We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View”
Review of Nonsuch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingswear
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nonsuch House
Ranked #2 of 6 Kingswear B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It's not always easy to live up to awards but Kit and Penny do that with something to spare. Having nailed a "to die for" location there was the small matter of how the place feels on the inside. Lots of words spring to mind but think about being cocooned in your favourite jumper with a great book on a bright Autumn day. And if that's not enough, there's the breakfast you would happily kill for and dinner (cooked by the Kit-Meister himself) that makes you wonder where they keep their Michelin star. These people know how to look after you.
What a fabulous place! We came away thinking about all the people we want to invite next time.
Top marks guys. B&B doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamanS740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Great to see you guys after such a long time. So glad you enjoyed Nonsuch and Kit's cooking - hope you will come and stay again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Nonsuch House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the secoind time we have been to this amazing B&B and frankly it was even better this time than previously, if possible! There is no part of this venue that is not absolutely fabulous, the rooms (this time in Biscay with a balcony!), the decor, service, food, the lot really. Kit and Penny are the owners and have created frankly the perfect B&B. The views of the mouth of the River Dart with the town below and looking towards the castle at the mouth of the river and out to sea are to die for. Kit cooks some evenings a week and if you are lucky enough to be staying there when he cooks, make sure you book in with him. We did and the food was great from start to finish.

If there is a better B&B in Britain all i can say is that it must be out of this world because Nonsuch House is just perfect. Go stay soon!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We've died and gone to heaven with such a fabulous review - see you back here soon we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hello,
My wife and I (Lynn and David) spent a long weekend at Nonsuch House at the end of April 2014 and we wish it to be known we had a wonderful time.
Great location overlooking the River Dart, balcony view.
The food was first class by Kit (the owner with his wife Penny).
The room was very comfortable and wanted for nothing, beautifully clean and welcoming.
This is the first vacation stay I have had where I could find fault with nothing at all!
We cannot recommend this enough and will be going there again.
It is also a good location to travel widely inland or coastal.
Kit and Penny deserve their high ratings.

Room Tip: Balcony view is wonderful, see the boats passing in the sunshine when you rise - but absolutely no n...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review - and look forward to seeing you both again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

It's all been said before and I am so glad we found Nonsuch House. Penny & Kit have got it just right - very welcoming, beautifully decorated house with stunning views & fabulous food (despite some long walks I am decidedly heavier since coming home). We will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TNJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks for great review and look forward to seeing you again - don't leave it too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Only a hotel as special as Nonsuch House could have made a wild, wet weekend such a happy one. Our bedroom was beautiful and comfortable, in fact the whole house was a pleasure to the senses. Kit and Penny were amazingly kind and helpful hosts, making us feel we were among friends. We were helped with lifts and even had our very soggy clothes cleaned for us after a rainy walk. Kit's cooking is superb and we were offered tea and biscuits whenever we walked in. The setting and views are amazing and we intend to return again and hope to catch some sunshine next time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BookandHerbLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Lovely to meet you two too - do hope we may see you down here for Way with Words if not this year then next. Thank you for your lovely review and for those gorgeous flower prints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our 3 night break at Nonsuch House was so peaceful and satisfying. We stayed in the Biscay Room which has its own large balcony. The views over the busy estuary to Dartmouth town, its quirky castle and the open sea are breathtaking. Nonsuch is well located at the top of a hill in Kingswear and it's only a short stroll down to the local pub and the foot and car ferries for the short crossing to Dartmouth. Our hosts Kit and Penny made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble - they were able to update us on local SW coastal walks and even lent us maps so that we didn't get lost. Kit's cooking is top notch and the breakfasts were broad and filling. The menu for dinner was of our own choosing and was extremely well presented. All of the food is locally sourced and is of a very high quality. Our room was spotless and the large bed very comfortable.
A big thank you to Kit and Penny for making our short break so pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 205paul205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

So lovely to meet you and very much hope you will come and see us again. So glad you enjoyed yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have taken to staying at slightly more up-market bed & breakfast accommodation (sometimes referred to as boutique) and Nonsuch House definitely fits this category. What was especially nice was the really friendly welcome and the sense that you were sharing Kit and Penny's house rather that just being there as paying guests. We stayed for three nights and our room was beautifully appointed with everything we needed and a very special view across the Dart estuary to Dartmouth. All the rooms have similar views as does the lovely dining area and just off this was a comfy lounge where we enjoyed an open fire one evening. On that particular evening we were treated to Kit's fine chef skills as he offers an evening meal several times each week. It was an excellent meal in good company enhanced by the twinkling lights of Dartmouth across the water. The breakfast each morning was also very special with plenty of choice and excellent quality. Each morning you could either choose from a wide selection of traditional English breakfast items or a special alternative which varied daily. The kitchen is right next to the dining area and we enjoyed chatting to Penny and Kit as they prepared our breakfast. So all in all we would have no hesitation in recommending Nonsuch House - stay a few days/nights and it feels like a real holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreBuckingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

And so lovely to welcome you both too. We thoroughly enjoyed having you here and do hope it won't be too long before you return for one of Kit's special meals and another holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingswear
0.4 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
308 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Kaywana Hall
Kaywana Hall
#1 of 6 in Kingswear
259 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch House

Address: Nonsuch House Church Hill, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Kingswear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingswear
Price Range: £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch House is situated in a sunny and warm spot perched on the side of a hill with magnificent views over the River to Dartmouth and out to sea. Award winning accommodation, Nonsuch offers a warm welcome on arrival and a fond farewell at the end of your stay. Beautifully situated for the amazing restaurants and shopping in Dartmouth, for long walks straight from the front door or for sitting comfortably in the conservatory or on the terrace watching the world go by on the river, Nonsuch has to be the place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nonsuch House Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch House Kingswear, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing