We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our brilliant holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Didim Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Altinkum
Reviewed 6 July 2012

stayed @ this fantastic hotel just a couple of weeks ago 11,6,12 for two weeks with my wife and our 6 yr old boy plus 2 close friends. we were in the main hotel which i could not fault in any way. a ground floor room was allocated to us for our 2 wk stay. it was cleaned spotless and our beds were made up with fresh sheets every day. every member of staff we encountered were very polite and showed professionalism in their jobs weather it was bar or restaurant staff of even the room maid. i thought there was a very good choice for food at meal times. our thomas cook rep david was easilly found if needed. the animation team were very good considdering non of them had recieved any wages for 2 months due to the boss having other bills to pay, however they provided an activity session for kids of all ages for a few hours each day which was free. it gave both my wife and myself time to relax. thomas cook also had a kids club every day for a couple of hours which was also free. as for the idiot sam p, saying plastic re-useable cups around the pool and they're dirty, go ask for a clean one, simples eh .....duhh, of course they're plastic. here's the scenario, hmmm, dozens of bare feet . glass instead of plastic......a very hard tiled area around the pool. has the penny dropped now??., the animation team were all pleasant gettin us to play darts , water polo, boules, beach volley ball, plus some really bizzare in the pool games. they catered for everyone of all ages and nationalities. i will be re-booking this holiday again in 2013 for sure as i could not fault any part of this holiday. i did hear people complaining as there was no english food on offer. if you want english food, go to butlins

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank merlinszzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have just returned from a week at Didim Beach Resort and I can honestly say we had a great time. The hotel itself is lovely, rooms are cleaned every day and there is always something going on.

I can see where some people would be disappointed with the food, but honestly, most all inclusives (except the really high end ones) are exactly the same. There was a lot of choice, plenty of salads, fruit, hot and cold dishes. The best part is the flat breads and pizzas that are made fresh in front of you every lunch and dinner time. For the price we paid for the holiday we could afford to go out a few times to eat locally and we enjoyed a change of scenery. More on local restaurants later.

The food did get a little repetitive, but we still found something most day, grilled meats and salad with rice and various types of mezze were always enjoyable as well as the fresh bread you could cut yourself. There was always pasta and chips for the kids if they felt a bit fussy, and burgers and hot dogs at the snack bar.

Some of the staff can be a bit surly, however, the majority of them are friendly and always stop for a chat, they make the effort to learn your names and make time to come and see how you are. The restaurant staff are not exactly forthcoming, however, this could be due to language barriers and possibly the fact that the hotel is so large and they have so many people to deal with. The bars are all self service so don't expect anyone to come and take your drink orders!

The slides are good fun, there were some accidents, but it's nothing more than you can expect with 50 plus children all trying to go down them at once and not listening to the staff when they tell them not to go down en masse! I don't think it's the responsibility of the staff to make the children behave sensibly, their parents should ensure this, but we all know that some parents just send heir kids off and get drunk around the pool which we witnessed quite a bit, but you can't control other people.

The animations team were amazing, they were on the go from 10am until about midnight every day in the blistering heat and they still smile and get the kids involved in games etc.

If you do fancy going out to eat at all, it's well worth the trip into Altinkum. The dolmus will take you there for 1.75tl each, or you can walk in about 10 mins, tho if you walk, take water as its get HOT. The restaurant we really loved in Altinkum was family door. The service and atmosphere in that place was amazing. We felt part of the family, so much so that we ate there twice! If you do go, order the Testi kebab, not only does it taste beautiful, but they make you dance for your supper! Don't forget to give Baileys, the restaurants dog, a little cuddle, she's adorable! Like most of the restaurants in the town, they offer a free car service that will collect you, bring you to the restaurant and they drop you back afterwards too.

Another good place to eat is the Marina, practically next door, English breakfast for 9tl and a Sunday carvery to die for. The people in the restaurant are brilliant, so friendly and welcoming with a great atmosphere. They do English food as well as Turkish and you will always find something. We went three times in total and they always remembered us....put it on Pauls bill!

We really noticed a jump in the level of service when we left the resort, the Turkish people are wonderful and will go out of their way for you. This doesn't mean the service is terrible in the resort, but it is much better off resort.

In all, we really enojoyed ourselves, no illness and the two kids (12 and 9) loved every minute. We would definitely return to Didim beach. At the end of the day, for the price, the place is great. If you want 5 star plus, you need to pay 5 star prices!!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
11  Thank Nena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I want to book again for next year. Beautiful hotel, Thomas cook kids club every day 1-3pm and parties some evenings. Funfair not too far away, market came once a week to hotel Spoilt for choice with all the food, my favourite was roast beef, mash n gravy. The kids loved the pool and the beach and I loved the sunbeds right on the beach. All the staff seemed friendly enough, I'm not sure I was staying in the same hotel with all the bad comments people have wrote on here because I don't have any complaints !

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Lozenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

Not got a lot to say about this hotel apart from the rooms are poor, the food is awfull, and the entertainment could have been much worse!! Don't waste your money on this hotel, book elsewhere as this would be a holiday from hell.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

we went here on the 16th june me my husand and our four children and my mother, the hotel is absolutley beautiful thats about it , food poisioning, people being tuck in lifts for two hours, rep never to e seen , waiters rude calling us english !!! was awful we was stuck in the elegance it which was like staying in trafford center with its gorgeous deco, would not recommend thiss hotel to anyone the slides are open 10/12 2/4 , the night entertainment is a joke !!! you end up eating out at a local restaurant just to scared to re eat in the hotel after eing ill for 2 full days !! found the cups at thee pool ar are plastic reusuable .... there dirty the only it of fun going on during the day is a stupied song they stand round pool and ing every few hours and water polo or darts for ADULTS!!! i paid way above for this holiday and my children didnt enjoy it one it ... complete crap DO NOT BOOK FOR THIS HOTEL ,i really went here with a open mind i ook over a year ago and did actually think fussy people ... but no every bad comment is bang on right

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is not 5* hotels, this 3*, We have got the room in the new building. When you go in it is very nice but when we went in the room was absolutely rubbish.Water in bathroom,water in balcony, tiny room,we get an extra bed for our little baby.Dust everywhere.We clean the room and then we decided to do an complain and to change the room. Was terrible.We went back to the reception and they give us a bigger room but same problem. Dirty, dusty room.We clean this room and we spend one of the worst holiday that we had.

Room Tip: Try to see the room first before to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catalin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We didn't stay here but we did stay at the hotel over the road and did explore the Didim Beach resort. We were advised by other holiday makers (from that hotel) and out Rep that this Hotel was very poor and one of the most complained about Hotels in Northern Turkey for Thomson. Many holiday Makers from UK were transferred to our Hotel (which was rubbish - see separate review - Garden of Sun) because of the food at this hotel. Apparently complains of poor quality build etc. Whe we walked around it we liked the size of the pools and the terraces looked really nice. Obviously we didn't see the rooms but stories we heard about Food was enough to put us off as we were considering changing hotel as ours was so bad!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
2  Thank 86DJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altinkum
1.6 mi away
Tuntas Beach Hotel Altinkum
3.7 mi away
Venosa Beach Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Aurum Didyma Spa & Beach Resort Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#3 of 30 in Altinkum
481 reviews
1.7 mi away
Garden of Sun Hotel
Garden of Sun Hotel
#1 of 30 in Altinkum
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didim Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didim Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Parlamenterler Yolu 3, Altinkum, Didim, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim > Altinkum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Altinkum
Price Range: £38 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Didim Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Didim Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didim Beach Hotel Altinkum
Didim Beach Resort And Spa
Didim Beach Turkey
Didim Beach Hotel Turkey
Hotel Didim Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing