We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Nonsuch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingswear
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nonsuch House
Ranked #2 of 6 Kingswear B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here on recommendation in August for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The owners Kit and Penny were lovely (and very understanding when our son was ill one night), the breakfasts were superb (highly recommed the French toast) and we had 2 sublime evening meals, overlooking the wonderful sea/estuary view. The bedrooms were gorgeous and fully equipped, with all attention to detail.
If they will have us back, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew5199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Loved having you here and hope to have you to stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the Nonsuch House with a group of nine golfers and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hospitality of Penny and Kit is remarkable; we felt at home from the very first minute. Kit prepares a great breakfast in the morning (which is served in a beatiful room with a magnificent view across the estuary) and showed us his culinary expertise last Thursday when he spoiled us with a three-course dinner made from fresh, local, tasty and delicious food.
The house and the rooms are impeccable and very tastefully decorated; all rooms share the wonderful view. And the outside terrace turned out to be a perfect place for a nightcap.
Do we recommend Nonsuch House? You bet!
Thank you very much, Penny and Kit, for a truly memorable time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jos689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We so enjoyed having you all to stay here and do hope you will come and stay again - we have some wonderful golf courses we can recommend for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Less is more - so few words are needed...... We have come every year for 14 years for a bit of winter rest & recovery, & sometimes in the summer, and it has never failed us for comfort, quality, informality, assistance when needed, flexibility, etc. Kit & Penny, and the support staff, have always gone the extra few miles. It really is 5 star. It really is excellent

Room Tip: They are all good - altho the very very top room has a low ceiling (made up for by the very, very be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Lovely to see you again and do hope it won't be long before we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at Nonsuch House for 2 nights and we could not have been looked after any better by Penny and Kit, they were excellent hosts. Even though we were early, they welcomed us with tea and coffee and advised us on sites to visit etc. We dined at Nonsuch House on the last night and the food, service and ambience were superb, we were well taken care of and we would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone. It felt like a home from home and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The room we had, had an excellent view of the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieQte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Lovely to meet you both and to exchange lots of ideas. Hope to see you before too long and welcome you back to Nonsuch - hope the journey back was not too bad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The magical location of this b&b gives superb views from all the rooms, across the Dart estuary to Dartmouth and out to sea. The room was clean & fresh with a very comfortable bed. The owners, Penny & Kit, did everything to make our stay enjoyable & this is somewhere we definitely intend to visit again. If there is a downside, to get to the view, you have a steep climb up the hill from Kingswear quay - but nobody was complaining once inside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you for the lovely comments on Nonsuch - do hope your foot is recovering and let's hope that by the time you return we have persuaded Devon County Council to have opened the South West Coast footpath again which is a much gentler meander up the hill to the house! Of course being on top of the hill is what gives us the stunning views!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

All the previous highly rated reviews are correct.Penny and Kit are superb hosts.The food is top notch and the accomodation is 5 star.Although we live nearby in Torquay we were able to rediscover the beauty of the River Dart and Dartmouth itself.The holiday was a birthday gift from our children, and turned out to be a great treat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baron8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you before too long - if you are passing by do drop in for a cup of something - it would be lovely to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had booked Nonsuch after reviews on Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed. The room (Lundy) was fantastic - immaculate cleanliness wise, bright and airy..the views were amazing. Kit and Penny are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are fantastic - Kit is a great chef. We will be returning and have already recommended Nonsuch House to friends who are going to get in touch. We were sad to leave as our weekend was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Lovely to meet you both and so pleased that you finally managed to get down to see us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again. Don't leave it too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingswear
0.4 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
124 reviews
2 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
194 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch House

Address: Church Hill, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Kingswear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingswear
Price Range: £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch House is situated in a sunny and warm spot perched on the side of a hill with magnificent views over the River to Dartmouth and out to sea. Award winning accommodation, Nonsuch offers a warm welcome on arrival and a fond farewell at the end of your stay. Beautifully situated for the amazing restaurants and shopping in Dartmouth, for long walks straight from the front door or for sitting comfortably in the conservatory or on the terrace watching the world go by on the river, Nonsuch has to be the place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nonsuch House Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch House Kingswear, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing