We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best b&b Hotel in Altinkum...”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Altinkum
Donny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best b&b Hotel in Altinkum...”
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Our tenth time to the resort of Altinkum and the 1st time in the Horizon. (we only wished we found this on our 1st visit).
Stayed in Room 317. This or 316 been the best rooms and position in the hotel.
Other members stayed in 315 and 114.

Initial welcome at 4am was warm and friendly. Thanks Richard and Ryan...

Room .3 person was very spacious although the 2 person were a little tight. but what more do you need Rear rooms (we did not get one) had poor view overlooking a scabby hotel corridor.
Fridge in rooms stocked up with drinks. (payable) Exactly the same price as at the bar so dont feel that you may get ripped off you wont.
Towels changed every day.
Room cleaned every day.
Hot water was always available at shower times.
TV in room with BBC news.

Breakfast 8-10. Nice clean internal eating area wit typical turkish breakfast, tea and coffee. No soft drinks or water though for the kids. Available at the bar but you have to pay. Overall good.

Reception area and bar. Lovely and clean well looked after. Immaculate pool table (payable)
Drinks are as you would pay in the main bars in town nothing more.

Pool and sunbeds. Small pool and limited sunbed area. What more do you need. A quick jump in to cool down and back on the bed for some rays.

Terrace. Lovely and cool comfortable area great for meeting up prior your night out.

Safe and air con (payable). Asall hotels.

Money exchange do it here as its the same as outside.

Staff. Ryan (Mehmet) Thanks for your hospitality you were a star.
The breakfast boy. A little training required. Constantly trying to clear your plate or cup whilst you are in the middle of eating.
Reception. Polite and friendly although require to smile a little more.Daughter very polite and helpful and always smiled.
For once we did not have any pain in the .... bothering us all day everyday.

Owners .Polite and never ignorant like the reviews I have read. I did ask if they had seen the reviews and the polite reply I received was that they did not claim to be a 4 star hotel but they try their best to achieve the star they are. Absolutely agree.

Bag search. Never once were we asked to open our bags. But we never abused any situation rules are rules. If the hotel do not want outside food entering then so be it. This then keeps any ants, rodents etc out and the hotel stays immaculate.

Overall we have had a great stay and found the hotel to be proffesional in all aspects.
Well done Horizon

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoncasterRoverOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    38
    24
    12
    26
See reviews for
42
54
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2009

was not impressed the owner was rude. my fridge in room was broken she lied to rep and said it was fixed. so we had no cold drinks in room. could not bring food or drink in from outside. pool was not suitable for kids way to small of an area to have a pool. childrens paddling pool was on the other side (deep end). didnt like the staff apart from one guy. cant remeber his name. the area it self is lovely and most people are friendly. especaily the staff at funda!!! they are great. the hotel smelt. it was dirty, the bathroom was a hazard for young children or elderly. they coukd easily trip or slip. rooms not a good size. the breakfast was not great. i know they will serve turkish breakfast but they should at least provide cereal for the kids and orange juicve or water. the only drinks on offer was tea and coffe dnt knw any kids that would like that for breakfast. i would say if you are going with children and your budget is low please still DO NOT go there. you will be dissapointed. they dont understand that children will make mess. will need to go toilet after coming out of the pool and you cant always get a child dried before taking them back inside to use the toilet. i loved the area and would go back. not to that hotel though. Also they over charge you on drinkks and snacks that you can get at the shop across the road for half the price. air con you have to pay for. its a joke. such a shame. oh and they tell you you to put your used toilet paper in a waste bin. gross. 2/10.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didim254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Altinkum hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Went for a 5 day break with daughter of 10 yrs. When we arrived the room was clean until we pushed the beds together and found mounds of dust and dirt! In the morning, starving, we went to breakfast - typical turkish breakfast but very unchild friendly, no cereal and only had fruit one of the days. If you can suffer the gaunlet of turkish hands the beach front is lively with loads of bars.
The owners, with the exception of the "bar/pool/porter were miserable and really found it too hard to assist in any of your needs.
We were supposed to have a fridge but with too many people complaining at reception we couldnt be bothered to complain ourselves.
Got a nice tan though!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibnobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Ok this hotel is hardly the Ritz but its is a little gem in the heart of Altinkum. It is centrally located with only a 2 minute walk to the beach. All the resort ammenities are merely a stones throw away also. The staff are welcoming and very helpful and accomodating to our every need. Breakfast, although a little unusual was a typical Turkish breakfast of tomato, olives, cucumber, bread, cheeses, watermelon etc and was always fresh produce.
The rooms although a little small served us well for the week and were always clean and tidy each day we returned. At the end of the day you get what you pay for. But in comparison to some of the hotel establishments I witnessed in the area, this hotel seemed comparitavly luxiourious! The pool was very small, athough this didn't really matter due to the close proximity to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rstorr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Its true you always get what you pay for, The Horizon is a great family run hotel, close to the beach and all the action, service is great and friendly, whist the rooms are basic they are clean (bearing in mind you have a bin for waste paper next to the loo).

The town has a friendly feel to it, hasnt been completely taken over by the whole "Brits abroad" thing, evening are for walking along the sea frount, and chilling out over a meal and a drink or two. im sure if you wanted to you can find a possy of larger louts, but on the whole its a more relaxed town.

its a great base for seeing some history, getting a tan, and forgetting about the real world.

Getting back to the hotel, we stayed for 7 days, would recommed you hire the air con at £25 its well worth it, that 1st night is a killer without it. a safe box in reception is also a must at £10, you can also request a late check out on depature day for £10.

Breakfast is a basic turkish continatal; Bread, jams etc, melon, boiled egg, fruits and coffee/tea dont expect a full english fry up, but by day 3 you will be glad that its simple. if your brave many of the bars and restaurants off a fry up!

Bar snacks are also basic, but for the days where you just whanna chill by the pool, a omlette goes down well.

All the staff are helpfull, some of the reviews mention the "family" yes there there and can come accross as narky, but to be honist, its more moving wall paper than anything else. a bit of drama in the afternoon, working out what they are saying to each other.

Dont expect 5 star, go with an open mind and remember, you get what you pay for..... hope you have a great time as we did........... xx

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burtonontrent
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday and stayed in Hotel Horizen , our 1st time in this Hotel. the staff were brilliant especially Richard on reception and not forgetting Allil. The owner was a little off putting though!! The Hotel is in a brilliant location only a short walk to beach, shops and bars.Our room was 210 and facing the road and was very noisy we needed ear plugs to get any sleep.The hotel is very clean we had the room cleaned every day, the breakfast and snacks were ok but most of the time we ate out.
We would stay in this hotel again ,because of the location and of course the brilliant Richard and Alill.Thanks xx

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candkburtonontrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altinkum, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I have just stayed in this hotel for a week and i have nothink bad to say about the place at all. It is so close to everythink the beach ,dolphin square my fav bar the swan i could it from my balcony and the sea(room 216) best room really big and clean and they room was cleaned every day and who ever said about cold showers whatever there was 4 of us in one room and with us having shower after each other and never once did one of us have a cold shower. You have not aloud to being food or drink into the hotel but you can buy it in there. If your looking for a hotel close to everythink horizon its fantastic and dont listen to the other about the owner they are great and the staff ie hailli (ali) he great so funny.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swangirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altinkum hotels
0.1 mi away
Mutlu Apartments
Mutlu Apartments
#8 of 30 in Altinkum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altinersan Hotel
Altinersan Hotel
#6 of 30 in Altinkum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#9 of 30 in Altinkum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Temple Hotel
Temple Hotel
#21 of 30 in Altinkum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#4 of 30 in Altinkum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tuntas Beach Hotel Altinkum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Ataturk Bulvari No 1, Altinkum, Didim 09270, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim > Altinkum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Altinkum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Altinkum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing