We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family holiday venue”
other travellers have booked this property
Beachside of main house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beachside of main house
Welcome to Raro Beach Bach! Carpark
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
Beachside of main house
Welcome to Raro Beach Bach!
Carpark
Outside dining and relaxing
Interior with bar area
Barbeque hut and beer drinking area!
Adjecent self contained studio bungalow
Accredited accommodation with the Cook Islands Tourism Corporation
Plans 3D -main house plan
Layout of the whole property - able to sleep up to 12 people  so bring all your friends or family!
Main house
Evening summer sunset
kitchen and bar area
Bathroom
Deck view in front of bedroom 3
Main bedroom view - All bedrooms have a view over the lagoon
Looking towards the duplex studio units and BBQ area
Layout of the main houuse
Sunset
Main house
Veiw from the upstairs deck
Duplex studio units - sleep 4
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Vaimaanga, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Denize A
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday venue”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
6
people found this review helpful

My family of 10 adults and 8 children had 10 glorious days at Raro Beach Bach, what an amazing place, lovely and private, right on the water, plenty of space to spread out and the children never tired of exploring the rocks and sandy shore. We found the swimming and snorkelling fine, just be mindful of the high tides and currents. If you are looking for an affordable relaxing place to stay especially for a large group we highly recommend this place. Thanks Ian for all your help and friendly service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having our own space and freedom and being right on the beach without having to pay the earth
Liked least: The barking dogs, but they are everywhere anyway
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
7
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dunedin NZ
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
funtimesM...
Morrinsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow.....awesome place to stay for a big group of people”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Our family of 10 had an amazing time at Raro Beach Resort. It was like having your own little private resort. The views were stunning....metres from the beach....great for snorkeling. Even managed to do some fishing from the reef at low tide.
The accommodation was nice & tidy and all the amenities were there....BBQ (put to good use), cooler for wine & beers (a necessity for my lot!!), washing machine & good-sized fridge/freezer (very handy).
Plenty of outdoor entertainment areas to choose from for relaxing as a group, or wanting 'time out' with a good book and a glass of wine.
Even had the neighbours' cat & dog keep us company....felt right at home. Ian was a great host....he was most helpful with any requests that we had...only a phone call away.
Within walking distance to a great restaurant & cafe, shops/petrol station. An awesome place for a large group or family and we would not hestitate to come back again.
Thanks Ian...we all had a blast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package....especially the views
Liked least: the kitchen being abit on the small size....needed more bench space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware of thieves”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5
people found this review helpful

I wouldn't recommend staying here (unless you want your money stolen from local thieves). We stayed there for 2 weeks at the end of March 2013 and got money stolen from us 3 times. Each time we were on the property either upstairs on the balcony or playing games in front of the beach house studio. Knowing we were out of sight, they walked into the beach bach and took money from our wallets which were in the room. After filling out a police report, Ian the property manager come over and when asked if it has happened before replied "Only 6 times in the last 3 years" and pretty much laughed it off and didn't seem too concerned. It left my family scared and struggling to get to sleep knowing that there could be criminals outside targeting us.

You shouldn't have to lock all your valuable possessions in the safe where you're staying, especially when you are on the property and you should feel safe at all times. This wasn't the case and we were given no warning that the beach bach is situated in a high risk area where break ins have occurred multiple times before. There were also centipedes, crabs, geckos and heaps of ants inside the house which also made their way into our beds while we were sleeping.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situated right on the water. Ok place to swim (high tide only)
Liked least: Got money stolen. Manager didnt seem to care.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina T
Waharoa, null, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Paradise”
Reviewed 12 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
5
people found this review helpful

Ian Ibbetson's Raro Beach Bach was where our wedding took place on November 23 this year. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The house is perfect and felt like home away from home, the views are breathtaking and the snorkelling right in front of the property is probably the best in Rarotonga. To top it off Ian is the most wonderful host who made us feel so welcome and comfortable.
We will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paihia
Reviewed 7 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$243
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing