We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“orchideia cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchidea Hotel

Orchidea Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Altinkum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchidea Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Altinkum
A TripAdvisor Member
“orchideia cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2006

having stayed at the orchedia me and my partner enjoyed our stay., we booked a last minute b&b deal. the hotel may not be a 5 star hotel but it was very clean and staff were very freindly especially ali who never seemed to sleep and was always full of life. Food isn't the best would go self catering next time, as it is cheap to eat out this is really the best option wherever you stay. The hotel is a cheap holiday so you get what you pay for it is basic but the rooms are cleaned every day, unlike what some people may want you to believe, the pool is clean. if you stay in altinkum you will not be dissapointed it a wonderful resort , Make sure you get an airconditioned room it will set you back about £30 per week but belive me it is well worth every penny. The first day or 2 you will get hassle of everybody to come into their shops or resturants but just a polite later and they dont bother you any more only just to say hello. The nightlife in great full of fun no fights all they want to do is enterain you . already booking my next holiday for october 2006. Remember you will only sleep in your room there is to much to do you wont have time to enjoy the colour of the curtains or if the room is painted to your taste. would recommend for first timers or if after a cheap and very cheerful stay in altinkum

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    1
    4
    11
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
GB
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2006

Here goes:- We went to Altinkum in Sept 2005 with the primary view to buying a property, which we succesfully did, however the place we stayed at was a little if not largely under par to say the least:- The Orchidea.
Firstly we had booked to be self catering and ended up with a twin room out of the bluddy seventies. It was just about clean enough, the bed sheets wouldn't cover a midget and we weren't even told the food was included, which with hindsight was probably a good thing and the pool and surrounding area left a little to be desired to say the least. Only lazy people would sit around there, because it was little more than 10 minutes to the beach which was beautiful!
Its lucky we're not too fussy about were we base ourselves when on holiday. Oh and the guy on reception, when we arrived, asked if we would like air conditioning. I asked how much extra it would be. He said £5/day. We declined only to find we already had a room with a/c and all I had to do was turn the external switch to 'ON' to use it. So if you're going, bear THAT in mind!!!
Finally you're better off serving yourself in the pool bar, the kids that run it haven't got a clue!!

Helpful?
2 Thank MlCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Altinkum hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2005

Ten of us girls had a hen week here in June last year and although the hotel wasn't as plush as we would have liked, it was very cheap and the staff were very cheerful! Even when we ventured in during the early hours of the morning they were more than happy to make us sandwiches. The rooms were clean and tidy and we had plenty of room, wardrobe and drawer space. For what we paid we didn't expect too much. Breakfast was okay but by day 6 we were a bit tired of hard boiled eggs and cucumber! The hotel served its purpose - somewhere very cheap to sleep and wash in relative comfort and being central to the pubs, restaurants and beach - which is what we all wanted. Not a hotel to lounge around in but it definitely served its purpose for us. I would recommend this hotel to any group of ravers but would definitely not want to bring my children here as the pool and garden area is pretty scruffy.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2005

We stayed there for one night and that was enough it is being advertised as a three star but only has two stars I would only put this one as a one star.

We arrived late in the evening and were met by nothing more than young students, the rooms were very very basic and not very clean, the plumbing left something to be desired, and from what we heard from other guests the food was terrible, we met many people who were booked into this hotel but were evetually moved after complaining. We were told that they are trying to improve the hotel, but I would not hold my breath

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2005

The two star rating plaque appearing on the outside wall was very generous to say the least. Bed linen and towels were cleaned "every three days". The sheets did not fit the bed and invariably the linen and towels were stained, had fraying edges and holes! The food was the same every day and there were not any cold drinks available for breakfast. The cleaning of the bedrooms consisted of a change of linen (but only on every third day) and an empyting of a rubbish bin. The toilet was not cleaned once during our two week stay, as we were both ill with diarrhea and vomitting, so this was very easy to deduce! The food and drink within the hotel was over priced and not as they described " reasonable ". We had stayed four days before discovering hot water, hot water was rare and we were told that by 7pm daily all the hot water created by the solar panels had been used. If you have children and was given this hotel to stay in you would be appauled at the lack of entertainment available for the younger client.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2004

Oh dear, this place was terrible. Although it was cheap, you should expect certain standards. Breakfast was basically bread & jam, with hot discloured water masquerading as tea !
The room was very dated whilst the water supply was very patchy. Sometimes had difficulty flushing the loo until the water tank re-filled !
Outside was no better, the pool area was surrounding by waste ground & in one corner was a scrapyard with old chairs & loungers.
Loved Altinkum as a place, great beaches & restaurant's, but avoid this hotel at all cost's.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2004

I was never in a hotel like this.... One choice of a hot meal each night which was poor to say the least . You could not get near the pool with the antics of the young staff messing about around it trying to impress the young girls ! My favourite part of this hotel was walking out the door to go home ... i wouldnt go back if I got it for nothing !!!

Helpful?
6 Thank David_M298006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Altinkum hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nazar
Hotel Nazar
#8 of 29 in Altinkum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altinersan Hotel
Altinersan Hotel
#6 of 29 in Altinkum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#3 of 29 in Altinkum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tuntas Beach Hotel Altinkum
1.0 mi away
Mood Beach Hotel
Mood Beach Hotel
#2 of 29 in Altinkum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mutlu Apartments
Mutlu Apartments
#7 of 29 in Altinkum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchidea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchidea Hotel

Property: Orchidea Hotel
Address: CamlIk Mh.Gokduman Cd. No:33, Altinkum, Didim 09270, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim > Altinkum
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Altinkum
Hotel Class:2 star — Orchidea Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
Orchidea Hotel Altinkum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing