We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ISLAND MAGIC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cooks Bay Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vaimaanga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cooks Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Aitutaki, Cook Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ISLAND MAGIC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Simply magical is one way to describe our weekend experience with Cooks Bay Villas... 100% attention to detail, your home away from home, everything you could possibly need & more to make your holday experience fan-freeking-tastic! The ONLY place on Rarotonga that is 100% Family Friendly....exclusive beachfront, spacious rooms (each your own bathroom), fabulous snorkelling, great pool, childrens swimming vests, kayaks/snorkelling gear, day bed, out door shower, spa, supermarket/cafe/restaurant walking distance... its like closing your eyes making a wish and having it come true everywhere you turn!!!

Bless you guys heaps

Elaine & Bils xxxx

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Elaine Aketarai... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in October 2103 with our 2 grandsons (8 & 6 yrs) and had a fantastic stay. This was our 10th visit to Rarotonga & the boys 4th & 5th visits but our first to CBV – what a wonderful property! Facilities were excellent – a real bonus having a pool and spa with the fantastic beach, on windy days the pool provided a sheltered swimming spot. The boys loved swimming in the lagoon, showering off then hoping into the pool followed by a spa! Good snorkelling in the lagoon just out in front of the villas. The villas are superb – well set up for either 2 couples, or a family – both bedrooms having their own ensuite and entry to the private courtyard with spa and outdoor shower. The private alfresco lounging/dining area a lovely place to relax and watch sunsets, you could even see the fish down in the water from here. Excellent having a lovely fresh fruit platter delivered daily and other supplies replenished often. The villas are immaculate, a real tribute to Tara, Shine & the staff. A good selection of snorkelling gear, reef shoes & kids life jackets available to use and kayaks available beside each villa.
The location is great – Wigmores mini supermarket & Coco’s café within a few minutes stroll, Kai Pizza also located by Wigmores on a Sunday & do great pizza! Vaima Restaurant (always yum!) also a pleasant stroll down the beach.
Thanks Tara & Shine for your hospitality – we hope to return one day!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MawslovesRaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Six nights at Cooks Bay Villas and already planning when we can return. It was absolute bliss. Thanks to Tara and the girls for looking after us so well and sharing their slice of paradise. The villas are absolute luxury, with everything you could want. Perfect for our family of 5. We cooked in some nights and ventured out others - lots of great restaurants and food exceeded our expectations. Spent lots of time in the sea, on the kayaks and snorkelling - and a few swims in the pool to finish off. This place is beautifully looked after and we'll maintained. Beautiful linen on the beds and lots of special little touches. Fresh fruit platter every morning on the balcony was much anticipated. Cannot recommend highly enough. Rarotonga has just knocked Fiji off the top of our list for Pacific a Island getaways. Can't wait to return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Greenfieldsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was my 9th visit to Rarotonga, and my first staying at Cooks Bay Villas, and I can say without a doubt, that this was by far the best accommodation I have ever stayed in on the island. Tara and Shine were amazing to deal with, everything was superbly organised, and the attention to detail in the villas is amazing. The villas are immaculate, with everything you could ever want/need - each room has their own ensuite, and air-conditioning, and added bonuses to this is the outside shower/spa pool, huge incredibly well stocked kitchen, and gorgeous views out over the beautiful lagoon. Snorkelling equipment, reef shoes and kayaks all supplied. When we were sick of the lagoon we swam in the pool instead! We will most definitely be back again!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have tried several times to send a review but it doesn't seem to go so here goes again fingers crossed this work. My apologies it has taken so long.
A big THANK YOU to both Shine and Tara for their outstanding accommodation and facilities. Every detail to the villas and grounds was attended to which made our stay most enjoyable. The Villas are very modern, clean and well. A beautiful beach and swimming pool saw us having lots of fun with our friends. We have stayed in other resorts and places in Rarotonga but nothing compares to the Cooks Bay Villas. It's an ideal place to stay for any occasion and both Shine, Tara and their families will make sure your stay is enjoyable and unforgettable.
We will differently be back hopefully 2014 and differently 2015.
So everyone the place to stay in beautiful Rarotonga is COOKS BAY VILLAS.
Thanks are Shine and Tara, see you again soon.
Wendy & David Grice
Darfield, NZ

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 4WENZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Recently my partner, two friends and I visited Rarotonga. Cooks Bay Villas were recommended to us by a friend, so we decided to stay there. Once we arrived at Cooks Bay Villas at about midnight we were warmly greeted by Shine - one of our hosts. We could not believe how perfect our villa was, everything had been thought of. Once morning was upon us, we woke to find a delicious platter of fruit on our outside table, along with the most stunning beach front view out to the lagoon. We spent much of the next nine days, swimming in the pool, relaxing in the spa and kayaking and snorkeling in the lagoon. Our hosts, Shine and Tara were more than happy to answer the millions of questions we had for them and even happily arranged our rental car and other activities we booked on. Our villa was regularly cleaned to the highest standard I've seen. We quickly became addicted to the food and atmosphere at Vaimas, a restaurant less than a minutes walk away as well as Coco Latte and the fish and chip shop nearby. We intend on making our stay at Cooks Bay Villa an annual event and would recommend this place to anyone. Thanks to Tara and Shine for making our stay in Raro a perfect one :) Justine

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Justine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This resort is the BEST we have stayed in - and we have stayed in a lot over the past years, big and small in Australia, Thailand, Singapore, Bangkok, Fiji, Vanuatu, Rarotonga among some of the places we visited. This was our 3rd visit to Rarotonga and we are looking forward to going back again with our kids and grandchildren - and we are planning to come back to Cooks Bay Villas. Tania and Shine are just brilliant hostess and so very friendly and accommodating. So are their ladies that work for them. The Villas are clean, spacious and beautifully set out with everything you require for a self catering holiday. The 2 bedrooms are spacious and comfortable with air conditioning and both have large beautifully appointed en suites leading out to a private courtyard where we utilised the very appreciated outdoor shower and spa and cloth washing facilities. The full kitchen/living area and outdoor patio are all perfectly set up - a home away from home with the added bonus of a perfect beach right at your doorstep. Every detail is attended to - candles on tables, tap and bowl to wash sand off, the fruit platters every day delivered to your unit, the fridge on arrival with all the essentials that you require for your 1st breakfasts, free use of kayaks, snorkelling equipment and even life jackets both adults and children. I can't say enough about Cooks Bay Villas - we were there with two other couples, one of the couples had their two boys with them - and they renewed their wedding vows. Shine and Tania went out of their way to make this occasion even more special for our friends. The other great blessing about staying at Cooks Bay Villas is that all services you require - Wigmores Supermarket, a Café, a award winning restaurant - Vaima and massage services are all 1 to 2 minutes walk away and Muri Beach approx. 10 min drive. We highly recommend Cooks Bay Villas for that perfect holiday break away or celebrate a special occasion - I know we all are planning to escape again to Cooks Bay Villas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheryll N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaimaanga
0.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
1.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooks Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooks Bay Villas

Property: Cooks Bay Villas
Address: Vaimaanga Beach | PO Box 3018, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Vaimaanga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Vaimaanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cooks Bay Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooks Bay Villas (CBV) nightly tariff ranges between: NZD$395 - NZD$495per night and is situated on the unspoiled white sandy beach of Vaimaanga, Rarotonga Cook Islands. We offer a wonderful opportunity to indulge yourself in a little luxury, while being able to enjoy the serenity and seclusion of one of the most beautiful locations in the Pacific. Cooks Bay Villas embraces modern polynesian architecture and styling with all villas being absolute beach front, with spectacular views across the lagoon to distance ocean wave breaks. Our Villas include the following:~ Two separate bedrooms with ceiling fans, air-conditioning and separate walk-in en-suites, a King Split Beds in each room that can be set into single beds~ Spacious living area opens onto expansive private balcony with outdoor teak dinning furniture, teak loungers and day-bed~ Fully self contained and well equipped with all modern amenities with Full kitchen facilities including an electric oven, gas top stove, full fridge/freezer, microwave and each villa has its own (Ultra Violet) treatment water system~ Entertainment embraces a 4inch LED TV, Home Theatre, Stereo/Hard drive consisting of movies, documentaries, tv series, cartoons, music etc. Telephone and WIFI-Internet connection~ Each villa have a Private outdoor courtyard, accessible from both bedrooms and en-suites, a jacuzzi/spa pool, outdoor shower, sitting area, clothes line and a small laundry with washing machine and tub~ Another fantastic feature of this property is that Villas 2, 3 & 4, having full wheelchair access and being disability friendly. Relation should be a way of life, so at Cooks Bay Villas we also offer guests a selection of on-site facilities and services to help you relax and recharge. We understand these little extras go a long way in helping you really enjoy your island experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooks Bay Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing