apologise but it really did cast a cloud over our stay. We struggled with our battery powered lantern as its light was quite dim and, having our baby with us, we did need to be able to see what we were doing. Luckily, the couple in the hut opposite swapped lanterns with us! The communal facilities were decorated and kitted out very nicely as was the shower cabin. The huts were warm and comfortable and are decorated in lots of vintage paraphernalia, a little too much in our case as my husband spent all weekend banging his head on the antlers on the wall! We've stayed in similar huts and camping pods and always enjoyed them, but I would struggle to recommend these to a friend. I understand that the owners have strived to create an Eco friendly business, but one plug socket in the huts wouldn't go a miss (The Quiet Site regularly wins green awards and has power to their pods) We took our weekend away without our older children and needed to keep phones charged incase of emergencies. It's in a great setting and great attention to detail has been paid but I would have been bitterly disappointed had it been at our expense.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank MrsMiller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorfolkLover, Owner at Norfolk Courtyard, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
I was shocked to recieve your review after giving you a complimentary stay.
Our booking details clearly state arrival between 4pm and 6pm and to contact us prior to arrival to confirm these arrangements. We had plans for later that evening and phoned you several times to see if you were delayed but you did not answer. It would have been common courtesy to have notified us that you were running late as you arrived at 8pm.
It appears that the hut lantern was not fully charged but there are additional night lights and a large rechargeable torch lantern available in the eating barn. We did say that if there was anything you needed to call at the main house and we would help you out.
There are electric sockets in both the wash rooms and eating barn where you could have easily charged your phones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked a last minute two night stay at Norfolk Courtyard and stayed in the Old Stables and it was wonderful!

The bed was big and super comfortable with lovely sheets. The wet room shower was powerful and nice and hot. The decor is lovely shabby chic with antique accessories. Simon and Catherine are lovely hosts. Breakfast is a lovely continental Buffett with home made jam and fruit compote and freshly baked croissants, and there is an honesty bar in the brreakfast room if you fancy a drink before going out for dinner.

All in all an absolutely lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetiteMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stumbled across a fantastic Gamekeeper's Hut on www.canopyandstars.co.uk which is a part of the accomodation offered by the owners of Norfolk Courtyard B&B.

The whole farm and surrounding settings are very lovely and beautifully kept with attention to detail of the highest standard.

Whilst we didn't stay at the B&B they still looked fantastic, very clean and very popular as they were fully booked during the length of our stay.

My wife and I satyed in the fantastic Gamekeeper's Hut which was very comfy, warm, safe and had easy access to a beautiful shared kitchen in a nearby converted barn and our own 'en suite' bathroom facilties with hot water power shower and toilet, etc.

The owners were very hospitable, friendly and always on hand to answer any questions or to provide assistance.

The idea of 'Glamping' appealed more to my wife who is 6 months pregnant and we had a fantastic min break sleeping under the stars and amongst the wildlife.

The farm is situated approximnately 20 minutes from the town of Holt which is a very lovely market town with lots of nice little shops and plenty of parking.

It is also only approximately half an hours drive to Cromer and neighbouring seaside towns along the Norfolk coast.

Great value for money 10/10 from us!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Gamekeepers Hut. Great fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Norfolk Courtyard haing stayed as B&B guests a few years ago. The setting is stunning and the accommodation beautiful. Catherine & Simon were perfect hosts and all our guests had the most fantastic time. Our pictures are beautiful and I can't recommend this venue highly enough for a relaxing holiday or as a wedding venue.

Perfect and stunning romantic setting for the best day of your life...... Totally exceeded all our expectations!
The new Mr & Mrs Skipper

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foulsham
3.4 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Elmham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hunters Hall
Hunters Hall
#2 of 8 in Dereham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
3.5 mi away
White House Farm
White House Farm
#1 of 5 in Hindolveston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Godwick Hall
Godwick Hall
#1 of 1 in Tittleshall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Courtyard

Property: Norfolk Courtyard
Address: Foxley Road, Foulsham NR20 5RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Foulsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Foulsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norfolk Courtyard, Foulsham, a stylish bed & breakfast and country escape, the perfect place to explore all things Norfolk! We are well located close to Burnham Market, Holt, Norwich and miles of perfect sandy beaches, and some of the finest bird watching in the country. Walk straight in through French doors to your own luxury suite in the courtyard; privacy from the main house, where you can relax in the tranquil setting of the newly converted barns. Enjoy a longer stay in The Stockman's Cottage, an idyllic English country hideaway, or get closer to nature in The Shepherd’s Rest.Whatever your choice, a warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Norfolk Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Courtyard Foulsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing