We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a Sanctuary!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have just returned from a 7 day holiday, staying at the Sanctuary. We chose this resort, as family members had stayed there before and recommended it. Things we liked: very clean & tidy rooms (no bugs seen!) with everything in good working condition; great location right on the beachfront/lagoon. (You really couldn't get any closer to the water!) Very comfortable huge bed; Things we didn't like: some of the staff were a bit "indifferent" and we sometimes felt ignored or as if we were interrupting in some way; the resort pool was very cold and should have been heated during the winter months (the sea was warmer!); the food was mostly average at both the Sanctuary & the Rarotongan restaurants, except for the Ginger Garden which was only open on Tues and Thurs nights - the food was a m a z i n g! Breakfast got a bit boring, being the same every single day. The SpaPolynesia across the road (which is affiliated to the resort) was lovely - had the BEST massage ever by the Asian lady there. Great that the island buses stopped right outside our resort. LOVED that no kids were allowed at the Sanctuary!! That was the best part :-)

Room Tip: Definitely the 700 block, downstairs rooms - straight out onto the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned after a 10 night stay and we would go back tomorrow !
The staff were all friendly and did their best to please.We were in block 700 on the ground floor so access to the lagoon was excellent and the array of fish to see while snorkelling was awesome. The cleaning staff were efficient and always smiled and acknowledged you as they passed. All in all I had read the good and not so good comments on trip advisor and all I can say is that our time at the Santuary Resort was amazing ... Thank you

Room Tip: Ground floor in the 700 block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandybrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

For the price we paid for our room, I was not very impressed with our stay. Having stayed in a hotel in Auckland for the same price, which included 3 course dinner and a good breakfast, I guess my expectations were high.
When we first arrived at 10pm we could not even purchase any snack food.
The air-conditioning unit blew directly onto the bed, which meant I was either hot or cold. The breakfast menu never changed apart from baked beans to spaghetti, so if you didn't like what was on offer you then paid high prices for your breakfast.
The other thing that disappointed us was when we came to pay for our meals we had eaten while there we could pay with our bartercard. If we had known this at the start we would have looked at eating in other restaurants on the island.
Loved Rarotonga but would not go back to this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekendholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from 7 nights here May 2014. Asked for a beachfront room, upstairs Block 700C (as advised by others on Trip Advisor) We got what we asked for and it was very private and quiet. Stunning view of the beach and reef from the shower, the bed and the lovely balcony where we had morning coffees, and evening drinks. Just awesome. Huge bed, great shower and facilities. Snorkelling right off the beach, kayaking and SUPs, all complimentary. The included continental breakfast was OK, just cereals, fruits and toast really but was good not to have to venture out for breakfast. Meals in the hotel are great, had an awesome Asian meal in the Ginger Restaurant which is in the resort, teppanyaki and Mongolian bbq and other styles, very fresh and lots of flavours. Will definitely return here.

Room Tip: Upstairs if you want privacy, downstairs if you like to walk onto the sand. The upstairs rooms also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyReynders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was my first time in Raro and this was an awesome place to stay. The staff were friendly and so helpful, the room was perfect and the beach was amazing. Will without a doubt be staying here again next time we are in Raro.

Room Tip: We were in the 700 block on the ground level which was perfect. You can walk straight off the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara-Dunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haimona B, Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Kia Orana Sara-Dunc,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are pleased that you found the Sanctuary Rarotonga - on the beach an awesome place to stay and that you found our staff friendly and so helpful.

It was our pleasure being your host and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sanctuary in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This resort is nice. The rooms are smallish but well appointed. The staff are friendly funny & gracious. Island time applies here, but not as laxed as other paces. Only negative, not everything was available on menus, no biggie when you take into consideration freighting & shipping to the island.

Room Tip: Upstairs block 700 has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Superbly located, fantastic staff, difficult to find something wrong.!! We really didn't know what to expect & were more than favorably surprised at the quality of everything.
For adult couples this really is the place to relax. Stunning views from the bedrooms ... try for the ground floor rooms with instant access to the beach....good food & access to the bigger (family) resort right next door.

Room Tip: Ground floor is best, you walk straight out onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
5.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.6 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
5.1 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach

Address: Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve | Aroa, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range: £161 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true taste of the exotic Cook Islands in the heart of the South Pacific, Sanctuary Rarotonga is an adults-only resort located on the pristine white sand shores of Aroa Lagoon. All suites are absolute beachfront. Tropical buffet breakfast, many resort activities, and daily activities program are included in the nightly rate. The perfect location for a romantic honeymoon or a relaxed beach holiday. Three effortless Weddings in Paradise packages. A true South Pacific paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Rarotonga-On The Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Sanctuary Rarotonga-On The Beach Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing