We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The farm at its worst” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Farm at San Benito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Farm at San Benito
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lipa City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The farm at its worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Hoping to find peace and holistic experience for a vacation getaway, specially for our MOM who is celebrating her birthday ,however, it ended as an excruciating dilemma. Me and my sister came from different parts of the world just to have this day special for our mother but we received a very frustrating and exhausting day instead. Firstly, the person on the other side of the phone accepting booking was not very friendly at all (try going different countries and you'll experience what we call customer service). Secondly, no confirmation was given on the phone but promised to send it via email. Third, they manage to get phone details but didn't even give sms for the confirmation so people on tour could be able to check the details. Fourth, the appointment time for the massage was not what we have requested .Fifth, cancellation has to be done within 24hours of the appointment date or else charges implies and how could that be if it was requested a day before the said date. 2 hours travel from Manila and all you can hear is that your requested time is unavailable. Don't try talking to their front manager (Romi Roque) for considerations and you will hear 7107 reasons. Thanks for making me realize Manila is still better than province when it comes to service. It is a good choice we left rather stay and experience more dilemma.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank gas051014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    99
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
53
126
62
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Definitely a place to visit. Very serene, quiet and fantastic resorts for relaxations. I had a wonderful and satisfied week stay of the wellness and weight loss program. Do select the time of the year before you go. While there I had few days of rain and spoil my mood to a small extent. Overall a good place as I am very fond of spas this place worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is a great getaway. Its a but pricey for the Philippines but pretty much standard or less than 5 star accommodations elsewhere. Be sure to get the coconot oil tour. We got upgraded to a suite and the staff was super attentive and friendly. Both the medical and spa treatments were excellent. The food was one of the best things :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We took two palmera suites since my mom has trouble walking. I can say all as in ALL the people working there are highly trained, you can see it in how they communicate with guest, soft and gentle and always showing concern. The suites are cleaned everyday and although you know that there are many guest checked in, you can still feel the privacy and exclusivity.
Anyone who comes there must get SPA treatments, we took the colon cleansing treatments, mum had earth body wrap on first day, chlorophyl on the second, relaxation massage on the third.
Me, hubby and my sister had the thai massage, tibetan steam, and skin kayud. Then me and sister connived on booking hubby for ventosa just for the experience since he has been raving about it as one of the old therapeutic treatments in relieving pains.
The SPA staff are all experienced and highly trained and the techniques they applied are almost the same as those I have experienced in many 5-star hotels.
I am a self proclaimed spa treatment fanatic and have this itchiness of comparing services and The Farm is internationally comparable. I can personally say that the prices for the spa treatments are very reasonable, from the supplies they provide for you, the oils they used, the sarongs, the music, the scents, the soothing hands, you can actually feel how your breath slows down and that your heart is beating in slow mo.
Its very hard for me to fall asleep whenever I am massaged but to my surprise its like I have lost some time and just came back after I heard whisper that the massage is already finished!
Altho i have this concern about the food, I know its a holistic resort, and they encourage healthy lifestyle. I just wish that they have at least an option to have some fish or chicken, grilled or steamed and more variety for dressings/sauces and veggies. I believe some guest are just there for the SPA treatments and for some time alone and adding some pampering at least in food maybe appreciated.
Anyway, that's just thinking aloud, I don't want to defy the mission of The Farm.
Still I will recommend The Farm, its like experiencing Bali without leaving the country.

Room Tip: If you are coming with trouble walking or need assistance, inform them ahead, so they can arrange fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Recently spent a couple nights with my wife at the Farm and did it exceed our expectations! It was an experience that has left me relaxed and energized.

For those of you unfamiliar, the Farm at San Benito is a garden-type spa resort a couple hours from Manila which specializes in health treatments such as colonics, liver cleansing, and the like. All food is gluten-free, organic and vegetarian. They have yoga and meditation classes throughout the day. It also has numerous gardens, sitting areas, and three beautiful pools.

With only 24 rooms, the Farm was never packed despite it being fully booked during our stay. We spent a day roaming around the premises discovering secret gardens and swimming under hidden waterfalls. The spa treatments were one of the best I've ever experienced. Staff conduct and decorum was spot-on. Food was pretty good for vegetarian, but I did wish I had the option to order a steak to go with my beetroot ravioli.

We stayed in a Sulu terrace. Would not recommend this room to seniors or those with disablities since the stairs are a bit steep. Bathroom is also separate and downstairs from the bedroom. It has a cool sitting area though and is literally beside a tropical forest.

I highly recommend this resort to yogis, couples, the health-conscious, and even families with young children. Kids will enjoy the pools and roaming the expansive grounds while mom and pop get a massage. Nanny services are also available.

All in all it was a 5 star experience from a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LimaBean12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

There are few people and places has special impact on us. When we can find integration of place and staff who can make memorable impact on us, then definitely we will go their for several times. This is what the farm and the staff did on me!! And this why I been their for the next time as my annual health retreat plan, it was the same place and staff with totally better experience and amazing services.
This is what I call a holistic unforgettable health vacation....

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khalidme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I find myself sitting in one of the benches under the glorious mango tree, its branches widely outstretched, coiled with cascading tendrils of vine. I relish the cool breeze and the holy hush of verdant scenery and catch myself wondering why it took me this long to return. I lament my overindulgence during the holiday season and look forward to giving my system a reboot, here at what is considered to be one of the top wellness sanctuaries in Asia—The Farm at San Benito.

Appropriately, my schedule begins with colema. Out with the old, in with the new. I expect it to be a breeze; after all, I have done the five-day detox a couple of years ago, with alternate days of colema and colonics. Alas, my heavy meal the previous night takes its toll. I have gas pains all over. When the procedure is over, my knees feel like jelly. The therapist gives me four tablets of bioplasma (to be dissolved under the tongue for optimal absorption) to replenish the nutrients that were flushed out during the procedure. Slowly, I make my way back to the clinic. I take the warm ginger lemon tea given me and settle on a sofa with a hot compress on my belly. Cocooned in this warmth, I rest with the thought that I am being good to my body.

I want to allow my digestive tracts to rest some more (and prime my appetite for a good meal) so instead of having my lunch at the usual hour, I participate in a tai chi class. An elderly French couple is already at the amphitheater. I take my place in one of the mats and try to keep up. Alicia Keys’s New York is in the playlist. The instructor makes sure we keep up with the beat. After 45 minutes, I am sweating, not out of breath but definitely feeling my quads and hamstrings. I relish the final stretches.

I didn’t know exactly what to expect from food labeled as raw, except perhaps for the usual salads and fresh fruits. Unknown to me, I was going to have one of the best meals of my life, raw or otherwise. But after only a spoonful of corn, ginger and lemongrass soup, I know I am in for something special. The soup is richly flavored, not too thick but smooth and impeccably spiced.

The jicama slaw is garden fresh, punctured by the lovely texture and subtle sweet and heat of the spicy macadamia.

I order the entrée sampler. The use of fresh coconut meat instead of the usual heart of palm put the spring back in spring rolls—drizzled with sweet chilli sauce, it was a perky bundle. I unwrap the tamales to find the staple of almost every meal, rice, of the sticky variety, steam-softened and subtly seasoned, hitting all the buttons that define comfort food.

Then finally, dessert is served. I thought I could no longer manage but I underestimate this chocolate (sundae) on chocolate (chip ice cream) combination, lavishly strewn with candied nuts and mango bits. I take one spoonful after another, until I realize that I have nothing left to take a photo of but a chocolate-streaked dessert glass.

The next day, I make plans to use the rebounder at the Jungle Gym but opt to relish the little time I have left in my lovely Garden Villa. In bed, I disappear completely under the sheets, hearing only a hush of the fountain from my very own garden as I drift back to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank siwanderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa City
39.5 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Lian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
26.4 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Corona de Lipa
Hotel La Corona de Lipa
#4 of 7 in Lipa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Suites at Mount Malarayat
21.4 mi away
Acuatico Beach Resort & Hotel
17.6 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farm at San Benito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm at San Benito

Property: The Farm at San Benito
Address: 119 Barangay Tipakan, Lipa City, Luzon 4217, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Lipa City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lipa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Farm at San Benito 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the Philippines’ Batangas hinterland, The Farm is likened to health nirvana. Choose between pool, garden or jungle-style accommodation before sampling our fresh, award-winning gourmet menu.Practice sunrise/sunset salutations at our lakeside amphitheatre or hit our well-equipped ‘jungle gym’. Our specialists administer complementary and integrative medical therapy within a serene environment and first-class facilities.We don’t do boot camps or subscribe to deprivation. Retreat to The Farm for nourishment and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Farm at San Benito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farm At San Benito Hotel Lipa City
Farm At San Benito Batangas
The Farm At San Benito Lipa City, Philippines - Batangas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing