We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coach and Horses
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Have stayed here a few times over the past 12 years, but this is the first time back in the last 3 years. It is definitely one of my favourite places to stay in London. The staff are so incredibly welcoming, helpful and friendly. The rooms are lovely and quiet and cosy, with very comfy bed. Delicious breakfast with lots of choice. It is in a good location near Kew Gardens, and with some great walks along the river into Richmond. I can't wait to have another reason to stay there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krautcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    174
    38
    19
    13
See reviews for
104
202
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed one night to use The National Archives. Thought it was excellent. Had a friendly welcome and a sizeable room. I see it's only just been redone and it's well done. Quiet room. Comfy bed.

Good breakfast. Liked the décor and layout in the public rooms. Would definitely come again.

Sadly, cannot report on dinner as I had to rush off to see a show.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Have stayed here a few times and have never been disappointed. Pleasant rooms, great breakfast and the pub has a great atmosphere. In our opinion, a comfortable hotel where there's good atmosphere, good food, 10 minutes to the nearest tube and free car parking make this one of the easiest and best places to stay when we go to London.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straighttalkingJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Have known this hotel for many years but first time back after the major refurbishment in 2013. Its even better and is really busy even in the early evening in March. New restaurant layout works, perhaps the menu is 'fancier' than before but guess that's what the locals want, but the cooking is fine. As ever a warm welcome from Reception and Mine Host. There are few places to stay at Kew so make an early reservation if you are planning a trip there.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room then ask for one at the back or side when making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandgroper524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We booked through a third party provider and others in our group booked direct

They ended up with better rooms and we had a room overlooking what I can only assume is the plant room

We were late for our family occasion so didn't realise that the room was so noisy

The hotel was not full and the receptionist suggested that as she has to pay 20% to the third party we should like our friends booked direct and she would have matched the supplier rate

The bed was extremely comfortable the en suit clean and functional apart from the noisy bearing on the extractor fan

The breakfast was good but there seemed to be more staff than customers

I would like to think that the hotel wouldn't penalise us for booking through an agent however what can't speak can't lie

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Friog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

went for a drink and light bite very busy place nice location however the humus and pitta bread was a complete rip off 4.95 for the smallest pot of humus I have seen with a round of pitta bread. come on even a more expensive restaurant locally can come up with this for the same price with a more generous portion. The Manager was quite rude to people in the bar that had children. I suggest if you don't want them put a big sign up rather than embarrass people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 6 p.m. and had to work our way through a cloud of smokers at the front door. They put the ashtray right in the door and the smell of cigarettes wafted into the pub. The staff said the kitchen would be open in 10 minutes. Then it was 25 more minutes to wait. Then we got sick of waiting and left. The couple next door to us got a similar set of lies and also left. It's such bad customer service to keep telling the customer they have to wait for a little more and a little more and just strining them along. The pub was way to loud to talk. We won't be back. We went across the road to the botanist gore instant service, food all organised and friendly. Much better not to have to deal with rubbish.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hello Drew

First of all I am sorry that you arrived when the kitchen was closed and you couldn’t order straight away.

But I would like to add some context. The Kitchen was closed for 30 minutes, from 5.30pm until 6pm. At 6pm on the dot we started serving food again.
The reason the kitchen was closed for 30 minutes and the bar was extra busy, was the fact that England where playing Wales at Twickenham, only a few miles along the road.
On top of that it was an especially busy Sunday in Kew, due to the lovely sunny day.
Our Kitchen was flat out from the minute we opened.

We decided to close the kitchen for 30 minutes, so that the chefs could reorganise them self’s for dinner service.

Regarding the smokers, yes I agree that they tended to gravitate towards the door. But on very busy days it is hard to police people all the time.
I can assure you that we did our best to get people to move further away.

We have a good reputation for customer service and quality food. Hence the reason we were so busy.

I hope that if you are in the area again you give us a second chance

Regard, Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kew
2.2 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses

Property: The Coach and Horses
Address: 8 Kew Green, Kew, Richmond TW9 3BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond > Kew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Coach and Horses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just like the coaching inns of old, we provide a relaxed home-from-home for locals and visitors alike - and if you're staying with us, you can be assured of all the comforts and luxuries you'd expect from the best modern accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Coach and Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Coach And Horses Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing