We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway”
Review of Nonsuch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingswear
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nonsuch House
Ranked #2 of 6 Kingswear B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This is without doubt the best B&B we have ever been to. I know that is a grand statement but everything about it is lovely. Penny and Kit are wonderful hosts and the house is fantastic. It looks out over the bay and out to sea and gets wonderful light for most of the day. It is perfect for walking in any direction - we were lucky enough to have some nice weather so we walked out across the cliffs heading South East on the Saturday and along the railway track and through the woods on the Sunday - just fantastic. And then you have Kit's incredible cooking to look forward to when you get in! Although we haven't sampled all restaurants in the area we have yet to find one that comes close....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
158
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

Beautiful view, lovely room, welcoming hosts who looked after us so well and a fantastic location. And a great breakfast. What more could you ask for. Only sad we only stayed the one night as they were so busy! Hope to come again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72vintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We visited Nonsuch House for the fourth or fifth time, I've lost count I'm afraid, in May 2012. And not without reason. It's the best B&B ever... and there's no doubt about it. The most comfortable rooms, the most beautiful view, great food - whether it's breakfast or dinner - etc. etc. But what makes it special are the hosts; Penny, Kit and the others that work there to make Nonsuch the special place that it is. And last but not least the dogs... they're adorable.
Can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Check the specs on the website for specific details you might like. But there are no rooms you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin-Driftwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Excellent rooms, views and hosts. We couldn't have asked for better and wished we could have stayed for longer.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We love returning to the stunning views, outstanding accommodation, warm welcome and excellent food at Nonsuch. Our latest stay has lived up to all our expectations and left us feeling very relaxed and wanting to return. Bill and Poppy - oh, and Kit and Penny ! - were wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentishTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at Nonsuch House in March and were looking forward to our break having read the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed, everything was better than expected. A charming B &B with very friendly hosts. Our room with its balcony and view was all we had hoped for. Kit cooked dinner on our first night and it was superb. The location was good too, we just walked down the hill and caught the half hourly car ferry over to Dartmouth. We visited Coleton Fishacre and Greenways NT properties - both were well worth a visit but Coleton was one of the best NT properties we have ever visited. Lots to see and do in the area but we were glad we had chosen to visit out of season. Only disappointment was the steam train only ran at weekends until April. However, what a good excuse we have to return to Nonsuch House.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaMelksham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silves
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

No words can describe the quality and ambiene of Nonsuch House. A once upon a time magical experience. M&L Charing Kent

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb but if you want a balcony to sit out and soak up the view ask for Biscay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingswear
0.4 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
967 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaywana Hall
Kaywana Hall
#1 of 6 in Kingswear
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch House

Property: Nonsuch House
Address: Nonsuch House Church Hill, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Kingswear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingswear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch House is situated in a sunny and warm spot perched on the side of a hill with magnificent views over the River to Dartmouth and out to sea. Award winning accommodation, Nonsuch offers a warm welcome on arrival and a fond farewell at the end of your stay. Beautifully situated for the amazing restaurants and shopping in Dartmouth, for long walks straight from the front door or for sitting comfortably in the conservatory or on the terrace watching the world go by on the river, Nonsuch has to be the place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nonsuch House Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch House Kingswear, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing