We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Pub Grub”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Kingswear
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fab Pub Grub”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The pub was really busy but they still managed to fit us in and were we glad that they did! The food was fabulous, particularly the fish which was locally caught.For atmosphere, great food and friendly staff, this is the place to be.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank penlivi39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    57
    22
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Everything a West Country pub should be”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had called here a couple of years ago and judged it worthy of a return visit. The pub is located in an elevated position looking towards the River Dart, in the shadow of the church tower and only 50 yards from the Dart Valley Railway terminus. This is an historic pub - a fact reflected in the panelled walls of the pubs various rooms which are decorated with pictures of the town's past. We enjoyed our freshly cooked fish lunch here followed by home cooked crumble with custard. There is also a good choice of well kept local real ales on offer here. There is a warm welcome for all from the characterful landlord and his staff. A good choice for both drinks and food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swetrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Back on form”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have been visiting Dartmouth and Kingswear for about the last eight years, sometimes for just weekends as well as self-catering weeks. We always enjoyed eating at the Ship Inn, it has a great atmosphere and landlord! Unfortunately a couple of years ago we thought the quality of the meals had gone downhill. However we have just been down to Dartmouth for the weekend and thought we would have a meal over at the Ship. How please we were, the food was excellent, service excellent and the atmosphere was great. Must mention the great choice of real ales as well!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 608JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real gem on the Dart - we almost want to keep it to ourselves!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have visited the Ship on a number of occasions over the last few years, both winter and summer. The staff are always so attentive, helpful and friendly, nothing is never too much trouble. They make you feel very welcome and adore dogs.The food is fantastic, the fish and chips is one if the best we have ever tasted but have a good selection to cater for all tastes. They have a good selection of real ales and a traditional pub setting. We feel we have stumbled upon a real gem ln the Dart. Well worth booking a table to try it for yourselves.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ursulami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommended! A gem of a pub.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A great evening. Drinks (very well kept Devon Dreamer and Otter Ale) on the terrace, watching the sun go down over the river Dart. Then inside for a fantastic whole lobster, priced at £24 which is something of a bargain in this part of the world. I would highly recommend that anyone visiting Dartmouth gets on the ferry across to Kingswear to try this pub. I doubt you'll be disappointed. Dog friendly, with helpful staff and a character landlord in Colin. We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pubfan278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing