We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad, dirty place”
Review of Auberge Knowlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Knowlton
Ranked #2 of 3 Knowlton B&B and Inns
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sad, dirty place”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed for one night in August, we made the reservation over the phone and hadn't seen the room first. Big mistake. The room was tiny, and the carpet really dirty. Filthy. The little "toy" window air conditioning produced only noise. The bed was awful, small and bouncy. The room was stuffy and much too hot, but the only window didn't open.
The location is central, it's great if you want to walk around town or to the lake. But you can hear traffic all the time, they are on the main road.
I've read the other reviews, I don't know where people come up with "quaint and cheerful". It was downright depressing, we couldn't wait to check out. I suspect these are not genuine.

The restaurant downstairs is decent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    22
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Just came back from three days at the auberge and it was great. The staff were very accommodating when it came to changing our reservation. The restaurant (Le Relais) located in the auberge was fantastic with great food and very friendly (but respectful) service. The rooms were good and clean, but a bit small (when we switched from the suite), and were in a need of a revamp and updating (when considering the price). Knowlton is a very small town, more so a village, and a little distant from most of the vineyards, but it allowed us to drive and see the area much more than if we were right next to them.
We took a package in addition to our stay of 1 night, visits/tastings at 4 vineyards, Joie de Lavande (lavander field), dinner/wine at the Relais, and it was a great deal and package. It's not really possible to bike to all of the vineyards unless you're an Triathlete, so take the car and enjoy the rolling hills and towns along the way. Joie de Lavande was nice, with a very friendly owner who made the visit for us, but its not quite a field. For a true lavander field I would recommend Bleu Lavande in Magog.
All in all a great place with great people, but in a need of an update/refresh.

Room Tip: Go for the suite, or a larger room away from Chemin Knowlton, otherwise you'll be awoken by truc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PersianCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Great little hotel in the heart of Knowlton Quebec. Good restaurant at the hotel, and with many bistros in and around the area. We were there in the fall and many had restricted hours due to the off season.
The only downside to this hotel is that it can be a little noisy as it is an older building - but worth it for the charm!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The hotel location is great for visiting the small towns in the Eastern Township. There are wineries, covered bridges, art shops and cheese stores along the roads in and out of Knowlton. The fall leaves were exceptional in the area which added to the charm of staying in a historic inn. I agree with the other reviews on this page.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We really enjoyed our one night stay in this hotel. It is a charming hotel...cosy and welcoming. The hotel is up a flight of stairs, and our room was up another flight so it might not be suitable for everyone. The room itself was big and comfortable (we had 2 beds), although not fancy. The bathroom was very nice and there were plenty of towels.

The owners were very helpful, phoning the local winery to see if they were open for tastings. I would thoroughly recommend a visit to Domaine Les Brome - the lady there was really friendly and the view over the vineyards was lovely - oh, and the wine tasting was pretty good too!

I must also recommed the restaurant at the Auberge. The menu was extensive and both our main dishes were excellent (I had sausages and my husband had the duck). We also shared a very tasty starter - the assiette de terroir. The restaurant is nicely furnished and had a cosy atmosphere. Our waitress was very friendly too.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseSAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Coming from Western Canada, there is something quite intriguing about staying at in inn built in 1849 that is “the oldest continuously operating hotel in the Eastern Townships”.

The Auberge Knowlton occupies the top two floors of a three-story building. The first floor is taken up by Le Relais Restaurant-Bistro (owned by the same people) and a fashion boutique. The hotel reception desk is on the second floor, with a small sitting area and a door leading to a rather large covered deck with numerous chairs for sitting and watching the town go by. Bedrooms are on the second and third floors of the building. One point to note is that the stairs to the second and third floors are a bit narrow and steep. They are not a problem, but just require that care be taken in ascending and descending, particularly with luggage.

Our room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The bathroom had obviously been modernized and, it being an old building, I was pleasantly surprised at the water pressure in the shower. WIFI was available in the rooms and there was a stand-alone computer in the sitting area just off the restaurant for those of us who had not brought along their laptops.

You can book either just the room by itself, or pay an additional amount for breakfast at Le Relais. (We thought that the overall accommodation/breakfast costs were reasonable in the context of Eastern Township costs generally.) If you pay the additional amount, you receive a coupon for a hot breakfast at Le Relais. My husband had the hot breakfast (from a couple of options) and was quite pleased with it. I am unable to eat a hot breakfast in the morning and was very grateful for the efforts they made to accommodate my breakfast preferences. Incidentally, we ate dinner at Le Relais a couple of times and were very pleased with our meals. (They give you a 10% off coupon for dinner when you check in at the hotel.) Staff were very service-oriented, both at the restaurant and at the hotel.

The only downside of the Auberge, and just for me because I am more noise sensitive than many people including DH, was the location. Being an old hotel, it was built at the cross-roads of roads leading through the Eastern Townships – makes perfect sense in the historical context. However, as time has passed, the roads in question have become busier and busier and now there are vehicles of all sorts going through the four-way stop at the intersection. As a result, I found the location to be somewhat noisy during the day. Fortunately, it was only single-lane traffic in all directions and the traffic became considerably less in the early evening. The air conditioner also provided sufficient white noise to diminish the noise of night-time traffic. So, in the end, although I was concerned about this when we first checked in, it wasn’t nearly as bad as I feared.

The Auberge Knowlton is charming and the owners are lovely, accommodating people. Overall, it was a pleasure to stay at their inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank itchyfeet090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Visited this inn with my girlfriend during Labour Day weekend last year. We stayed 2 night and we couldn't have been happier.

Excellent clean room that was larger than the pictures on the website lead us to believe!

The service at front desk was helpful and approachable. They directed us to a great marina where we had drinks by the lake.

The restaurant downstairs was a great place to dine, but we only ate there one of the two nights. The hosts helped us find another restaurant in the little village.

Overall, very pleased with our stay and the value offered.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor, it's a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank multiple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowlton
3.7 mi away
Hotel Suites Lac-Brome
Hotel Suites Lac-Brome
#1 of 3 in Lac-Brome
182 reviews
9.1 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
8.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
#1 of 7 in Bromont
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auberge Lakeview
Auberge Lakeview
#3 of 3 in Knowlton
58 reviews
7.9 mi away
Auberge West Brome
Auberge West Brome
#1 of 1 in Brome
306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chalets et Motel Lac Brome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Knowlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Knowlton

Property: Auberge Knowlton
Address: 286 Chemin Knowlton, Knowlton, Lac-Brome, Quebec J0E 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Lac-Brome > Knowlton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Knowlton
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Knowlton 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time without sacrificing the comforts of modern day. Built in 1849, newly renovated and re-decorated, Auberge Knowlton, the oldest continuously operating hotel in the Eastern Townships, celebrates more than 160 years of history of receiving guests with its elegant, antique-filled decor while offering all the modern amenities one has come to expect from a first class hotel. Keep in touch with the world in our designer decorated guestrooms with telephones, televisions and Internet (WI-FI) ... Or un-plug and enjoy ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Knowlton Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing