We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll come again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vicko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vicko
Ramsau am Dachstein, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We'll come again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Make sure you know the right location as there are a few variations on Starigrad in Croatia. This is Starigrad-Paklenica.
I was taking a group of motorcyclists down to Croatia for a few days and chose The Hotel Vicko at Random. I booked direct and the staff were very helpful.
The hotel actually consists of 2 accommodation properties, the hotel proper on the mainland side of the main road through Starigrad and the Villa Vicko which is across the road on the waterfront. We were in The Villa Vicko so did not get to see the rooms in the actual hotel.
My room was on the north side and had a small balcony which allowed me to glimpse the water through the trees. It is good, clean basic accommodation. The room was large with a huge Double Bed. We didn't use the TV but the Air Con was most welcome. The ensuit was of a good standard. Sleep quality was excellent. There were no complaints from any of my group about their rooms.
As stated, Villa Vicko is virtually Beach Front and has a small private terrace with sun beds. Go through the garden gate and you are at the waters edge. It is not Sandy Beaches here though but concrete platforms which were very clean. The water is crystal clear. I am not a beach fan but the ladies in our group took full advantage and loved it.
Going back to our arrival, we were warmly greeted by the staff as if we were long lost friends. Our motorcycles were directed to what I assume is usually a conference room which amounted to one of the best garages my motorcycle has ever seen.
The staff were excellent throughout our stay.
Breakfast was included in the price and consisted of a typical breakfast buffet for the area with hot and cold food and a good choice of coffee.
On 2 nights we took advantage of the evening meal option for €15,- each. Eating out in Croatia is very cheap anyway but we had multiple courses with main meal choices of fish and meat. There was always far to much but it was of a good quality. Beer and wine is as cheap as anywhere else in Croatia, very cheap, and the only questioning of the drinks bills, once we had worked out the exchange rate, was "are you sure that is enough?"
The restaurant also has a nice sun terrace but this was closed after dinner was over and guests and to use the Lounge Bar below.
The hotel is just a few hundred metres from the centre of Starigard which can be reached along the waterfront for the romantics amongst you. there you will find a pleasant selection of restaurants and bars and also a number of Beach Hut Stalls selling all sorts of items and which are open until around 11pm.
We were there in relative early season but the staff were well up to speed.
Ideally situated for sightseeing to Trogir and Split to the south and Plitvic National Park to the north east. As a motorcyclist, the coast road north to Senj was perfection.
We will be going back. Thank you Team Vicko.

Room Tip: West facing rooms in both the Hotel and Villa will have the Sea Views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PensionHausMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    22
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stari Grad, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Careful about booking here!!!! We thought we reserved a hotel on Hvar island in the city of Stari Grad. Lost total booking costs of two nights here because we did not make it to hotel vicko!!!, many people have mistaken the different cities named Stari Grad

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Starigrad-Paklenica hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Let's start with positive points:
-climatisation
-close to a semi-private beach (beton, no sand)
-city of Starigrad is close to the entry of National Park Paklenica

Negative points:
-horrible room with wood on the wall, dark, one light was not working
-bathroom unbelievably small und dirty: curtain of the shower & door with mold
-room separated to another one with a very thin door where we can hear EVERYTHING and even see through the big keyhole the neighbours! (NO PRIVACY)
-we can even hear every thing from the other neighbour room through the wall. It is so thin that you can understand the conversation of the other room.
-the access to the room (groundfloor) is from the yard where everybody sunbath and kids play.
-breakfast buffet is tiny
- ...

I can continue the list.

Conclusion:
It is definitively not a 3 stars hotel, not even a 2 stars. It is like a hostel.
Price is extremely high in comparison to the horrible room.
My recommendation: skip this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This place is fabulous, food is great, service excellent and staff very informative. We stayed at the Villa, and enjoyed a wonderful spacious room with terrace almost the same size... Great place which we would like to return to in the near future. Plenty of stuff to do and see, and kind staff will provide directions and other inputs with great precision:) If you are planning a trip to this region, this is the place to stay at!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at Hotel Vicko for 3 nights and it was excellent. The staff were friendly and were very helpful in driving us to start of our walk in the Paklenica National Park, which was a brilliant day out. The apartment rooms were clean and had everything we needed, with a large bathroom and balcony. The restaurant served nice food and was a really enjoyable place to sit and eat overlooking the sea. There was a lovely shaded garden with direct access to a rocky beach with a cafe and nice places to swim.The location was perfect for us, as it was just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Starigrad but we did not hear any traffic noise from our room. Overall, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan-and-Ella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We turned up here because we were looking for tourist info (so we could book private accommodation through them) and saw a Tourist Information sign so went in and said we had a budget of 300Kn (40 euros) per night. The man at reception gave us a room for this price for 2 nights, which we later discovered was slightly less than half the normal price. This was in mid-Sept.
The room was fine and had a good view out of the window. We didn't eat there as we found cheaper options.
Unfortunately the first night there was a disco which sounded like there it was under our room. Luckily I'd brought ear plugs. I didn't feel like we could complain as we had a cheap rate.
The booklet in the room repeatedly mentioned the good customer service they provide however I did not see any particularly special efforts being made. Saying this, it also wasn't bad.
Good location for Paklenica National Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed in Vicko hotel ***
Rooms are clean but should be updated: furniture is old, no good place to put bigger suitcases; should use full covers for blankets (it's a mess during sleeping with a blanket and a sheet)
Nice terrace.
Bathroom very clean - a shelve in the shower would be a big plus.
Food - simple, local - very good mussels made in traditional way, calamari..
Breakfast - good
Highlight - personnel - all very helpful and friendly ( to mention are: Mr. Miro for sights, tours, tips and organization, Mr. Jozo in the restaurant)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ela_Rijeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Starigrad-Paklenica
2.4 mi away
Pansion Kiko
Pansion Kiko
#2 of 4 in Starigrad-Paklenica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
14.0 mi away
Zaton Holiday Resort
1.2 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Alan
Bluesun Hotel Alan
#1 of 4 in Starigrad-Paklenica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rajna
Hotel Rajna
#4 of 4 in Starigrad-Paklenica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
15.9 mi away
Pinija Hotel
Pinija Hotel
#2 of 9 in Petrcane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aparthotel Buratovic
Aparthotel Buratovic
#1 of 2 in Vinjerac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vicko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vicko

Property: Hotel Vicko
Address: Ulica Jose Dokoza 20, Starigrad-Paklenica 23244, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Starigrad-Paklenica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Starigrad-Paklenica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vicko 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vicko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vicko Croatia/Starigrad-Paklenica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing