We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal on New Years Eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brill Plaice - CLOSED

The Brill Plaice
Price range: US$8 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: The Brill Plaice is a Small Bistro style restaurant in Stoke Fleming, just 3 miles from Dartmouth, Situated in the grounds of Leonards Cove Holiday Park. It is run by chef/owner Richard. Specialising in locally caught fish, seafood, local meats and produce from within the local area and the West Country.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal on New Years Eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The menu was the same as usual, varied and interesting. The prices were not elevated for New Year and the food was beautifully cooked. it was a good evening out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    24
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Christmas Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We live locally so already eat frequently at the Brill Plaice Restaurant and we are regulars for their take away fish and chips (behind and below the main restaurant) which we consider the best and freshest in the Dartmouth area. However, RIchard and his staff really excelled for our U3A Walkers Christmas Party. They opened for our group on the Monday lunchtime and 21 of us were treated to delicious choices from their very reasonably priced published three course Christmas menu including coffee and home made fudge to finish. Everything is made by Richard including wonderful bread and home made ice-creams. His sticky toffee pudding is to die for. All said it was the best meal they'd had out for a long time. The staff were friendly and efficient and we were all served at the same time. Bottles of water and glasses on the tables were there without asking and the restaurant was tastefully decorated for the Holidays and included Christmas crackers! Thank you Richard - those in our group who had not eaten at the Brill Plaice before told us they would be back. Merry Christmas and all the best for the New Year.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish I could bring them back home to the other side of the country with us :) ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Our last night staying in Devon before we travel back home to the opposite side of the country we decided to pop in here for a meal & a very good choice it was, I'm so glad we finished off our holiday here, the best meal we've had & we were made to feel very comfortable there from the moment we stepped in the door to the moment we left a couple of hours later, we didn't feel rushed at all & the food was beyond amazing, I really wish we could take them home with us, it was worth every single penny, I had Sea Bass for the first time & the fish was so fresh & beautiful, my boyfriend had the pork ribs & he thoroughly enjoyed it, if you're passing through here then definitely go in for a meal, you will not regret it :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Clare_Bear_Edmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Brill is more than brill - it is brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

As a frequent visitors to Stoke Fleming we have dined many times at The Brill Plaice and really cannot recommend it highly enough.
Both the food and service are excellent. Richard, the chef, provides a varied menu which never fails to please.
Eating out in Dartmouth can often prove expensive but The Brill Plaice offers good value for money and is well worth a drive up to Stoke Fleming.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“High quality at a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here whilst staying in a nearby apartment. On the night we visited it was quiet but not excessively so. The starters were prompt and good quality. I had a hake with chorizo and pea side and new potatoes whilst my wife had the trio of fish special. For desert the marquise was excellent and my wife spoke highly of her cheese cake.

Reading the reviews after we had dined I was surprised that complaints had been made especially referring to the young lad waiting on tables. Yes he was young and perhaps inexperienced but he made up for this with enthusiasm and I doubt this will be his long term career. People skills are important and need to be learned. Doing this kind of job is a huge step to gaining these skills and both he and his employer should be praised for giving him a chance, not to mention giving jobs to locals!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NGHD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brill Plaice also viewed

Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth
Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth
 
Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing