We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic setting”
Review of Venus Cafe

Venus Cafe
Price range: US$10 - US$39
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic setting”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good choice of local food and wines, friendly and helpful staff, view to die for, we ate here on our last night and what a brilliant end to a fantastic holiday!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JulesT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    77
    41
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Blackpool sands lazy lunch”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were spending a day on Blackpool sands and visited this cafe for lunch. There is a good selection on the menu both fish and meat dishes. I had the crab salad with a bowl of the biggest potato wedges I have ever seen. It was all delicious and all with a view of the lovely beach. The prices were good and there is also a take away should you want to eat on the beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HolidayFan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“More than an average beach cafe!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We walked down to Blackpool Sands from Stoke Fleming, knowing that there was a beach cafe there. When we went in for some lunch, we were amazed at the variety and quality of the food (and drinks) on offer. The menu offers a wide variety of dishes ranging from from Aberdeen Angus steaks and jumbo prawns to really good homemade beefburgers, local caught fish and chips,bowls of huge mussels and lovely homemade gateaux.
We decided to have dinner there and in the evening, the atmosphere changes to that of a real restaurant with waitress service. They have glass screens along the beach side to keep out the breeze as they open up the side when weather permits and there is a lovely view out to sea. The staff are charming and the food delicious. We went again during our stay (despite the fact that we did not have a car and the walk back was a stiff 45 minutes uphill)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely family meal”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We visiting this evening and had a lovely family meal - 2 adults and 2 children. We were seated by the window with full view of the beautiful beach (unfortunately it was raining otherwise we would have eaten outside!). Food was tasty and the staff helpful & friendly. It's nice to find a restaurant that serves from 5pm to accommodate younger children. A really enjoyable evening.

Helpful?
Thank devonpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food with a super sea view”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

On previous trips to this area of Devon we have always had to bypass Blackpool Sands because of the strict No Dogs policy. This time we left the dog behind and stopped for lunch. There is normally a fee for parking (it is a privately owned bay), but this is waived if you are only going to the cafe.
The Venus cafe menu is quite varied but we had fish pie and fish ragout, both being excellent. It was all homemade - the chef was even able to tell us the variety of potato used to top the pie. Warm chocolate brownie with local ice cream, and a super smooth pannacotta followed. We were very pleased to see from the menu that most of the ingredients used at the cafe were local, organic and free range. There was even a list of the local farms or producers who supplied them. All very ethically sound!
We sat inside the light, modern building as there was a bit of a cool breeze, but as the sun appeared more people began to occupy the benches outside, overlooking the (fine shingle) blue flag beach. Service was friendly and efficient and we will definitely go back for both lunch and dinner in future. Just a shame dogs are only allowed (outside) during the winter - she will have to be left again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Venus Cafe also viewed

Dartington, Totnes
Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon
 
Dartington, Totnes
Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth
 

Been to Venus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing