We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This resort is nice. The rooms are smallish but well appointed. The staff are friendly funny & gracious. Island time applies here, but not as laxed as other paces. Only negative, not everything was available on menus, no biggie when you take into consideration freighting & shipping to the island.

Room Tip: Upstairs block 700 has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Superbly located, fantastic staff, difficult to find something wrong.!! We really didn't know what to expect & were more than favorably surprised at the quality of everything.
For adult couples this really is the place to relax. Stunning views from the bedrooms ... try for the ground floor rooms with instant access to the beach....good food & access to the bigger (family) resort right next door.

Room Tip: Ground floor is best, you walk straight out onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 10 adults having left the kids at home this was the perfect place to escape with pristine snorkeling at the end of the rarotongan restort right next door, kids free pool with swim up bar, all rooms beach front with sea views, 3 restaurants to choose from in both the Rarotongan resort attached and at the sanctuary. A choice of kids free Breaky at sanctuary or you can go to the Rarotongan for Breaky over the water watching and feeding the fish from ur table or a swim in the pool. Most staff were absolutely amazing especially Mumma Gold! We love you! Genny from the spa across the road gives a great massage! Only small complaint was food service was a bit temperamental, meals rarely come out all at once, and fish was often over cooked, but there are plenty of places to eat close by and if you stay in a relaxed island time frame of mind you will love

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mchardyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We tend to trust trip adviser when it comes to picking somewhere to stay, and I would say in this case it is fairly accurate with the over all score of 67%. It wasn't our first choice but we went as a group so decided to give it a shot. The location was very nice & the resort has heaps of potential but there is something missing. I found the sand was too much for my liking with it being around the pool so you can only access it from one end to clean your feet before entering the water and when you got out you got sand on your feet walking to a lounger. The restaurant was an all sand floor, which can be a novelty for some, but the whole area? the second restaurant wasn't open at all while we were there. If you swam in the lagoon & wanted to wash your feet you had to go to the front of the rooms & then walk back on the sand to get to your sliding door if you had a ground floor room as you can't swim with the room key. This could be easily be remedied by having separate washing bowls for each ground floor room. The grounds appeared to be overgrown in places like around the tennis court & pool areas. The staff were friendly and helpful but there didn't seem to be anyone in charge. We had a mix up with a drink that we got charged for twice, having paid for it at the time only to find it on our room bill ($24) it took more than a day to sort out & luckily we had kept the receipt. room service was hit and miss. The room itself seemed dark and we had leaky air con like several of the other rooms we went into, our room also had a noisy cabinet fan which we had to turn off at night, and a broken shower drain cover. We were woken up one morning at 6am by what sounded like a leaf blower right outside our door only to find out later that it was the health dept spraying the mosquitos around the rooms. it wouldn't of been a problem if we had been warned that it was going to happen the day before or something, and I know we weren't the only guests annoyed by this, at least one guest phone the front desk to see what was going on. On the positive side there are plenty of activities to do at the rarotongan side of the resort if you want to go over there, and they had good information on what is happening each day. The snorkelling in the lagoon is very good & there is plenty of furniture to use on the beach. The bus stop is right out side & the scooter hire is 2mins walk. we still enjoyed ourselves but these things took the gloss of our stay and most of it can be easily fixed or improved.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nzpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This adults-only resort is nicely located, in between a beautiful portion of the Aroa beach and the Rarotongan resort, getting the best of both worlds. It's really adults-only, it's quiet, the beach is small but nice, and on the other hand if you fancy the bigger more eventful restaurants next door, you can also drop there. The staff were nice and helpful, most of the time. The rooms are nice, with a view on or direct access to the beach, but they're not too spacious and small things might need fixing sometimes, like the shower drain or the card key. But I'd be back!

Room Tip: Get a room at the B or C block. Those have access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eberor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

The most perfect resort in Rarotonga for couples.Being it adults only and every suite being beachfront made this resort a no brainer for our 1st wedding anniversary.Staff are always smiling and accommodating.The food, especially dinner was amazing.We had dinner at other resorts but found the Sanctuary's to be the best by far.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank saulochansau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Resort was open 1977 so it's old but not worst. Service providing by young people and they are doing their work as excellent. Food quality was poor but kitchen staffs were nice and cooperatively helping waitress for us having food as wished. You must get snorkels for view deep of that fantastic lagoon beauties. Resort provides you time spending programs if you like joint them but do not forget! There are many options around the island for to do day or night.

You must visit Saturday market but do not forget, it ends at mid of day 12:00 noon time. Get clock vies bus for quicker way to reach the town otherwise enjoy every corner on the island any time. Week days after 3 but most after 4 pm, business are close even rent cars.

Rooms are clean. Bed sheets towels changes regularly. Room's bathroom is wide and shower is efficiently large enough. Bathroom has a nice sea view over bedroom ! Keep flyer rail close any time to avoid bitten.
We recommending this resort.

Room Tip: Season is important, October to March low season so you can get beach front rooms inexpensive . I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank managment5680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
5.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.6 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
5.1 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach

Address: Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range: £162 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true taste of the exotic Cook Islands in the heart of the South Pacific, Sanctuary Rarotonga is an adults-only resort located on the pristine white sand shores of Aroa Lagoon. All suites are absolute beachfront. Tropical buffet breakfast, many resort activities, and daily activities program are included in the nightly rate. The perfect location for a romantic honeymoon or a relaxed beach holiday. Three effortless Weddings in Paradise packages. A true South Pacific paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Rarotonga-On The Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Sanctuary Rarotonga-On The Beach Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing