We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Reviewed 22 November 2006

We had the best time at the Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa it's a great looking resort & the people working there are so lovely and so very welcoming, we stayed for 15 days in total and felt like they became more like friends than staff.

The resort has everything you need, with a great range for adults & kids. It can be for the family holiday or the romantic couples retreat, they cater for both & it's done very well.

We had our wedding day at the resort and everything went absolutly perfectly, the wedding co-ordinators Heather & Marion were great, relaxed & confident. Their in-house photographer Paul Osta is unbelievable, extremly professional, & brilliantly creative - we love all our photos! The catering was superb again professional & very friendly. We were truly blown away! Made our special day just magical!

The resort is a great experience with all the staff genuinely interested in you & making sure you have the most comfortable and pleasant stay.

We definately recommend this resort not only as a holiday destination but for any wedding too. The beautiful Island and people of Rarotonga, makes it a unique paradise all of it's own!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Fitzygirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2006

We had this hotel recommended to us by a friend who grew up in the Cook Islands.

First impressions - The greeting and transfers at the airport was professionally organised and incredibly warm and friendly. Next was the yummy fresh juice we were served upon arrival while waiting to check in. So far, so good. We were given a free upgrade to a Beachfront suite, instead of just a beachfront room. Lovely 'beachy'-feel to the room, and a very nice modern bathroom. Waking up in the morning gave us our first glimpse of paradise from our room. What a beautiful view. The hotel is situated on a great stretch of beach, other areas we drove around had a lock of rock close to the shore, which would make it difficult to swim in.

Tropical breakfast was OK. Cereal (blah! could have that at home!), fresh fruit (the paw paw was out of this world), croissants/muffins/danishs on alternate days, toast. The fresh juices were delish.
The only problem, and I guess it's also the beauty of the Cook Islands, is that everything is done on "Island Time". So if you're like me and you get impatient because you don't get a menu or order taken straight away, or they don't replenish the croissants 10 mins - 20 mins after they run out, or room service don't make up your room until after 2pm, you just have to learn to live and love "Island Time".
Ordered some snacks from the Bistro, and they got some of the order wrong. Average pool-side food.

Two recommended restaurants around the Island - The Flame Tree, and Vaimas (make a reservation on a Saturday I think, where they have a funky cool female singer called Kura? An awesome Cook Islands version of Sade). Didn't like the restaurant Windjammer's. Not at all impressed with my NZ$26.50!! caeser salad.

We went to the EdgeWater Hotel for lunch with some relatives of our Cook Islander friend. It had a much nicer pool area than the Rarotongan in that you could see the beach whilst lying in front of the pool. It was more open and spacious too. The Raro's pool area is not as big and is kind of tucked just inside so you miss out on a beach view whilst poolside.

Overall, the resort was great - we just wished we had got the in-room massages the first day before we got sunburnt!

The Cook Islands is a tropical paradise which is not spoilt by too many tourists yet. It's cute and simple, which makes it all the more loveable. I picture this to be how Hawaii used to be before it went all high-rise and totally commercial.
Go the the Cook Islands, and experience the Island hospitality in Paradise.


  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ryleeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2006

We had read some bad reviews, and even considered switching hotels at the last minute, but we went with it and were quite happy with the outcome. They upgraded us to a junior beachfront suite and it was clean, nicely decorated, completely comfortable, and our patio led right to the beach.

My only hesitation in recommending this resort is that it was loaded with children running around, (and we were there during the slow season) and though we love kids, there were a lot of them! I think that in the future, I might choose a quieter resort.

But the amenities were great, the food/beverage was good (not fabulous, but adequate) and the room was lovely. The staff were friendly - in our opinion, it's the people of the Cook Islands that make it such a wonderful destination. They couldn't have been more hospitable.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank caryperk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2006

I have only ever dreamed of visiting the Cook Islands and now my fream has come true. My family travelled from England via New Zealand to spend a dream holiday in the South Pacific and it was worth every penny.
We stayed in one of the renovated beach front junior suites on the east side of the resort. We walked out of our appertment in into the blue lagoon. The rooms were beautifully decorated with a real Polynesian flavour. The bathroom was more than satisfactory for our needs and I have stayed in many hotels around the world. We found out when we left that we needed to put a card on the door if you wanted your rooms cleaned. Friends we made had their room cleaned daily so I guess it's our fault they were cleaned less often.
The resort is beautful and very well presented. I really felt I was in paradise. The beach perfect and the lagoon amazing. I snorkled several times a day. It was like being on the set of "Finding Nemo" (minus Clown fish)!!
The staff were very warm and friendly. There was always a smile from the staff, even though some days the weather was rotten and the guest were starting to look a little fed up with the rain.
I found the food to be excellent, well cooked and well presented. To New Zealanders the food was pricey but for an Englishman very reasonable. I am not a heavy drinker so I can't compare bar prices.
When travelling to the Cook islands you have to expect to slow down the pase somewhat. That said, I have waited longer for food in New Zealand, and in the Seychelles you could wait for an age!
The entertainment was excellent. The Polynesian nights with E Matike inspirational. However the crab race evenings seemed dull compared to the other delights.
Our children were happy to go to the kids club. The staff there did a great job entertaining when it was raining.
Overall our family had the best holiday of our lives and the Rarotongan played a big part of that. We would hope to go back again and also visit Aitutaki next time. Thank you Rarontongan Beach Resort. I highly recomend it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Steve&Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank resorthopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2006

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank Raro4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cretey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.6 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.7 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
5.2 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve | Aroa, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range: £107 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve and enjoy Rarotonga’s best snorkeling (the resort’s guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). The all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking, included as part of The Rarotongan’s extensive FREE Daily Activities Programme. The Rarotongan is located directly on Rarotonga’s best white sandy beach, Aroa Beach, on the island’s sunshine southwest coast. The Rarotongan is also Rarotonga’s most family-friendly resort and offers FREE Moko’s Kids Club, Little Dolphin’s Mini Waterpark and Teen Zone. Kids & Teens Stay & Play FREE (aged to 16 years)! Kids aged 4-11 years Play Free @ Moko’s Kids Club, and teens aged 12-16 years Play Free in Teen Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing