We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded is the right word.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mangawhai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mill Ridge Secluded Cottages
Ranked #5 of 5 Mangawhai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Mill Ridge Secluded Cottages. Alison Cox, our hostess, was friendly and left us a superlative breakfast. The cottage was very clean, comfortable.and well equipped. Alison suggested things that we might like to do, including borrowing DVDs and CDs from her collection. The cottages are situated in rolling countryside with magnificent views in all directions. There was a pond next to our cottage and we were able to watch the birds and bats gather in the evening. We had difficulty finding the cottages as our travel agent had not given us a map. This is not a place that is easy to find without or a map.
I would not hesitate to recommend these cottages.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ollie078, Owner at Mill Ridge Secluded Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Hi Lorna B, thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Mill Ridge. We love sharing our little piece of paradise. As for finding us - it is really quite easy. There is a map with directions on our website which can be printed off (click on the Location navigation button). We haven't lost any guests yet! Best wishes, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

The very best New Zealand has to offer. A superb facility - as name suggest a secluded cottage with everything you will need - especially if you like cooking for yourself. The view is superb and Alison is extremely helpful on what to do and what to see. rooms are serviced have sink kitchenette and lots of plates etc and pans for cooking, bbq as well. One tip it does get very dark here - but even a torch is available in the room. sports and big rooms as well.
Cottage was immaculate and clean with sky
Check out the cliff walk the views are amazing - even on evercast days.
This was one of the best places we stayed in New Zealand

Room Tip: Both cottages vailable are separate from each other and allow you to keep to yourself if you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great weekend at Mill Ridge with friends. Each had a cottage and was great to have such a quite small place basically to ourselves. Alison was a fantastic host and the cottages are incredibly well maintained and have everything you need.

Abosolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better holiday accommodation for some rest and relaxation during our week of holiday at magical Mangawhai.

The Fale Cottage has great views of farmland and the harbour. It is private, spacious, nicely decorated, well equipped and immaculately clean. We also enjoyed Alison's DVD and CD collection, the Sky Cable TV and free wi-fi (handy for checking out surf conditions). It was certainly comfortable and it felt like 'home' away from home.

Alison is a very welcoming and attentive host. Her dog, Millie is also very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraceSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Mangawhai has grown tons since we were last there and finding a place over the height of Christmas season seemed a tad unlikely but I emailed Alison the owner and she responded late at night to come along. Her place is quite placid, with a pond out front and rolling hills. The stars when we were there were spectacular and you could hear the roar of the ocean off in the distance. Her kitchen is the best equipped we found in all our long journey and the decor is very handsome and beach cottage like, but clean and it even had a Scrabble board and a deck of cards. There's a separate bedroom and living room and a larger sized fridge than most of the places we stayed. It was a good idea to have brought in groceries as there is only a smaller store in the area and eating out was expensive.

There are many beaches and hikes to explore in the area and some of the nicest beaches we found in all of New Zealand this is saying alot since we explored too many to count.

Her compendium of information in the room was excellent and she certainly knows the area. She was kind enough to let us stay late as we were flying out of the country and super friendly. We left her our books and sun creme since they are so costly over there.

Seems like a place best suited for couples than families with children but I guess it depends what your focus is. There is horseback riding, fishing, golf, hiking, winery tours, and lots to do in the area and plenty of Auckland people have weekend homes in the area as it's only 90 minutes to the city on the motorway. There's a lively Saturday Market that had live music when we were there and plenty of nice places to hike and surf.

Room Tip: I think she only rents out two cottages that stand side by side I don't think one has an advanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4oystercatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

As a retired couple we like comfort and a quiet place to stay and that is what we found at the Mill Ridge Secluded Cottages.
And Alison went out of her way to make our stay a plesant one.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Mill Ridge has beautiful little cottages, very well maintained with modern and immaculately clean kitchen and bathroom. Beautiful setting with nice wee lake and great views over rolling farmland and out to the harbour.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank ReubenGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangawhai hotels
4.7 mi away
Mangawhai Retreat Apartments
2.2 mi away
Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
Mangawhai Lodge-a room with a view
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mangawhai Chalets
Mangawhai Chalets
#1 of 5 in Mangawhai
44 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tall Trees B&B
Tall Trees B&B
#4 of 8 in Mangawhai
8 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tudor Oaks Motel
Tudor Oaks Motel
#1 of 1 in Mangawhai
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Ridge Secluded Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Ridge Secluded Cottages

Address: 2188 Cove Road, Mangawhai 0540, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangawhai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mangawhai
Price Range: £87 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful, private and perfect! Quality self-catering 1 bedroom garden cottages with panoramic water/rural views from every room. FREE wireless internet access, SKY satellite TV, DVD & CD players, electric blankets, heated towels, hairdryers, bathrobes, own BBQs and full laundry facilities on site. Continental breakfasts on request (first one is complimentary). Cottages are serviced daily with environmentally-safe products. Recycling facilities provided. Located in Mangawhai, a popular east coast beach resort, and just 5 minutes drive to beaches, golf, shops and cafes. Mangawhai is located mid-way Auckland and Whangarei on the Twin Coast Discovery Highway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing