We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for Kew and Richmond” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kew Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kew Gardens Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location for Kew and Richmond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location for Kew Gardens and Richmond. It is very close to the station and several good bus routes. The room we had was very tastefully decorated in a contemporary style, with FREE wifi available. There is an excellent restaurant with a varied menu which is where breakfast is served. The breakfast is fairly limited but beautifully cooked and presented. The staff were polite and friendly without being embarrassingly over attentive. They have a very strange bath tap arrangement which is very hard to regulate and produces water that is far too hot. There was a very modern cofee maker which was nice if you wanted coffee but the water wasn't nearly hot enough to make tea with, a kettle as well would be better. There are no DVD players in the rooms, although when we telephoned to check this point we were told there were. If you need to speak to the hotel, you should ring at a time when the hotel desk is manned, other wise the telephone is put through to the bar staff who may not actually understand or know the correct answer to your enquiry. We would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    68
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
51
77
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We arrived almost 4 hours early but Sarah was so helpful and got us a room straight away, excellent service you don't get in big chains. Having the Pub downstairs was great and we timed it by accident with an excellent beer festival. Dinner was good and Hanna looked after us well. The staff make this place and the location works for a non touristy hotel. Great three nights and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room on second floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renrev99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

stayed one night. great for Kew Gardens!
Great atmoshere in pub. Really friendly staff.
Rooms have been refurbished. We stayed on room one, which was small but great for just a short stay. Warning the bathroom is lovely but the taps are already lose so not sure how long this will ladt i suggest you visit within a year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagler beach
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel, formerly, The inn at Kew Gardens , is located in walking distance to Kew gardens, numerous restaurants and the River Thames. It is actually a pub/restaurant with upstairs rooms. Our room was on the 2nd floor corner and quite nice and clean and bright. The staff were excellent -helpful and friendly. The rooms are on the 2nd and the 3rd floors but there is no elevator which might make it difficult for some and for carry luggage. The biggest drawback for us was the noise both from the Pub and the street traffic PLUS the aircraft on approach to landing at Heathrow- very loud especially early in the morning. Sleeping in was not an option with the aircraft and street traffic.

Room Tip: I can't suggest an alternative in this are but know that A) it can be very noisy and B)the lack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsbeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

As the title suggests this hotel is actually just a good b&b. Expect tiny rooms with clever use of space.
Our room had no extractor fan in the toilet/shower and hence had a smell of damp and drains.
It makes up for it with a great location and a good pub downstairs. You are however, paying for location not quality.
Also, be prepared to be harassed out of the room the next day by housekeeping.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qqqqqqqqqqqqqq13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Good value hotel for visiting family in London. Bar is lovely, dining room is individual and calm. Our waiter Antonis was attentive and friendly, and made our Sunday supper a very enjoyable event! Thank you Antonis.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick drink and a bite to eat after a hard day on the road and was blown away by this little gem of a pub, the atmosphere was lively and the beer was wet, I had a burger to eat it was simply amazing and my waiter Theo was equally delicious ;)

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TomWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kew
0.5 mi away
The Coach and Horses
1.7 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.2 mi away
Urban Villa Hotel
Urban Villa Hotel
#1 of 6 in Brentford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kew Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kew Gardens Hotel

Property: Kew Gardens Hotel
Address: 292-294 Sandycombe Road, Kew, Richmond TW9 3NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond > Kew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kew Gardens Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kew Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Kew Gardens (Kew Gardens Hotel) Hotel Kew
Hotel At Kew Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing