We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great pub in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coach and Horses
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is perfect for researchers and garden lovers. It is close to the National Archives and Kew Gardens. Rooms have been refurbished and meals are good. Nothing to complain about at all. This is a great London pub.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selenaestelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned from one night at this hotel. We used it as we wanted to visit both Kew Gardens and an exhibition in central London. We paid a fair price for a decent evening meal, a night and a freshly cooked breakfast. The hotel had a good "feel" - the staff were welcoming and wanting to know that we were happy with everything. Not sure whether we met the manager, but we sensed it was all well managed. We will go there again if we want to be in that area or if we want access to the city centre - the tube is quite close by.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Whilst the majority of staff were exceptionally professional and welcoming , one member of staff lets this hotel down in terms of service . Very disappointingly the food was significantly substandard - especially as we had returned to this hotel due to the excellent experience we had here last year - I had the chicken burger which was far too spicy to eat ; so I left it. We had also ordered steak with garlic butter - the butter came in a frozen lump on top of it which was still frozen when the steak had gone ! When the waitress asked how our meal was as I hadn't eaten mine she literally said " yeah that's how he makes them " and waltzed away never to be seem again . We also heard her being rude to a colleague behind the bar when we first arrived and again at breakfast . At breakfast I ordered poached eggs ( very hungry by this point ) which were literally solid and cold . No one asked how our meal was this time and on checking out no one asked how our stay was so I thought I would offer my thoughts in this forum . I feel very surprised and very disappointed given our previous experience staying here so I can only assume there is a problem in the kitchen and with this one waitress . All other staff were very professional. I wouldn't feel confident to stay here again and I will now withdraw the recommendations for this hotel I have previously made to friends .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princessflowerpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Relatively large and updated room and bathroom with bright windows and a skylight in the hallway which made for a very pleasant stay. The restaurant in the hotel was good value and quite good food as well. We had a drink in the bar before dinner and my brother asked for a particular scotch from the bar. There was just under a shot left in the bottle and a guy at the end of the bar (who turned out to be the manager) told the bartender to put it on his tab. Super little neighbourhood in the west end. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dart_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Overnight stay for a family event nearby. This is a delightful hotel with lovely decor and ambiance. I love a hotel where there is something to look at other than a TV....the furniture, the knick-knacks, the "library in the bar, the wine room, books in the bedrooms, quirky quote of the day on the blackboard, a commemorative "on this day" on the key card
The ploughmans lunch included the yummiest home made scotch egg and sausage roll, breakfast was cooked to order....just delicious.
But the staff, they were exceptional, all of them!
There were a couple of comments from others in our party about the rooms being hot but mine was fine. Couple of mistakes with eggs not being on the right plates at breakfast and I did find the shower cubicle door a bit tricky to get out of but nothing really detracted from our stay
Close to underground, M4 and the river so a great location
Oh and in case the aircraft overhead bothers you - there were earplugs in the bedside table!
Absolutely recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarriPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just stayed the one night, a nice Hotel though, friendly and very helpful staff. The room was very good, large and everything you needed to make the staff comfortable.

A great bar, lively with locals and people staying in the hotel, I did not eat there, out in the evening, and was not in a condition the following morning to make breakfast, but I understand the food was very good.

Location wise was good for us, easy to get to using London transport and parking on site if you drive.

I would stay again.

J & M

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A definite cut above your usual pub/hotel. Room was fashionably decorated, clean and comfortable. Although the pub is on a main road our room was very quiet and the 'secret garden' at the back of the premises was a nice place to have a drink. Staff on reception were extremely friendly and efficient. Service at breakfast could have been better as we were left to find our own seats and work out how the buffet system operated. Coffee was slow to come and we had to hunt down a member of staff to order a cooked breakfast. When it came, however, it was very nice.
We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but the bar was buzzing and had a good atmosphere.
Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annebailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kew
0.5 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
2.2 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond
1,526 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
2.1 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#5 of 14 in Richmond
439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Kew Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses

Address: 8 Kew Green, Kew, Richmond TW9 3BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond > Kew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Price Range: £117 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Coach and Horses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just like the coaching inns of old, we provide a relaxed home-from-home for locals and visitors alike - and if you're staying with us, you can be assured of all the comforts and luxuries you'd expect from the best modern accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Coach and Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Coach And Horses Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing