We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks for a spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Farm at San Benito
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lipa City
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Top marks for a spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

Visited the Farm when it was first opening. It was a fabulous time. They have built an experience that is unique and memorable.

The Farm is a German / Philippine managed company. And the owners have taken the approach that if you spend the time and money to acheive the best, then in the long run the business will stand out from all others. I can say they were correct.

This is a health centered spa - they serve 85% raw foods, no-smoking allowed, and have other detoxification programs.

The accomodations and landscape are desgined to enhance your journey into relaxation and rejuvanation.

It isn't cheap , but it is a unique and worthwhile experience. I cannot give it a better review.

Helpful?
2 Thank firstclasstaste_economybudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    101
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
56
131
62
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

Upon arrival, you will immediately feel relaxed at the site of coconut trees and manicured gardens. The landscape is beautiful, incorporating the coconut trees with hundreds of plants.

Choosing a place like The Farm has got to be an informed decision. Visitors should know that this establishment prides itself on its wellness activities -- which I may say are quite good, but very very pricey -- and NOT on cuisine. Their resto serves partially cooked food, following the principle of 85/15 - 85% raw, 15% cooked in order to retain food's nutrients.

I thought the beautiful rooms, bathrooms to die for (my room had an outdoor shower!) will keep my mind off my grumbling tummy. The novelty lasted for only about 6 hours. Did I say that all beverages use coconut water as the base? So think fruit shakes with coconut water. Oh, and the chips are also made of dehydrated coconut. So after 6 hours, endless glasses of coconut water spiked drinks, I was about to feel detoxed! :)

Saving grace would be their noodles and pesto. Really yummy.

This place is very strict about smoking too. While sneaking a stick or so may not be hard since the villas are quite spread out, try kicking it while at the spa to maximize the detox experience.

The gift shop also carries nice masaage oils and scents. Perfect items to bring home.

  • Liked — The luxurious rooms
  • Disliked — Quite hard to get to the hotel
  • Stayed July 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank shelley_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

Beware, don't go alone or else you might just end up getting bored like me.

Date of Stay: May 2 to 4,2008
Room Type: Palmera Suite
Upgrade: Paid 11,000 pesos for an upgrade from the Sulu Terrace Suite because I read here that the bathroom is actually outside...so I don't want to have to go out in the middle of the night just to pee.
Amount Paid Per Night: FREE Voucher for 3D/2N
Reservation Method: Contacted the property directly (email)
Loyalty Card: none

Airport/Hotel Transfer: For tourists they offer transfers from the airport. But in my case I drove all the way to The Farm, it was about a 3 hour drive.

Location: Lipa, Batangas, don't get fooled by the map, its far from the city, really far...about 30 minutes on small roads that lead up to the farm.

Check-in: Arrived at 3pm, the room was ready of course. Check in was quick and they did a quick orientation about the Spa and facilities.

Room: Palmera Suite - Its a very private villa, although its a bigger villa divided into two you won't actually feel that way except when you hear your "neighbors" showering.

Has a nice garden where you can go sunbathing and a veranda where you can have a nice outdoor chat with your companion.

Bathroom is nice and spacious, has an outdoor rain shower, but you have to get under it to open the water, so you might get a cold "surprise" every time you take a shower.

Bed: The bed is okay, it's not really soft, quite firm actually, it's two single beds put together, they didn't have sheets to make it look like one bed.

Breakfast: Buffet, if i were you stick with the fruits and juices...hopefully that would be enough to last you until lunch. (as if it's any better)

Meals: Meals were part of the package, strictly vegetarian but don't expect clean simple flavors, they put so much spice into the food that sometimes its nauseating.

Check-out: Check out was fast, had to leave about 7am, actually I saw that the breakfast would be useless, so I ditched the place and drove to Tagaytay early because I'm meeting my family there for lunch anyway. So I had breakfast at Breakfast at Antonio's instead.

Overall Evaluation: Its a nice experience, don't go alone because you will be bored to your wits by the end of your stay. Lots of insect, I couldn't even sunbath without being distrurbed by ants, bees and bugs.

  • Liked — The whole spa is nice...
  • Disliked — Food...could have been better
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keslergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2008

I have stayed at the Farm several times. It is one of the most beautiful places in the world. It is billed as a Health Resort, so everything is geared towards making you healthy.

The spa services are wonderful and the food is pretty tasty. You sometimes wouldn't even know that it is all vegetarian. They grow their own food in gardens around the property.

I could sit there all day and meditate. They have three pools.

If you stay in the Northern section, it is very quiet. There are no TVs or radios. There are also no children allowed in the Northern section.

The room was very nice. The bathroom was connected to the room and the shower was outside. It was connected to the bathroom via the sliding glass door, so it really was just part of the room. But it was nice the walls are tall enough so no one can see into the shower.

During my first stay, I found a gecko on the ceiling above my bed. It really creeped my out, so I went to reception and asked someone to remove it. It was gone in a few minutes. I can't fault the hotel though. It is in the middle of nature, so sometimes animals get in.

It is one of the best places to get away from it all. I wish I could live there.

  • Liked — Pretty much everything
  • Disliked — When I had to leave
  • Stayed November 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omahanetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2006

Originally intended to stay for 11 days/9 nights, I cut it down to 5 days/ 4 nights because I could no longer stand the food and accommodation. I was booked at the worst possible room they had, Sulu Terrace No 9 which is an airconditioned nipa hut with toilet facilities outside the hut. It was dreadful. The rectangular-shaped hut, due to poor verntilation smelled of mold and the the two twin beds were so cramped up, one could hardly pass through. The pillow cases were so torn and worn out, I asked housekeeping to replace them.

Toilet and shower was outside the nipa hut and it was so small and narrow, a large person would not be able to pass through it. Toilet could only be locked by a padlock outside, so if you are in a hurry to use it, it's best to leave it open. Again the ventilation was a problem and there were large ants going on the shower mat.

The gardens are beautiful but at night, the entire property including the dining room is so poorly lit that one had difficulty walking around even with a flashlight. They were economizing so much with the electricity one thought there was always a power failure because I could barely even see the food I was eating during dinner time.

Food is tolerable for one meal but not for 3 meals a day for 4 days. It made me positively sick to have everything in my mouth tasting of coconut oil which was a main preservative ingredient.

Chef imported from Germany prepared predominantly raw foods and sometimes the combination was diabolical. Like this squash barbecue on skewer and chili tomato soup that I had for dinner that caused me indigestion, I hardly slept that night and the next day I kept burping because I could still feel the chilis and tomatoes on my throat. Because the food is vegetarian and mostly raw, he tried to embellish the food with spices like curry, chili and barbecue that was difficult to digest since food wasn't properly cooked. The desert that he prepared ie mangoes with lime sorbet was laughable. I tried to look for my sorbet and held my torch up to see that the sorbet portion was the size of thymbnail!

Medical Clinic - had a live blood cell analysis done and the MD convinced me that pure virgin coconut oil (which they manufacture and sell within the property) was actually good for me. The only visible effects I could see was I got diarhrea the following day and the taste of coconut oil permeating on my mouth for the rest of my stay.

  • Liked — beautiful landscaped gardens and view of Mt Makiling
  • Disliked — Sulu Terrace Nipa Hut No 9
  • Tips/Secrets — one day trip should be sufficient
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
27 Thank Maria888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2005

Probably the best looking facility/hotel ive been to in the country. Great place for couples, and people who enjoys a highend spa and a beautiful bali-inspired garden. Also great for those health conscious and those who want to detox and eat healthy. The price is pretty reasonable if you earn dollars.
I spent a night in the Palmera suite with a friend... very nicely done, no bathtub but had a nice rainfall shower stall in semi-open air. BTW...there is NO TV in the rooms, i dont remember a radio/stereo either. So, if you have kids...they better like nature coz' nintendo wont be around to entertain them.
The sulu terrace huts looks interesting but i didnt like the idea of sleeping in the 2nd floor, and going down (outside the hut) to the 1st floor to use the bathroom.
The restaurant (the only one) serves only vegetarian meals...dont know if its vegan too.. ( i think) and it is semi raw or not cooked all the way. (like soup will be luke warm).. im sure this is healthy and all, but im not exactly a health buff..and felt they should at least have some variety.....so, i had a driver fetch me some fried chicken in a nearby town. So, again..if you have kids, no McDonalds for them! plus, the meal cost about $20...and i didnt get full.
Aside from this, there were 2 pools..an infinity pool and a waterfall by the cliffrocks pool.....both awesome. The spa and service is top notch...i had the java package and was amazed at how good it was.
The garden and ponds are well kept...a great place to meditate, and relax and take a good stroll. yoga is also offered and the spa service is complete with different kinds of massages and treatments.
the location of this place is in the middle of nowhere.. so, dont expect any nightlife or a near by town you can visit... if you go here...you will be staying inside the compound...and that's pretty much it. You better have a lot to meditate about and pack the mosquito repellant too.
Overall, if you come to the farm knowing all that i have mentioned... then this is heaven on earth. I enjoyed my stay despite the above...and would love to return.

check out the site here...

------

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank neversummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2005

This alternative health resort and spa is a place that everyone must go and see! It is not just the optimal place to go to for some serious rest and relaxation, but it's the best place to learn about the functions of your body and what you can do to take complete charge of your own health. Their detoxification program is one of the best, and i will recommed it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa City
39.5 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Lian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
26.4 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Corona de Lipa
Hotel La Corona de Lipa
#4 of 7 in Lipa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Suites at Mount Malarayat
17.0 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
44.5 mi away
Pico Sands Hotel
Pico Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Nasugbu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farm at San Benito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm at San Benito

Property: The Farm at San Benito
Address: 119 Barangay Tipakan, Lipa City, Luzon 4217, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Lipa City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lipa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Farm at San Benito 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the Philippines’ Batangas hinterland, The Farm is likened to health nirvana. Choose between pool, garden or jungle-style accommodation before sampling our fresh, award-winning gourmet menu.Practice sunrise/sunset salutations at our lakeside amphitheatre or hit our well-equipped ‘jungle gym’. Our specialists administer complementary and integrative medical therapy within a serene environment and first-class facilities.We don’t do boot camps or subscribe to deprivation. Retreat to The Farm for nourishment and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Farm at San Benito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farm At San Benito Hotel Lipa City
Farm At San Benito Batangas
The Farm At San Benito Lipa City, Philippines - Batangas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing