We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Kaywana Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaywana Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Kingswear B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Uniformally excellent and then some. Marvellous little touches that wouldn't be expected in the best five star hotels. All aspiring luxury B&B/boutique hotel owners should stay here and see how it's done.

Room Tip: Ash and Oak were both marvellous. Ash is at the top but only a few stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Sadly we only stayed two nights but did not want to leave... From the moment we arrived to be immediately greeted by Tony to the moment we left we could not fault Kaywana Hall, tucked away in the hillside it is such an understatement to say this is a B&B, there are so many touches which equal and surpass many top hotels.
Tony & Gordon are warm and friendly,we loved the banter over the most delicious and leisurely breakfasts, they seem to have the perfect balance of attentiveness without being intrusive.
Breakfasts were amazing (do not plan lunch!) I would recommend ordering the specials, I did both days and they were excellent the eggs benedict better than many I have eaten in restaurants. the breakfasts were served in the main house which is stunning.
The pool was immediately uncovered when we arrived and at any point we asked during the stay, it was surprisingly warm and the sun beds around the pool are perfect for relaxing...
We stayed in Oak but I really think all of the rooms are equally lovely. The beds and pillows were the most comfortable you could ask for, the rooms perfectly laid out and beautifully decorated with absolutely everything you needed. The home made fudge and biscuits were delicious and an amazing selection of teas for every taste. Whilst out in the evening there was a turn down service with a weather forecast for the next day laid out and a pillow spray should we need it.
There is so much you could say about Kaywana Hall but really you need to experience it.
I wish we could have stayed longer we will definitely return and cannot recommend highly enough. Just make sure you allow time to stop relax and enjoy Kaywana.
We had dinner at Annabels which was excellent, and lunch at Riverford Kitchen, Buckfastleigh amazing organic farm.
Coleton Fishacre is a must do, fabulous...

Room Tip: We stayed in Oak but genuinely think any room would be perfect all have private terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend and could have moved in!
The 'pod' self contained rooms are a wonderful idea allowing privacy, your own outdoor seating and panoramic views.
Tony and Gordon have the balance just right; attentive, friendly, informative without being obtrusive.
All the little finishing touches make this a 5 star stay all the way and there are so many lovely places to visit nearby. The 'famous' granola is not to be missed - but then their breakfast is a gastronomic treat.
Overall a perfectly heavenly break.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiseHooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at Kaywana Hall to celebrate our 12th wedding anniversary and we'd happily come back again and again. After a torturous car journey all I could think of was a swim in the pool and it totally lived up to expectations. The house itself is stunning. We stayed in 'Oak' which is beautifully tucked away with its own seating area surrounded by mature woodland. It was like being nestled in a luxury treehouse. Tony and Gordon's hospitality shines through everything...right down to the special recipe granola (who knew granola could be so interesting?) What a perfect place. I wish we could have stayed longer - maybe next time.

Room Tip: We only saw 'Oak' but this was quite lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

beautiful location, amazing room,fantastic hosts. Tony and Gordon made us feel very welcome nothing too much trouble.Even arranged seven days of glorious sunshine,cannot fault anything would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady-Susan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place, lovely modern rooms, and all the little touches made it so special - heated mirror for when it steams up, sleep easy pillow spray, delicious fudge & biscuits, turn down service, sliced lemons in the fridge. Wonderful!

Breakfast was Devine too. They went out of their way to make me a lovely veggie friendly breakfast, the summer fruits & granola was lush.

The private seating area was delightful in this weather we've been having. The rooms were nice and cool despite it.

Owners extremely hospitable and welcoming. Couldn't fault a single thing, we loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taz-and-Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

On our way from Belgium to Cornwall we decided to treat ourselves to a couple of days of slightly more luxury than usual. And luxury it was!!!
The location is stunning! The building and surroundings alone are worth a booking. Unfortunately the weather was less perfect so we didn't use the pool. But the room, the private terrace, and all those tiny details made up for the weather 1000%.
Tony & Gordon are perfect hosts, warm-hearted and a great eye for detail.
And then the breakfast... Being belgians we are very demanding when it comes to food. And at Kaywana Hall the standards are high! I would strongly recommend the daily specials. The first morning we had a superb Eggs Benedicte. And I still want the recipe for that homemade granola!
Thank you Tony & Gordon for a unique experience!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyPit, Owner at Kaywana Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thanks for your lovely comments following your stay, I am only sorry the weather was not good enough for a swim. The last 3 weeks has seen the pool temperature up to 28 degrees and the sun shinning! The Granola recipe is on its way to you by email happy baking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingswear
0.8 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,045 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
2.7 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
12.4 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaywana Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaywana Hall

Address: Kaywana Hall Higher Contour Road | Kingswear, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Kingswear
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingswear
Price Range: £181 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaywana Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning contemporary bed and breakfast set in a magical private woodland setting.Ample parking,swimming pool and beautiful bedroom units set apart from the main house with private entrances. Rooms feature private terraces, sitting areas, bath and separate showers. Very quiet and restful with attentive service from the owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Kaywana Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaywana Hall Kingswear, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing