We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much more than just bed & breakfast”
Review of Kaywana Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaywana Hall
Ranked #1 of 6 Kingswear B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much more than just bed & breakfast”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Oak for 2 nighhts, for our mini-moon. The room was excellent, with everying you could need and more. The bed was the comfiest bed ever and due to the peaceful location, we had the best sleep we can remember.

Fantastic location, with just a short walk/drive down to the ferry or train station, which is a lovely walk along the creek.

Breakfast was awesome. The homemade granola was delicious, and the choice of food was great.

Tony and Gordon were excellent hosts, and made us feel very welcome.

We look forward to returning in the not so distant future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Natters_86_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
199
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay at Kaywana Hall and we have to agree with all the other reviews.

It is a beautiful B&B in a wonderful setting in a glorious part of Devon. We stayed in Oak and everything about the room was five star - the furnishings, the bathroom, all the little extras and we were lucky enough to have lovely weather to make the most of the decking area outside our room which was a sun-trap.

Breakfast was wonderful - home-made bread and preserves and everything cooked to perfection.

Tony and Gordon are wonderful hosts - friendly, welcoming and informative.

We shall definitely be returning to this little gem!

Room Tip: All three rooms are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelinda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

If you desire perfection with superb hosts this is the place. Rooms are stunning, hospitality amazing, and so many of those 'finishing touches' you hope you would provide yourself if you were in this business. Such consideration is rare and we will be back again and again. Thank you Tony and Gordon for sharing your amazing home. We just love it. Val and Mike

Room Tip: All are perfect
See more room tips
Green Features: Wonderful with locally sourced produce and environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valhackett30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The only very annoying problem I had with staying at Kaywana Hall was that I could not find one single fault about the whole 3 days stay!

Stunning Grand Design property well situated a short very pleasant walk from Kingswear, our room was spotless with every facility you could possibly require. The finish and furnishings were of the highest quality. The extensive grounds are secured behind two large wooden wooden automatic gates and set into the hillside ... a very peaceful idyllic spot.

We chose it as we could walk directly from the Hall along the river Dart to Greenway about a 4 mile walk mostly in the shade of woodland all off road. The other way it was also possible to walk to the other National Trust property of Coleton Fishacre that is a must see if visiting the area, superb Art Deco house and glorious gardens. After a long walk coming back in the afternoon for a refreshing swim in the pool at Kaywana Hall really set us up for a short walk to the ferry then a great meal in one of the many great restaurants in Dartmouth in the evening.

I just have to mention breakfast in the main house cooked by Tony each morning ... it was a delight and looked forward to in anticipation each morning, freshly cooked for you and in front of you with the finest of local ingredients and some great informative conversation.

Thanks to both Tony & Gordon for sharing your wonderful home and knowledge of the area with us for our fabulously relaxing three day stay with you, we will be back and already our friends are asking for your website!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
Green Features: From the Wood burning Pool heater to the Wood burning Boiler this is an Eco House
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyPit, Owner at Kaywana Hall, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for leaving such a great review, we look forward to welcoming you both back on your next visit. Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Anne and I first visited Kaywana Hall in September 2013 for my birthday. I think we described it as faultless on that occasion. I wanted to find somewhere even better in the same area for hers.
I couldn't find such a place - so we came back to Kaywana Hall. On our first visit we stayed in Oak. This time in Ash; which was just as good but different enough to be individual.
We can't comment on the TV as we didn't need to turn it on. The weather was so good that when we weren't out and about locally we were in, or by, the pool.
Gordon and Tony were perfect hosts, again, and the breakfasts as good, and varied, as ever.
No special birthdays next year so no reason to go back.
We will anyway!
Brilliant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodies60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyPit, Owner at Kaywana Hall, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was great to welcome you back for your second visit. We look forward to the third! Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

When we booked Kaywana we looked at the reviews and thought that nowhere could be that good, but it really was top draw.
If you want peace and quiet in a super location but in a modern environment with personal attention where they think of pretty much every detail this is for you.
Breakfast is excellent and an unusual experience!!
We will certainly visit again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Everything about Kaywana Hall is stunning. We stayed for 3 nights in July, would loved to have stayed longer. The attention to detail is superb. The bed in our room , "Beech" was so comfortable only the thought of Tony's delicious breakfast could entice me out! We loved to hear about the history of this extraordinary "Butterfy House". What Tony and Gordon have created and they choose to share!! is a 5 star , divine smelling!! I love the sleep well spray that filled our room when we returned for the evening, sanctuary where anything you could possibly think of is already there!!! Even the magical jelly beans!!. It is truly, a fabulous B&B!!!!!!! X X

Room Tip: All rooms are superb. Beech is lovely, has a patio overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: Kaywana has a Green leaders Bronze level. From we saw, and discussed with Tony,they are proud of their green credentials
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingswear
0.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.9 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
12.4 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 52 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaywana Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaywana Hall

Property: Kaywana Hall
Address: Kaywana Hall Higher Contour Road | Kingswear, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Kingswear
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingswear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaywana Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning contemporary bed and breakfast set in a magical private woodland setting.Ample parking,swimming pool and beautiful bedroom units set apart from the main house with private entrances. Rooms feature private terraces, sitting areas, bath and separate showers. Very quiet and restful with attentive service from the owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kaywana Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaywana Hall Kingswear, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing