We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultan Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sultan Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Altinkum B&B and Inns
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Apartments were basic but clean. Cleaners came everyday. When I booked I asked for a room around the back of the building - not facing the pool. On arrival, our room was on the first floor, bang opposite the pool, resulting in every night noise from people having drinks around the pool area until silly o'clock in the morning. We asked one of the reception staff to be moved and they did oblige and moved us to the 3rd floor around the back, which was much better and quieter, resulting in better nights sleep. As June G said in her review the pool area was a no goer if you were up after 7am!! People with their own apartments from outside the Sultan were sat by the pool drinking until the early hours and putting their towels on the beds on their way back to their own apartments, resulting in all the beds being taken. Not fair to the people who have paid to stay in there. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the apartments are in a very good location, close by to the sea front, marina shops and restaurants. We wouldn't rush to go back, but you do get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the back if you plan on getting some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minihaha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    18
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Didim
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is the kind of place to use as a base. Not far from a beach, not far from Altinkum town centre, not far from harbour, but far enough to be quiet when you need to sleep. There are few restrictions, guests have a lot of leeway but I have seen staff effectively defuse bad situations created by customers (not often!). Staff really do welcome you as friends, and the many repeat customers are welcomed as family. Turkish families are very touchy-feely and this can lead to confusion from up-tight Brits, but a few words sorts it. The hotel is thoroughly cleaned, repaired, redecorated as needed, during the off-season. The daily cleaners do a good job but it's difficult if overenthusiastic visitors trash their rooms and newcomers find some problems they have left. Ali, or Bayram, or the reception guys are so eager to help it's almost unbelievable. This hotel is a real home away from home.

Room Tip: rooms on south side overlook pool, get more sun, noisier in evenings from people having fun near poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paraphilosopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Apartments are very basic, but you get what you pay for. They are cleaned and bins emptied every day, the cleaners are very helpful. Water was cold nearly every night had about 3 hot showers in 14 days. These apartments are about 20 minutes away from town centre, but a dolmus can be caught on front for 2 lira, be careful nearly alwaysl full so have to stand, good experience. Our room was definitely not one in brochure was way to small. Our room was next to stairs and was very noisy in night about 1 o'clock when children where stamping on stairs and the children decide to play on emergency fire escape and nothing is done, not funny at 2 in morning.
We where never told about any of the special nights they did in the apartments ie: bbq or turkish night.
The pool area is only small so when the people that own their own villas are using it there is no room for the ones that have actually paid for the use of it, I found that these people where treated a lot better than others, also we couldn't take our own food/drinks by pool but they did all of the time, and nothing was said to them. The annoying thing was they put towels on beds and went to beach until late afternoon, meaning no one used beds. So most of our time was spent on beach because we couldnt get near pool. There was no control over bigger boys at pool, their parent's just didn't give a damn, when they where jumping in over and on children with armbands or with rubber rings on, not even a sorry. But didnt like it if your kids splashed them. If you want a bed by pool be prepared to get up at 7 to put towels on beds.
Even though accommodation wasn't much to go mad about, we didn't let it ruin our stay, but will not be returning to these apartments again, however will return to the area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank june g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

On arriving I was a bit worried, the Sultan's reception (curtains etc) did look a bit tired. I needn't have worried, the staff were so friendly and welcoming you instantly forgot about the surroundings. Although we arrived quite late they were prepared to arrange food for us, but after all the travelling we went out for a walk and ate at the Moonshine a few minutes walk from the Sultan which was also very friendly.
The apartments are basic (same everywhere in Turkey) but maid service every day with clean towels and bed linen which I was pleasantly surprised at. If you wan't 5 star surroundings then you need to pay for 5 stars. The Sultan is 2 star rated but is just as good as any 3 star I've stayed in. The bar snacks served all day from full English (with real bacon & sausage) to an Al- a- Carte menu if requested and during evenings. The prices were very reasonable and food very good, cheaper than outside which is normally the reverse. I noticed that the same menu was replicated in every restaurant or bar all over Altinkum all offering the same food but with different prices. Try the traditional Turkish meat balls, this dish is delicious. If you want a bit of home from home go into town and in the back streets near the Dolphin Shopping Centre there is a traditional English fish & chip shop. The fish is amazing, so fresh, they even offer mushy or garden peas. Do take part in the B-B-Q night, it's BRILLIANT, traditional dance show, break dance show and belly dancer. Then a show put on by waiting staff led by Ramazan, this to me was the best show of the evening and was hilarious to watch. Together with a 3 course lovely meal, free drinks for 3 hours and all for 60 turkish lira is NOT TO BE MISSED. I wished we were staying for 2 weeks instead of 10 nights just to see it again.
The staff give you any information you ask whether it be about supermarkets (Migros couple of minutes walk), weekly markets, buses or nightclubs they always have time for you and will help in anyway they can. I holidayed with my friend and 20 year old daughter, we made quite a lot of friends at the Sultan many who have been returning year after year and some even stay twice a year. This just confirms to me the good service you get.
I would like to say that the heart of the Sultan is Bayram and Ramazan and I hope the owner is aware of this, without them I don't think it would be the same. They deserve a big bonus? However, all the staff are great and work so hard don't know how they do it and survive in the heat?
I have visited Turkey five times staying in different areas, from 2 star to 5 star. Whatever the budget at the time I have always found the Turkish people to be friendly, helpful and I have never felt threatened only respected. I WILL return next year and very possibly I will stay at the Sultan again.

Room Tip: All rooms have double glazing so don't think noise is a major issue. If you have small children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 934Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

we went as two families first week of aug 2013 ,four teenagers and one nine year old ,four adults .
the apartments are pretty basic and a little tired (could do with new showers and kitchens) but good amount of space ,one bedroom and large kitchen /dining room/bedroom with two bed settees .
the only appliances in kitchen were a two ring hob and a kettle ,also a fridge but nothing else .
the apartments are clean though ,
the staff are excellent always keen to help ,kind and friendly .
there is a pool table and table tennis free of charge .
the bar is pretty good and not expensive also has a menu for meals ,which they serve all day.
the first week they had a Turkish night which was excellent value ,starter ,bbq and dessert ,plus free bar for 3 hours £20 per adult and £10 per child ,if they have on while youre there I would try it ,it was very good .
the main resort is roughly 20 min walk ,but you can get a dolmus (local bus )for 2 lira each (about 70 p)
the exchange rate is much better there than it is here ,so I would change to much before you go ,and most shops and restaurants will take English pounds and you get a better deal as well as knowing exactly what your spending.
all in all a good holiday ,basic but good value

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliekyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Arrived in the early hours of the morning to find the Sultan accommodation a huge let down, booked the holiday in september 2012 and had looked forward to it for so long the disappointment was hard to stomach. The reception was shabby, curtains hanging off the rails the pool table, ping pong tables all looked as though they had seen better days, but then again there were kids of fellow holiday makers jumping on the furntiure.so i guess the games area stood no chance !!
The rooms themselves once being taken upstairs were ok, the shower cubicle was dirty and needed a good clean, the water was always cold..
The pool and the sunbeds if you could get near them were ok, although people staying in other accommodations were allowed on site to use what you have paid for. Older kids should have been stopped from bombing into the water especially when younger children wearing armbands are already in there. There is no control in the Sultan ..
This is a holiday for a certain breed of individual, one who really does not give a damn !!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 175suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed her end of june for two weeks for the 3rd time and yet again it was fab. All 14 of us had a great time. Every member of staff are fantastic and do their upmost to help even down to the cleaners. Rooms are cleaned everyday and beds changed and clean towels left daily. Ali and bayram do everything they can to make your stay a memorable one. Not forgetting "little emre" he is adorable and will do anything to help..well done again boys for a fab two weeks see u all next year !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leykeisha0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altinkum hotels
0.0 mi away
Altinersan Hotel
Altinersan Hotel
#7 of 29 in Altinkum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#2 of 29 in Altinkum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mutlu Apartments
Mutlu Apartments
#6 of 29 in Altinkum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#8 of 29 in Altinkum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mood Beach Hotel
Mood Beach Hotel
#3 of 29 in Altinkum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tuntas Beach Hotel Altinkum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Apartments

Property: Sultan Apartments
Address: Camlik Mah 569 Sok 6, Altinkum, Didim 09310, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim > Altinkum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Altinkum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sultan Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sultan Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Apartments Altinkum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing