We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Village Restaurant”
Review of The Brill Plaice - CLOSED

The Brill Plaice
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Brill Plaice is a Small Bistro style restaurant in Stoke Fleming, just 3 miles from Dartmouth, Situated in the grounds of Leonards Cove Holiday Park. It is run by chef/owner Richard. Specialising in locally caught fish, seafood, local meats and produce from within the local area and the West Country.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Village Restaurant”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Chef always welcoming and food consistently good. In winter stays open for Fish and Chips Friday and curry nights on Saturdays, among other speciality dishes. Take away year round Friday and Saturdays. Open all week in season. Good for party groups and a great local place to eat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    24
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Private dining , large group. Spot on!!!!”
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Large group took over the restaurant on Saturday night.

I must thank and congratulate the guys there for a fantastic job.
The food was spot on, the service was very good and a great night was had by all,.
It's never easy to handle 30 people but all feedback says you did a great job, well done.
Local is always best

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timbos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food average service”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The main curry dish was quite acceptable but the restaurant was lacking in atmosphere, not helped by the flashing blue Christmas lights still up at the end of January. The sole waitress, a young girl, tried her best but clearly needs proper training...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pigout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thebrillplaice S, Owner at The Brill Plaice, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Glad you liked the food!
The lights are to attract attention at a very quiet time of the year.
Other customers the night you came said the service was fine.
We are not a fine dinning restaurant nor want to be, so the service is relaxed and casual, but attentive. Sorry that did not live up to your expectations.
Thank you for your comments.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke Fleming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food lovely but the staff were awful !!!”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We went as a large party of 16 to have fish and chips as a celebration for my nephews 7 th birthday, we couldn't fault the food it was lovely but the lady that served us was enough to put us off going back !!! She was put out from the moment we sat down, she huffed and puffed at our orders like we were putting her out, she was just rude !! Even when we asked for the bill she just slouched over the counter and raised her eyebrows !! It was a real shame about her because the fish and chips are the best around my advice would be get from their take away !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJane37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thebrillplaice S, Owner at The Brill Plaice, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for your feed back.
We try to do our best to make our customers feel relaxed and welcome, It makes me sad to hear that we have failed. I have spoken to the staff involved. There are no excuses and I won't tolerate that kind of behaviour.
Thank you for your Kind and positive words about our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenhampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We went there for my wife's birthday and the food was brilliant, the catch of the day was truely superb, and the starter tempura of fish was beautifully cooked.
Go there to eat, great food, excellent value and we should support small local restaurants, they are well worth it

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryandCaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brill Plaice also viewed

Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth
Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth
 
Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing