We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burythorpe House(Burythorpe)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge York Hull Road(York)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$161
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$159
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
US$186
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$173
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
B+B York(York)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
171
13
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
13
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspot of teafour poster bedon arrivalfruit cakeclaxton hall cottagehome made cakesrelaxed staywonderful roomvisiting yorkplenty of storage spacefamily weddingminute drivespacious roomfull english breakfastfeel very welcomerecommend staying herebreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently stayed from Thursday 17th April 2014 to Monday 21st April 2014 to sight see around York and honestly Claxton Hall Cottage B&B is one of the BEST B&B's we have ever stayed in. Carol welcomes you with tea and cake which is very welcome after a long drive for us to get to York. We had booked a four poster room, and it was gorgeous, with lovely views over the countryside. We had a downstairs room too which was a plus for me as I have a bad back. (didn't request this, just happened)
The B&B is truly a gorgeous little find. So well presented, clean, tidy and very welcoming. Carol has a wealth of knowledge about the area, where the best places are to eat, how to get to places by the best route etc.. Nothing was too much trouble for Carol, always on hand to ask a question, but lets you come and go as you please. Her cooked breakfast in the mornings is the biggest I have ever been served from a B&B. Cooked fresh when you are seated in the breakfast room and will really set you up for a full day out and about.
York is about 10 minutes drive from the B&B, the park and ride is really the best way to get into the city. £2.70 return as opposed to £16.00 for 5 hours parking using the town car parks.
Would highly recommend the Blacksmith Arms pub in Flaxton for meals. Gets very busy, so probably an idea to book, but exceptional food, home cooked to order and very generous portions. The restaurant Tykes, at the Golf Club too was a really nice place to eat. Again good food and cooked fresh to order. There are plenty of places to eat along A64, a curry place, a Toby Carvery, an American Diner, a fish and chip restaurant, but we didn't get to try them all. Reports are good for them, but if you want fantastic food, then the little village pubs etc. that Carol knows of are worth a visit.
You will not be disappointed if you book and stay with Carol. This really is a truly exceptional B&B and all her little touches are so thoughtful and welcome. We really didn't want to leave when we had too, but we will definitely be back.
BOOK Claxton Hall Cottage B&B, you won't regret it and will want to keep coming back after you have experienced it.
Thank you for making our break such a memorable one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed for one night but what a pleasure it was. This excellent b&b is within easy reach of York and even easier reach of Yorks first class park and ride. The accommodation is exceptionally clean throughout, very comfortably furnished with a very pleasant and cosy breakfast room where the breakfast was excellent. We received tea and cake on arrival as promised and what a nice touch. Rooms are very comfortable and clean and ours had excellent views over open country. Carol, the owner, could not have been more pleasant and helpful.
Highly recommended We look forward to a future visit, many thanks Pam and Bob

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here three times now and have never been disappointed by the service
We are always welcomed with a cup of tea and a slice of cake.
The rooms are always kept clean and tidy with a tea or coffee making facilities.
York City is a stones throw from the hotel with is very convenient.
The breakfast room is cosy and the food provided is ample and very delicious.
Overall I would recommend claxton hall cottage for a stay in York, it's not the cheapest B&B but it's is very luxurious and friendly.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay. Located in a room over looking the garden. Four poster bed. Host was welcoming. Breakfast was perfect. Caters for veggies. Good insight into places to visit and where to park, which was useful local information. Thanks for our stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a two night stay while visiting York. Very relaxing. Mrs Brough has the gift of being friendly, welcoming, relaxed and hospitable, without being in anyway intrusive. Room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast excellent, and not served too early! Always a bonus when a B&B does not treat guests like troublesome children to be issued with petty instructions about how to use the premises!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveWoodgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews