We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel,TERRIBLE restaurant”
Review of Auberge Knowlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Knowlton
Ranked #2 of 3 Knowlton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We stayed at the Auberge Knowlton 2 years ago and enjoyed it; the location is a perfect stop between our 2 travel points. The first visit was fine, and we enjoyed the attached restaurant for both dinner and breakfast.

HOWEVER. This trip, we returned to the restaurant and each ordered the local specialty, Brome Lake duck; one order was a substantial duck confit salad with cooked vegetables over greens, the other was duck breast with a cherry sauce, and two sides.
What a DISASTER.
The duck breast was greasy and cooked through (rather than “pink’ as described in the menu, and requested by us) with no discernable cherry flavor to the "sauce". The skin was thick and limp, rather like a wet dishrag instead of crisp and brown. The side of brown rice had been cooked with a powdered stock which left an unpleasant taste. We couldn't decide whether the orange vegetable on the side was carrot or squash.

The salad had large chunks of overcooked duck confit covering the mass of limp, overly sauced vegetables. The greens underneath were completely overwhelmed and soggy.
We ordered a cheese plate to finish the wine; after 20 minutes of waiting cancelled it and called for dessert. The crème Brule was good.

Service was pleasant but erratic.

There were so many flies in the restaurant the next morning that we asked the waitress to open windows which helped a bit, but left us exposed to the noisy and constant large truck traffic at the crossroads just outside. We finally got a fly swatter out of the car and waved it over the food.
In more pleasant surroundings, breakfast would have been fine; perfectly cooked eggs, good sausage and decent coffee.
We did tell the Auberge owners about the restaurant, and they were suitably upset…but we won’t be back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HPHToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2009

The Auberge Knowlton appealed to us because of it's long history and interesting location. It was also reasonably priced and offered a package deal with a fantastic local restaurant - (Le Relais - which is also in the same building.)
There is something magical about staying in the same building that wagons stopped at in the 1840's.
The innkeeper was very helpful. She provided good directions to nearby attractions. The charming Musee du Lac Brome is within walking distance and the village has wonderful little shops and boutiques and the local theatre that has some great acts year round.
Our only complaint was that our room was a bit loud. If we were not early risers we might have been upset by how clearly you can hear what is going on in the hallway or in the stairs.
Still, it is worth a visit. We recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teachernate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Réservez sans tarder!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Proutstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Co-voyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowlton
8.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
#1 of 7 in Bromont
590 reviews
22.6 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
16.2 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Suites Lac-Brome
Hotel Suites Lac-Brome
#1 of 3 in Lac-Brome
190 reviews
9.1 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
10.3 mi away
Auberge-Spa Le Madrigal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Knowlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Knowlton

Address: 286 Chemin Knowlton, Knowlton, Lac-Brome, Quebec J0E 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Lac-Brome > Knowlton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Knowlton
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Knowlton 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time without sacrificing the comforts of modern day. Built in 1849, newly renovated and re-decorated, Auberge Knowlton, the oldest continuously operating hotel in the Eastern Townships, celebrates more than 160 years of history of receiving guests with its elegant, antique-filled decor while offering all the modern amenities one has come to expect from a first class hotel. Keep in touch with the world in our designer decorated guestrooms with telephones, televisions and Internet (WI-FI) ... Or un-plug and enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Auberge Knowlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Knowlton Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing