We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, lovely hosts - will definitely go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nonsuch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingswear
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nonsuch House
Ranked #2 of 6 Kingswear B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel, lovely hosts - will definitely go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here at short-notice and plucked the hotel at random - but what a lucky find! Its really a very special Guest House with only 5 rooms which are all beautifully decorated. Penny and Kit are a lovely couple who make you welcome from the moment you walk in the door (they made us afternoon tea in their lovely garden to welcome us and help us to settle in as soon as we got there). The room we had at the top of the house was absolutley gorgeous - all along a nautical theme with stunning views from our small balcony across the river Dart to Dartmouth.

We ate dinner in the hotel 5 times and the food was really top quality and again the atmosphere Penny and Kit created was relaxed and easy-going with guests swapping stories about what they had done during the day, where they would recommend others to go locally etc. - just a really informal feeling of friends getting together for a good meal. Oh and you can take your own wine!

There was nothing we would have changed, it was all just so perfect and Penny and Kit work incredibly hard to make it so. We will go back again without a doubt. In fact most of the people staying there during our stay were people who had been back several times!

Room Tip: 3 of the rooms have balconies, try and get one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jarvis155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
153
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Everything about Non Such is excellent.....Stunning views, beautiful rooms , adorable dogs and Kit and Penny terrific in every way !!!
A huge thank you for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pictureframed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

A perfect stay!! You really do want for nothing from the tea and homemade cake on arrival, the extremely comfortable rooms and the excellent food to the view to die for - all with a wonderful personal touch. You are made to feel very very welcome indeed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaycee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

From literally the moment we crossed the threshold, our hosts couldn't do enough for us. Our room was bright, very comfortable, functional and beautifully furnished - but the headline had to be the view which was absolutely incredible. We were, alas, unable to accept Penny's kind offer of cake with our afternoon tea, and had already booked to have supper elsewhere (although the menu for that evening looked fantastic). That said, breakfast was absolutely first class and served with care and courtesy in lovely surroundings. Everything about the whole experience was of outstanding quality from start to finish. The location may not be to everyone's taste, as there is (as with most places in Kingswear) quite a gradient to negotiate on your way 'home', and parking might be tricky for some - but in balance, there is designated parking available within 100 yards of the front door and without Nonsuch House's position on the hill you would not benefit from the views (easily worth the ascent). Brilliant - in the event that we are lucky enough to book again, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Biscay room has a stunning balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSAEBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whepstead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Nonsuch set on the hillside of Kingswear overlooking the river Dart flowing into the sea, this is one of the best views I have ever had from a hotel or bed & breakfast bedroom. The same view greets you when you dine in their wonderful conservatory for breakfast and dinner.
This is my second visit, after staying here with my husband and enjoying it so much I decided to bring my mother for a three day break. Kit and Penny are relaxed charming hosts, they are the complete package offering great food in a stylish residence that has a homely touch. This will not be my last visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitehorseWhepstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

I have always resisted giving a review for Nonsuch House as I don't want you - the reader to know what I know. This is the best B&B in Britain. I know I am shooting myself in the foot here by letting you in on the, not very well kept, secret.

We have been to Nonsuch House 7 times. It is our favourite place. The welcome is warm; the rooms are spacious and comfortable; the food provided by Kit is excellent; the views are to die for. It is the situation that makes this SO special. But it comes with a penalty for walkers with 'dicky' hearts. The climb up Church Hill is steep. However there is a longer, circuitous less steep route.

We are very torn. On the one hand we want everyone to have a chance to visit Nonsuch House - but - we still want to be able to get a room ourselves.

Room Tip: Take coins for the lower ferry. £1.10 May 2011.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

The charming couple who own and run this very special 5-star B&B could not have been more welcoming nor have higher standards. Everything was spotless and in the very best possible taste. The care that has gone in to the choice of colours and furnishings is impressive, no matter where you look. The fantastic views of the river and the richly wooded hills are just the icing on what is a perfect cake. We'll be back and not just for the beauty of the place: our wonderful hosts have given us the feeling that we have had more than a holiday, we have made two new friends. Correction: make that four because resident Labradors Bill and Poppy also gave us a fantastic welcome.

Room Tip: 'Biscay' was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evacuees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingswear
0.4 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 55 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 55 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch House

Property: Nonsuch House
Address: Nonsuch House Church Hill, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Kingswear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingswear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch House is situated in a sunny and warm spot perched on the side of a hill with magnificent views over the River to Dartmouth and out to sea. Award winning accommodation, Nonsuch offers a warm welcome on arrival and a fond farewell at the end of your stay. Beautifully situated for the amazing restaurants and shopping in Dartmouth, for long walks straight from the front door or for sitting comfortably in the conservatory or on the terrace watching the world go by on the river, Nonsuch has to be the place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nonsuch House Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch House Kingswear, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing