We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous chill out Guest House near to cultural hotspots and Angouleme”
Review of Janie's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villegats
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Janie's Place
Ranked #1 of 1 Villegats B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Our three weeks at Janie's Place was fabulous ! It's close to Ruffec, a super little market town. Janie has created the a beautiful large garden, heavenly in summer with it's fruit trees and beds of wild flowers and lavender.This 18th century, former Merchants House was a magical place to chill out and enjoy the many regional attractions such as Angouleme where we loved the ancient cathedral, and the medieval architecture and also did some serious shopping.



We also fell in love with the picturesque town of Confolens with its13th century bridge over the wide sweep of the Goire river. Our hosts, Angus and Janie were warm and friendly and conjure up delicious chutneys and conserves. Favourite dishes of ours ranged from a Thai curry, to French fish dishes served in buttery sauces, a traditional French onion soup - to orange and Calvados crepes. The vegetarian dishes were yummy. No surprise then that we found ourselves eating our meals 'in situ' for most of the time. Janie's Place has lovely old furniture and paintings with super comfy bedrooms We certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2010

The best travelling experiences come from the unexpected. Heading off the beaten path south from Poitiers near Ruffec I came upon an old farmhouse tucked in an enchanted garden where I happily lazed sipping a cup of tea while lavender brushed against my legs and I inhaled the perfume. Nearby were tomatoes and basil that would appear as my dinner salad beside the evening’s specialty, Coq Au Vin. Janie Is American but has mastered the French language and can act as translator and tour guide – ask her about visiting the Chateau de Verteuil or kayaking down the Charente River. This B & B can be a wonderful relaxed retreat from the pressures of city life or as a base to set out on walks or house hunting forays. For me a week at Janie’s Place sitting in the garden with a few good books comprised the perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoopyWhoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dajee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Janie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janie's Place

Address: Rue de la Croix, 16700 Villegats, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Villegats
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Villegats
Price Range: £33 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Janie's Place/ chez Janie is sublime with roses and honeysuckle cascading down the 200-year-old stone merchant's house.Our Chambre d'Hotes/Bed & Breakfast - has walled orchard garden, attractive orchard garden, covered parking and sleeps eight. Top choice for holidays and househunting.Serving a wide range of food we were featured by the Guardian national. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing