We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A five-star system reboot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Farm at San Benito
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lipa City
Certificate of Excellence
Metro Manila
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A five-star system reboot”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I find myself sitting in one of the benches under the glorious mango tree, its branches widely outstretched, coiled with cascading tendrils of vine. I relish the cool breeze and the holy hush of verdant scenery and catch myself wondering why it took me this long to return. I lament my overindulgence during the holiday season and look forward to giving my system a reboot, here at what is considered to be one of the top wellness sanctuaries in Asia—The Farm at San Benito.

Appropriately, my schedule begins with colema. Out with the old, in with the new. I expect it to be a breeze; after all, I have done the five-day detox a couple of years ago, with alternate days of colema and colonics. Alas, my heavy meal the previous night takes its toll. I have gas pains all over. When the procedure is over, my knees feel like jelly. The therapist gives me four tablets of bioplasma (to be dissolved under the tongue for optimal absorption) to replenish the nutrients that were flushed out during the procedure. Slowly, I make my way back to the clinic. I take the warm ginger lemon tea given me and settle on a sofa with a hot compress on my belly. Cocooned in this warmth, I rest with the thought that I am being good to my body.

I want to allow my digestive tracts to rest some more (and prime my appetite for a good meal) so instead of having my lunch at the usual hour, I participate in a tai chi class. An elderly French couple is already at the amphitheater. I take my place in one of the mats and try to keep up. Alicia Keys’s New York is in the playlist. The instructor makes sure we keep up with the beat. After 45 minutes, I am sweating, not out of breath but definitely feeling my quads and hamstrings. I relish the final stretches.

I didn’t know exactly what to expect from food labeled as raw, except perhaps for the usual salads and fresh fruits. Unknown to me, I was going to have one of the best meals of my life, raw or otherwise. But after only a spoonful of corn, ginger and lemongrass soup, I know I am in for something special. The soup is richly flavored, not too thick but smooth and impeccably spiced.

The jicama slaw is garden fresh, punctured by the lovely texture and subtle sweet and heat of the spicy macadamia.

I order the entrée sampler. The use of fresh coconut meat instead of the usual heart of palm put the spring back in spring rolls—drizzled with sweet chilli sauce, it was a perky bundle. I unwrap the tamales to find the staple of almost every meal, rice, of the sticky variety, steam-softened and subtly seasoned, hitting all the buttons that define comfort food.

Then finally, dessert is served. I thought I could no longer manage but I underestimate this chocolate (sundae) on chocolate (chip ice cream) combination, lavishly strewn with candied nuts and mango bits. I take one spoonful after another, until I realize that I have nothing left to take a photo of but a chocolate-streaked dessert glass.

The next day, I make plans to use the rebounder at the Jungle Gym but opt to relish the little time I have left in my lovely Garden Villa. In bed, I disappear completely under the sheets, hearing only a hush of the fountain from my very own garden as I drift back to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank siwanderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    110
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
63
133
67
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Everything was perfect, except i caught the MD who did my Live blood analysis smoking in one of the palmera rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lanilagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

On my birthday this year, I decided to forgo all the usual overeating, overindulgece so often associated with the ocassion & treat myself to a body& soul cleansing health retreat at The Farm. And boy am I glad I did so! After a 7D/6N detox programme, I came away 2 kilos lighter but more importantly, i gained a new consciousness towards my overall Wellness. This was just what I needed to restart my ambition of a healthful lifestyle!
Big thank you to Jennifer & all the staff of the estate. Each& everyone of you have been absolutely perfect. Oh so accommodating& attentive to your guests every need but yet remaining completely unintrusive & unimposing. Special mention to Cleo- you are a darling for making an otherwise awkward experience totally relaxed& even enjoyable! You are a gem! Also, our thanks to the lovely therapists at The Spa. Your various treatments were truly unforgettable & we are so looking forward to your pampering again next year! My partner& I would like to say a big thank you to everyone at The Farm once more& we look forward to visiting you again next year!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msjaniceang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lipa City, Lipa, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I'm a frequent visitor of this not so secret get- away in the heart of Lipa. Recalling my first time here, i would drop my jaw to a place I thought resembles those in Bali. Serene. That's the first word you could have in mind. There are many other things that The farm offers,Their world class holistic approach in healing, from their famous raw, organic vegan cuisine to the most elaborate procedure of cleansing both the body and mind. Going back to your hectic, stressful, not to say toxic lifestyle as a totally new person from The Farm's fantastic fusion of physical and mind healing would clear you up as to say a new you. Cheers!! A wonderful and exceptional group of people will take care of you and you'll forget that you are just about 2 hours away to Manila. How about that?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gabby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Tried the hilot haplos treatment - oooo, excellent! Ask for Evelyn. Her strokes are not like the usual, run-off-the mill type. She concentrated on the tight areas on my neck, shoulder, lower back. This treatment starts off with a scrub (chocolate/ cocoa base), a warm soak in an outdoor tub filled with pure coconut milk (special tea served), and next is massage proper. Pricey at P8000 ++ ($200) for a single treatment, but you will not regret it.

Venue was tranquil with a lot of scenic spots where you can write on your journal or continue typing away on yyour laptop for that next best-selling novel. Lots of greens around, upscale interior, organic / fresh / healthy food served at their Alive Restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthStarManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband and I went to The Farm for some badly-needed R&R. It took us only 1.5 hours to get to the place from Manila and since they provided a map, it was a breeze. There was just a point, very near The Farm, where I was wondering if we were going to the right place because the route was carved right in the middle of the forest. I was pleasantly surprised when we entered their gates. This extraordinarily serene and beautiful place really IS in the middle of the forest. The grounds are amazing! With ducks, peacocks and goats freely roaming amidst the beautiful landscaping.

We were given welcome drinks of pure coconut water. Since we got there during afternoon tea, we were also able to have some merienda treats like pichi-pichi, fruitcake-like bread and coffee. After snacks, we were accompanied to our Sulu Terrace hut.

The Sulu Terrace is the least expensive of their accommodations. It's a single-detached hut that provides ample privacy from your "neighbors". The room is on the 2nd floor. They provide each hut with 2 twin beds. If you're a couple like us, you can just combine the 2 beds together into a queen-sized bed. The room smells really nice and the sheets are very clean. They only provide 1 goose down pillow per guest, though, and the rest are throw pillows you wouldn't really use as sleeping pillows. The room also has a split-type air conditioner and you can adjust the thermostat. They provide an electric kettle, hair dryer, safe, water and free "Pito-pito" tea.

The downside to the Sulu Terrace is that the bathroom is outside the room on the ground floor. The weather was pretty good during our stay but if it were raining, it would have been a problem and such a hassle going to the bathroom (even though they were providing umbrellas). Anyway, the bathroom is done in rustic style. They used limestones instead of tiles. The problem with limestones is that they're prone to molds. Some parts of the bathroom already have molds so I think they need to clean that up (especially since molds are harmful to the respiratory system.). They provided shampoo, conditioner, oil and organic salt scrub.

Their restaurant is called "Alive" and they only serve organic, vegan dishes. For the record, my husband and I are meat-lovers. BUT not once did we miss meat because the food was really delicious! I was surprised that vegan dishes could fill us up, especially with my husband's appetite. If I have a chef who can cook dishes like that, I wouldn't mind going vegetarian. I especially loved the breakfast. :)

The place is really, really beautiful. We loved walking around, taking photos, reflecting and just really exploring the place. It was really serene and peaceful -- perfect for the soul. We swam in the South Pool and it was quite something else to swim in a pool with the forest right there in front of you. There was also a secluded waterfall tucked in a quiet little corner and it was all to ourselves for half the day.

The Farm also provides free yoga and exercise activities, as well as floral arrangement class and tours on how to make virgin coconut oil and soap. My husband and I also had a massage and a medical treatment. The customer service is the best I've ever experienced. Everyone was really helpful, courteous and friendly. I definitely will come back here again.

(The place, unfortunately, is really NOT FOR KIDS, even though they do allow kids. I saw some kids walking around, looking really bored.)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arriadne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed at the Farm few months ago by strong recommendation from my friend who stays Manila.
It was a brilliantly healthy experience that I've never had before, a paradise where you can rejuvenate your body and soul thoroughly!
The farm serves vegan food only, all the foods are made from the fresh veggies & coconuts from the resort farm itself. I myself is not a vegan but it was a pleasant experience to become a vegan for few days at the Farm with the healthy tasty vegan foods, I even seriously considered to become a vegan! (sadly it didn't work tho)
Have a healthiest staying at the Farm everyone :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chloepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa City
39.5 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Lian
196 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Suites at Mount Malarayat
26.4 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Corona de Lipa
Hotel La Corona de Lipa
#4 of 7 in Lipa City
90 reviews
17.0 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
567 reviews
44.5 mi away
Pico Sands Hotel
Pico Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Nasugbu
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farm at San Benito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm at San Benito

Property: The Farm at San Benito
Address: 119 Barangay Tipakan, Lipa City, Luzon 4217, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Lipa City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lipa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Farm at San Benito 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the Philippines’ Batangas hinterland, The Farm is likened to health nirvana. Choose between pool, garden or jungle-style accommodation before sampling our fresh, award-winning gourmet menu.Practice sunrise/sunset salutations at our lakeside amphitheatre or hit our well-equipped ‘jungle gym’. Our specialists administer complementary and integrative medical therapy within a serene environment and first-class facilities.We don’t do boot camps or subscribe to deprivation. Retreat to The Farm for nourishment and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Farm at San Benito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farm At San Benito Hotel Lipa City
Farm At San Benito Batangas
The Farm At San Benito Lipa City, Philippines - Batangas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing