We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service, nice location and the rooms are not bad”
Review of Kiviks Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kiviks Hotell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kivik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at Kivik Hotel the summer of 2013. The staff was very nice with us. The helped us, without hesitation when we got into some problems. The food was good, and the winelist was OK. Kivik Hotel is Perfect for investigation the region of Österlen, and there are great opportunities for hiking. And the seawiev form the room. Great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kare49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

Kivik hotel tries hard, and succeeds quite well, but chrashes and burns on occasion. We didn't try The spa, so I have no idea of the quality there. The hotel is beautifully situated in Kivik with a great view of the ocean. It has a beautiful garden with nice sitting areas.
We stayed for one night in a room with view over the park. The room was small but nice. The bathroom is also nice but the shower is too small, so I got the shower curtain clinging to the body all the time. Another failure is that the shower is not built so that the water goes down the drain. Instead it stays on the tiles.
We ate at the restaurant that night. High ambitions on the food! But the kitchen had problems with the tempo. Even though the restaurant only was half full, we had to wait so long that the waitress offered complimentary coffee. A cup of coffee that was useless as it tasted nothing. The food was good and the service nice and friendly, but again, in the main course they failed with the steak, which was cold and over cooked.
So, they try hard to be top class, but can't really reach it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobbalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This is a lovely place. Staff is very friendly and helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Kivik hotel was perfect for our ventures around Osterlen. The location cannot be better with its fantastic seaview. We stayed for three nights, exploring the area during the days and relaxing in the brand new spa in the evenings. Food was really good, although service could have been a bit quicker. We would def stay here again. // Kate and Mike, UK

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluewater012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My husband and I arrived here on a Wednesday night, we had booked the romantic package and when we arrived at our room, it was big, nicely furnitured and very welcoming with the bath robes and slippers laid out on the bed and a big tray of fruits, chocolate and a small bottle of cava in a wine cooler, right next to a freshly picked bouquet of flowers! Nice!

However - the negative bits:
The jacuzzi for two did not work. They explained, when we asked, that it was going to be fixed later but when I questioned about the stay before booking, they assured me that it WOULD be fixed when we arrived. Now... Call me boring - but sitting in a chair watching your spouse take a bubble bath isn't my idea of romantic and it was stricly a one-person-bath tub. (Not really a jacuzzi, but a bubble bath. In case you're picky.)
We also didn't get a double bed in our double room, but two separate beds placed together. Not really the ideal for a couple on a romantic trip - but ok, we survived. ;)

The room was clean and very spacious, but the balcony hadn't been cleaned as there was a cigar butt and a few matches on the table. (Not in a tray or anything. Pretty gross - which isn't the personels fault of course.)
There was also a bouquet of flowers in the hallway that had gone bad. Not a big thing, but a detail that disturbed the otherwise clean and neat impression.

Now, the massage was fab. The SPA-lady was amazingly sweet and skillful. I'd recommend a massage to anyone, and I am really wanting to go back for another SPA visit.
The restaurant staff were amazing. We asked if we could sit outside - and they made a table with linens and all, just for us - and the service was impeccable!
Very helpful and kind staff, who seemed to have all the time in the world for us and our questions.
Good food too - although it was on the salty side for me. (I'm a vegetarian and it's something I'm used to, as it seems to be tricky for a lot of chefs to get the nice taste without tons of salt. *smiles*)
My DH however, enjoyed every last bite of his (more traditional) food. And the apple pie was deeeelicious!

The hotel wasn't as close to the sea as I was lead to believe, and it's a rather steep hill (don't wear high heels unless you're a brilliant balance artist) but it's a very pleasant walk so it's no big deal. Also - there's a lot to see near by. The statue of Fritiof Nilsson Piraten for one. And don't miss Buhre's and their fab smoked fish!

I also recommend that you ask for the hotel rooms with the sea view balcony, as they were amazingly nice, big and the balconies are a great addition to them. Just be aware that the dividers between the balconies doesn't stretch all the way between them - there are gaps so you won't be as secluded as you might like.

Anyhow - all in all, I liked this place a lot and I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

It's too expensive. We paid 130 euro for one night in the smallest room I've ever stayed in. There was hardly any room for our suitcase and the shower was so small that the shower curtain clung to your body when taking a shower. Our bathroom wasn't properly cleaned either: the wall next to the toilet had a spray-stain all over it from something liquid and orange. Might it be pee? The hotel cleaned it after we talked to the reception, but still... And the little free tube of body lotion was half-empty, i.e. used by some other guest before us.

Although the beds were comfortable, we were awoken at 7 am because of a truck loading off some goods right outside our window. So... This stay was unfortunately not so relaxing. Nor clean.

Too expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Fnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ida Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kivik
8.7 mi away
Karlaby Kro
Karlaby Kro
#1 of 1 in Karlaby
127 reviews
23.3 mi away
Ystad Saltsjobad
Ystad Saltsjobad
#2 of 6 in Ystad
3,938 reviews
23.1 mi away
Villa Strandvagen
Villa Strandvagen
#1 of 6 in Ystad
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Ahus Resort
Ahus Resort
#3 of 3 in Ahus
5 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Continental Ystad Du Sud
23.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Anno 1937
Best Western Hotel Anno 1937
#5 of 7 in Kristianstad
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiviks Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiviks Hotell

Address: Moriabacken, Kivik, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Kivik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kivik
Price Range: £145 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kiviks Hotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kiviks Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing