We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideaway on the Hokianga”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rawene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Postmasters Lodgings
Ranked #1 of 1 Rawene B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hideaway on the Hokianga”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at Postmasters as a base for the Hokianga Country Music Festival. Originally we had planned accommodation at the Masonic Hotel just across the road, but as some festival acts would likely be playing until the early hours of Sunday morning, we thought of somewhere a little quieter in case we needed rest. We were basically there to see a friend who played in one of the bands. If he hadn't mentioned the festival about 3 weeks earlier, it is unlikely we would have even gone to Rawene. So it was a happy unintended discovery

Although the Masonic was virtually a stone's throw away, we did not hear music drifting across to Postmasters so we had a good night's sleep (and we were even in the front room!) Postmasters is an older style boutique hotel, with surroundings reminiscent of another time when the world didn't move at the kind of pace we have to contend with today. Ideal for relaxation and indulging your creative instincts. There is also a huge collection of books for avid readers.

John and Dorothy were excellent hosts, we particularly enjoyed engaging in conversation over a delicious Sunday morning breakfast. The only point that my partner made was that she thought the portions were on the small side. I thought they were just right. We did not try the dinner menu but there is always next time. John and Dorothy regard Rawene as their "little piece of paradise" and I, for one, would not disagree. We had hoped to be returning for Labour Weekend, however due to other circumstances this will not be possible. However, it is definitely on my list to revisit in the new year. The Masonic pub also has a friendly atmosphere, and being with only about 12 other people watching the band Maria's Hot Property play on a Sunday morning was the highlight of the festival for us! Nice to get away from the crowds and louder music. Can't guarantee this kind of atmosphere will happen again until the same time next year though!

So, if you want to get away from it all, I would highly recommend Postmasters and the Hokianga. The main part of Rawene is very compact, a doddle on foot, right on the water, with a car and passenger ferry to take you to places like Kohukohu and beyond on the northern side of the harbour. And Opononi is a mere 20 minutes away by car. Speaking of the ferry, it is normally $20 one way, but you can buy a 5-trip concession for only $30 - and it doesn't have a time limit. You save money even on your first return trip, how good a deal is that? Ideal if you're day-tripping to Kohukohu which is also a nice place to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelrich55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My daughter and I found ourselves with an extra night to explore this outpost of Rawene, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The hosts were friendly and welcoming, the lodge was very comfortable and both provided an entertaining and delicious dinner option for us! I could not imagine a better dinner, regardless of the dearth of options in town. We were so happy to hole up and settle in, relaxing from our days of driving and sightseeing. We were treated to some amazing wine, conversation, and dinner that proved most memorable.

Wonderful fun, not to be missed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I found this Guesthouse on an article i read entitled 'Unusual places to stay in New Zealand'. And unusual... and wonderful, it is!
The Postmaster's Lodgings is a building that used to be the home of the old postmaster in colonial New Zealand times. The old post office itself is next door but when the postal system got revolutionised the system called for the mass closing of post offices.
It is a wonderful old colonial house with some authentic touches such as the lanterns outside and the wooden flooring. Each of the boutique bedrooms has a different style of decoration. The room at the front of the house is quite dark but contains a spectacular four-poster bed and quite sultry, dark colouring with reds and burgandy colours. The room we stayed in was at the back of the house with three bright windows overlooking the picturesque Hokienga Harbour.
The town of Rawene in which the house is located is a small horbour town of a mere 425 people. There is a small shop and a fish and chip shop which closes every evening at 7pm. This ideallic place is perfect if you have a car and are exploring the northland. It almost seems untouched by modern times. The quiet out here is such a welcome change from the cities. The house has a verandah out at the back of the house where you can sit, relax and watch the sun go down (or up, as the case may be)
The owner, John, is very welcoming and friendly. He's an interesting man who plays his melodic classical music in the evenings while sipping on glasses of wine. The decor of the house is particularly vast, but fitting. He made the chandeliers himself from local woods, one of his many talents. He gave us lots of good advice on what to do and where to go. He made our experience there unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

The hosts of the postmasters was extremely helpful from the moment I stepped in the door. The place is amazing with all the antiques everywhere. I had a wonderful breakfast with included local smoked bacon and sausages with the perfect poached egg.
Even tho I didn't get the chance to try the dinner menu it looked very, very good. Thank you John.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

We spent two enjoyable nights at the Postmaster's Lodgings with Dorothy and John. It is a charmingly furnished historical property. The room we had was spacious with a good sized ensuite bathroom and free WIFI. Meals are taken on a deck at the rear of the property with extensive views over Hokianga Harbour. Dorothy is a more than capable cook preparing enjoyable dinners and breakfasts. John is an considerate and erudite host with whom we had many interesting discussions on a wide range of topics. He also keeps a wine cellar which I understand he will make available to guests, we had our own supplies which was perfectly acceptable.

Unfortunately Dorothy was not able to cook on Sunday night and the hotel across the road was a poor substitute.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank united33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Right at the bottom of Rawene close by the ferry John and Dorothy keep a tidy lodging. Good food, excellent wine and friendly conversation if you feel like it. I recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Rawene that this is one of the best places.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HokiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

John & Dorothy made us really welcome, have great food, fabulous conversation and a dutch gin to toast the occasion!. The accomodation is really comfortable and a home from home. Rawene is well placed to tour Hokianga and Northland, and you're guaranteed a good rest and send off on your journey. Would really recommend Postmasters for a stop over and would definitely stay for dinner- a small but mouthwatering menu, supplemented with excellent wines. My 1st visit to Rawene on 5 trips to NZ and hope to make it up there on my next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as far as I could tell- perhaps too much into my ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawene
11.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
10.0 mi away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
105 reviews
10.3 mi away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Postmasters Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Postmasters Lodgings

Property: The Postmasters Lodgings
Address: 3 Parnell Street, Rawene 0473, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Rawene
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rawene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing